We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017

When arrived yesterday, asked for room to be moved, place is remodeled and sawed bricks to past 6 p.m. last night, the room assigned right above the noise and dust
RIGHT NOW A MOTORCYCLE CLUB STAYING HERE! So very noisy and they rev their cycles right outside our door, we went to office and basically, not doing anything!
We too, need to chase down supplies, No coffee in this room, shortly will run out of toilet paper.
WiFi very slow
The free breakfast great and beer garden nice
But until tne motircycles clear out, lots of other places in town

Room Tip: Ask if Motorcycle Group staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beachglass1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Basecamp. We always value feedback that can help us improve our operations. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is always our goal to create raving fans of Basecamp by providing amazing guest service in a great location, we missed the mark with your stay.

We appreciate your feedback and have shared the comments with our staff. This past weekend there was a large motorcycle event in South Lake and that is why there was a small group of them staying at the hotel. As mentioned to all of our guest when they check in we do offer complimentary coffee in the lobby as well as the Beer Garden throughout the day for our guest.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Quick anniversary trip. Very clean room. Enjoyed the Beer Garden, hot tub and am coffee. So close to everything we needed for our night away. Great staff. Assisted with pre arrival surprise. Bed was so comfortable!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z887FLannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

This was the place we hoped it would be. Easy to find, convenient to all of our plans, and beautiful. Rooms were clean and simple, but exactly what we needed. We loved the rooftop hot tub and overlooking the gorgeous mountains. Having a Beer Garden was great and super fun. Everyone was nice and pleasant. We enjoyed the hotel just as much as our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allysha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the simple aspect of our property. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the beer garden as well during your stay. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

- “so glad you our staff made your stay at Basecamp pleasant”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The general idea is cute but it is not very well executed. Booked a deluxe room but that is NOT what we got. No handsoap when we arrived had to go chase down housekeeping to get some. No cups for water to take vitamins or pills so had to go get those from the front desk when we had to have our key cards reactivated. Photo I saw appeared to have a small fridge but this room did not. Also no microwave to heat popcorn or anything. No shampoo in the dispenser and conditioner was almost out and spitting, as was the body wash. The bed was AMAZING though, very comfortable!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I9919IZrebeccam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I have shared this information with our team and we are looking at ways to alleviate these problem areas. We always appreciate feedback from guests, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This is a hip place - the beer garden, airstream, hot tub, and common rooms are great for socializing with friends. I wouldn't recommend it as a solo/business traveler, however. The wifi is very poor (they warn you when you check in and blame it on "mountain weather" but it was clear skies and I had great wifi in other hotels in the area, so I think this is a lousy excuse). I'd love to come back with my boyfriend or as a girls' weekend, but as a solo traveler it felt awkward to be alone in the social spaces as people were in groups (this isn't a shortcoming of the hotel). The room was nice and warm on a chilly evening. The free coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby was a nice touch. Overall, I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brittq23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our hip property in the center of South Lake. The guest really do enjoy the hot tubs and beer garden so we are grateful that this added to your stay. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

- “so glad you chose Basecamp as a getaway during your stay in Tahoe”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
224 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
2.4 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,102 reviews
1.5 km away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
516 reviews
2.2 km away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: ₹ 6,520 - ₹ 27,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing