We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect no frills place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matterhorn Motel

Matterhorn Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matterhorn Motel
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect no frills place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Although low on the frills, this is a lovely little motel in South Lake Tahoe. Exceptionally clean, and extraordinary service (friendly and helpful!) from the mother and son who run it. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean, etc. Everything is definitely a bit dated, but it doesn't smell, everything works (tv, lights, hot tub, etc.), and you can't beat the price. Perfect for those looking for a very basic bed to crash in at night after a long day hiking/skiing etc. Not recommended for those looking anything fancy or new - this is sort of like staying at your grandmother's house (in a good way, if you don't mind old but clean things). Again, definitely recommended for those just looking for a clean bed to crash in.

Room Tip: Some of the bottom floor rooms have jacuzzis, which are like the oldest hot tubs I have ever seen bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orange_Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    18
    5
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

When we entered the room my boyfriend thought it smelled like cigarettes even though we requested a non smoking room. They sheets were not clean, we weren't sure that they changed before we got there. The carpet was very dirty and stained and I did not want to walk around without my socks. The shower was very small and the temperature was uneven it switched from cold to scaling without warning. There were cobwebs behind the curtains, they fixtures were very old and there was a LOT of road noise. Not to mention that nothing in the rooms has been updated since the 80's.

Room Tip: Use this motel as a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Super-clean and comfortable room, especially for the price. Jacuzzi(!) in the room, along with a microwave and fridge. The clerk welcomed us cheerfully, even though we arrived very late (we'd called to let him know). Gave us coupons for a local breakfast spot. I'd return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stayed with my wife. The room was clean and comfortable. It had WiFi and a decent TV. The room was well worth it for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for a couple nights at the Matterhorn, and we decided to extend our stay another night. Unfortunately they had already booked every room before we could reserve it a 3rd night. So we were forced to look for another location. The mother and son felt really bad that my family and I had to pack up and find another motel for the night, so they went out of there way to help me find another room in town, which was a very nice gesture.
I'd give the facility a 3* just because it's a little dated on the inside, however, the family who runs the establishment are extremely friendly and the hospitality alone is worth a star in of itself. I would definitely consider staying at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calntheplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
6.5 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 km away
Tahoe Valley Lodge
Tahoe Valley Lodge
#38 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.6 km away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#40 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#48 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
6.2 km away
Paradice Motel
Paradice Motel
#27 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
6.5 km away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#25 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Motel

Property: Matterhorn Motel
Address: 2187 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6400
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,364 - ₹ 24,683
Hotel Class:2 star — Matterhorn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Matterhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing