We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Accomodation”
Glenboy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glenboy
Glenboy Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Glenboy
Glenboy
Sitting room
Sun room
bedroom
bedroom 3
bedroom
Kitchen
bedroom
external
Interior
bedroom
Stairs
Glenboy hallway
Glenboy entrance
Before Restoration 2005
Glenboy view
Glenboy view
Glenboy view
Glenboy Winter scene
Glenboy in winter
dawn at Glenboy
Sunset at Glenboy
Glenboy entrance
Mullaghmeen forest (5 minutes from Glenboy)
View from loughcrew hills, Meath (5 minutes from Glenboy)
Fore Abbey (10 minutes from Glenboy)
Lough Bann (Photo Steve Neale) (5 minutes from Glenboy)
Lough Sheelin (5 minutes from Glenboy)
Loughcrew Megalithic cairns - inside Cairn 'T' (5 minutes from Glenboy)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Oldcastle, County Meath

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
usdietric...
Rostock, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accomodation”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you, Patrick, for a very relaxing holiday week in your house.
With two families we have enjoyed the generous hospitality in this guesthouse. With a lot of taste and skill, this old stable became a cozy retreat redesigned.
There was nothing missing - it was much more.
Ein sehr großzügiges, gemütliches Haus mit einem angenehm bemühten Gastgeber in der Nachbarschaft.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigid R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Glenboy for 10 days while in the area visiting our son and family. We couldn't have asked for more comfortable accommodation, it truly felt like a home not a holiday rental. The owner Patrick was warm and welcoming and on hand when we needed him but otherwise unobtrusive. The house is clean and beautifully furnished with very large comfortable beds and modern ensuite bathrooms. The kitchen and adjoining sunroom is spacious and the perfect place to relax after a long day. The wide selection of books, music, games and movies was a lovely addition. The rural setting is peaceful yet you are only a few minutes drive from the town of Oldcastle, where we found all the necessities, supermarkets, pubs, restaurants etc. For anyone not familiar with the area, the ancient megalithic tomb of Loughcrew is not to be missed- it is truly awe inspiring and the panoramic views are worth the climb to the top. We would definitely recommend Glenboy to anyone looking for a country break in a beautiful part of Ireland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_janette...
New Forest, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family wedding”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Glenboy became the groom's house for our sons wedding and it was perfect.
We had family and friends stay with us over a week and the accommodation could not be faulted. All rooms ensuite and plenty of bedding and towels.
Kitchen well equipped. We even had a barbeque for about 20 people.
Owner Patrick very helpful and warm homemade bread on table when we arrived was a nice touch.
Oldcastle has everything you need in terms of provisioning and interesting pubs. Don't miss Owen Tranors behind the shop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieCla...
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful spacious country house.”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The barn conversion is beautiful. The sun room was just so relaxing to sit in, even when it was pouring with rain. Patrick, the host was very friendly and helpful and we all appreciated the homemade apple tart left in the fridge for us alongside a carton of milk. All the basics like tea, coffee, sugar were provided as well as cooking oil, gravy powder and lots of other items.
It was warm while we were there, so we didn't need heating, but plenty of heating options including underfloor, so it would also be a lovely cosy place to stay in the winter too. The house was very clean. There were lots of books, games and toys to keep everyone amused. Loved this place and hope to return one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A great country home in Ireland's Ancient East. We had 8 adults in our group and the 4 bedroom home never felt crowded. The place has lots of extras that you dont expect like extra equipment. We enjoyed hiking and fishing in the area. In addition to comfortable and spacious bedrooms, they have a convienient kitchen and a great lounge area.

We used the place as a hopping-off point for sightseeing in the area as well as day trips to Wicklow and Dublin I thought the location was great.

Can't forget to mention that our host Patrick was nearby and helped answer all our questions.

Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing