We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Hotel was built in the 1960's and I don't think anything had been updated since, turquoise bathroom suite and some very retro lighting.
Having said this the rooms were spotlessly clean when we arrived but were not cleaned during our stay.
The reception desk was not manned and had to be contacted via a telephone, staff were in very short supply.
The complementary breakfast was in a very dark room and appeared to consist of toast, so we ate out each day.
We did however use the on site BBQ which was great

Room Tip: If you just want somewhere to sleep this hotel would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celesius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Lots of fun in this really old place that needs updating throughout. Beach access means you will not pay for private beach 3 blocks away. Cleaning crew works hard to keep up but they got mission impossible going on here. No exhaust fan in bathroom gets it stinky and damp real fast, causing moldy spots, smells and peeling shower ceilings. No A/C in unit, makes you keep windows open. One big window screen threatens to fall out, second small bathroom screen almost blocked with dust. TV, lighting and appliances take you back to sweet 70s and 80s. Could not sleep much because of few drunk people talking, walking, groaning at and near property. Had to keep my kids in until some dude came out of nowhere and bathed naked in the pool in the morning. Can't say nothing about free breakfast as I was in a hurry to get out and didn't want to stay there a minute longer that I had to. Sweet weather though, great Lake Tahoe out there!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank olegreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Room was clean, the property was quiet and our mattress was very comfortable......And walking location to the casinos and restaurants was a plus.....On the down side: 1) No AC and it was a hot afternoon with the sun directly hitting our room. 2) We had only hand towels in our room. When we checked in, the hostess said they were still doing laundry from the day before and would bring towels around later to the rooms that didn't have them yet.. They didn't. Good thing we noticed the lack of towels in time! The office closes at 7 PM and I think we would have just been out of luck. 3) They advertise free WIFI. It was a joke. Only one person per room could use it at a time and even then, it was so slow as to be pretty much useless. 4) TV had a pitiful picture. 5) Finally, it appeared that there were people in permanent residence. They were hanging out in chairs in front of their rooms. Very uncomfortable......

Room Tip: I said no on the WIFI because it was so slow that we finally gave u p and didn't use it. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbtravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

I smell a lawsuit coming from a mile away. The biggest concern at this hotel is people's safety. Doors and windows must be left open (due to warm weather as there is absolutely NO a/c in ANY of the units here) which not only invites crime and unwelcome visitors into your room, but if you have health issues, the heat inside the rooms will worsen it. The problem that I had, is that my non-verbal Special needs son was literally trying to climb out the window. If he had gotten hurt or had gone missing due to the window needing to be left open, u can bet ur sweet *bleep* I would have sued this hotel. They have NOT bothered to disclose any of this important information on any website they are advertising on, and God forbid something happen to someone due to their negligence. I have thought about filing further complaints and should this hotel ever be sued, they would deserve every bit of it. There WAS a ceiling fan in the room but ours did not even work, so we didnt even have that to rely on. This hotel cares less about your safety and health and more about your money. Proceed with caution.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank sroberts75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Room not ready, 2 hours after check in time. Other people standing around with the same issue. Woman at the front desk got an attitude and told me "that means 2:00 or after at some time "
Booked another room down the street because we got tired of waiting. The woman told me she couldn't refund because we booked through hotels.com and that was in their hands. She was just passing the buck, as I called hotels.com, and they gave me a voucher because the woman at Ambassador was refusing to release the cancellation fee. Absolute nightmare after a long drive, we just wanted to check in and enjoy the day, instead spent ages trying to find a room and deal with this horrid woman.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank KiKi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
274 reviews
0.9 km away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#43 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
48 reviews
1.1 km away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#50 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
238 reviews
0 km away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#32 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
144 reviews
0.1 km away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#47 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge

Address: 4130 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6921 (Formerly Ambassador Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: ₹ 3,021 - ₹ 8,805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Motor Lodge, nestled between large pine and poplar trees, steps away from the pristine shores of Tahoe's Lake, one of the largest lakes in America. If golfing is your passion we are a breath away from the "celebrity noted" golf courses in California. "When you can stay here, why stay anywhere else" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Motor Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Hotel Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing