We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Concord, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Let me start off by saying that I work for a 4 star hotel and major branded hotel. So I know the ins and outs of hotels.
When I waited until the last minute to make my travel plans for NYE I was looking at paying $400-600 at the "casino/strip" hotels. I work for a hotel -I'm not paying those prices. So after looking and searching I came across the Motel 6. First Reaction? All the bad reviews below were going to ruin my trip, but for $100 and a place to shower and get ready I wasn't going to be too picky. After all it's only 4 miles from the "main event"
Pros:
-Great Rate (it's motel 6 after all)
-Hotel front desk was kind, courteous and welcoming
-Hotel room was clean and smelt clean
-Hotel is 4 miles from casinos
-Bathroom clean
-Microwave and Fridge clean
-Carpet clean
-Bed clean (and even newish, again I work in a hotel, I can tell a newer bed from a older used bed)
-They kept the light on :) (haha)

Cons:
-few little dust bunnies here and there however nothing horrible AT ALL probably what you have at your own home
-towels are stiff not fluffy (again it's a motel not a 4 star hotel)
-Exterior Corridors (I'm a woman, it's just not as safe but it's a motel and you can't change the building)

That's it! It was totally worth the money for a night that could have ended up costing me a LOT more!

I received a survey from Motel6 and after I filled it out I actually received a personalized "Thank you" from the General Manager - I was in shock but it made it that much more caring, friendly and customer service oriented than I EVER thought a motel6 would be.

This location changed my opinion of Motel6, however, the General Manager regained my trust of true customer service.
Thank you for a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HiltonConcordCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    60
    46
    9
    11
See reviews for
23
46
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, Montana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Oh, good lord what a dump!!! Not only is it as far away from the middle of town as you can get, but it is in need of some serious upkeep. When we walked into the lobby, it stank of stale humid urine, so bad that I had to leave and go outside and let my husband sign in, then to the room. The people next to us must have been staying long tern, they had weird books and stuff in their window and literally smoked non-stop day and night outside the room, which of course was our room also, smoke billowing out at all hours. The property looks like a crack house, very run down, pop machine and ice machine both OUT OF ORDER. I literally could not wait to check out of this dump, thank goodness we went to dinner and spent the evening out with friends, I would have had to check out if we would have spent any more time there. Stay Away!!! Oh, and we had to pay for Wifi, which did not work after we paid for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I realized the day of our weekend trip to tahoe that i had forgotten to book a room! so i jumped on motel 6 website knowing they'd most likely have a room last minute. Now, i'm nobodys fool, i know not to have high expectations but, wow. the people in the room next to us were smoking weed the whole time and the front desk said they couln't move us but "had some orange spray"..... so don't forget to book a room anywhere but motel 6 in advance before you take off the weekend to south lake.

*also the pool was closed cause they were painting the fence*

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

this happens to be one of the worst hotels that i have ever stayed at.
the MOMENT i walked into the hotel room, i could see countless things
wrong with this room and hotel. The bed comforters are ugly as hell,
they look like they would be for a little child's bed. The room smelled
like nasty old people. We stayed in a room with 2 beds and they're
were only 2 towels in the bathroom. They should have more than that.
There were countless bugs in the room and when we looked under the
bed, it looked like they haven't cleaned it in many, many months. And ontop
of all of this, you have to pay for wifi. $2.99 for a ONE day pass for wifi is absolutely
ridiclous, most hotels have it for free which is what i would usually expect and prefer.
The front desk lady was rude. When we called her from the room to ask her a simple
question, she replied with attitude and an 'annoyed' tone. They made us walk to the front desk to get our extra pillows when we asked them if we could have some, they could've easily gotten off they're lazy butts and brought them to us, but no. They didn't even put the pillow cases on them, they made us do it. The rooms are small as hell, if you have more than 3 people with you on your visit, get a suite cause you definately sure won't be able to fit them all in here. OH & they're showers have rust in them and it doesn't look like they clean it very well. Well your welcome for letting you know how TERRIBLE this hotel is and how TERRIBLE our stay was. (:

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yubacitygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Neat place, usually you get a good deal; very close to the moutains and ski resorts; Denny's is close by and we got a discount coupon.
Stayed with friends - a nice/comfy stay for the price!
High speed internet available - though you need to pay a minimal amount

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makarand_malu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
5.0 km away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.9 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.6 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#54 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.7 km away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 km away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#29 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe

Property: Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Address: 2375 Lake Tahoe Blvd, US 50/Lake Tahoe Boulevard at SR 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7101
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,999 - ₹ 8,409
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 Lake Tahoe
Motel Six Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Motel Six
Lake Tahoe Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing