We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to Forget”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

My hubby and I in an effort to escape the stretch of 100 degree days at home decided at the last minute to head to the cooler climes of South Lake Tahoe. The casinos and Everything in close proximity was booked so we fimally found the Travel Inn. Three nights were over $700, so we surmised it should be somewhat adequate.....were we ever wrong! Ot showed a pool, but when we arrived the pool was covered over with tarps. We got to our room which was an adequate size only to be met with two electric fans blowing inside the room. While it was hot for Tahoe, it must have been over 90 degrees inside the room. We literally had to drop off our suitcases and leave. We returned close to midnight as the outside temperature had dropped
When we got to the hotel room, it was sweltering. We opened the front door and window and inserted the two fans to push in cooler air and push the hot air out the bathroom window so we could sleep there. About 45 minutes later it had cooled down enough to sleep. We repeated this same exercise over the other days/nights of our stay!
We determined this place had a flat roof with no attic plus no insulation at all and obviously no air conditioning. This place is probably about 70 years old. We could never stay there again. It is probably freezing in the winter, but at least there is a room heater!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 323maureens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

We booked Travel Inn for 5 nights from July 28 through August 2nd 2017. Today is our last day Even though we paid $599.00 for five nights (almost $100 a night) it was very reasonable in comparison to other motels/hotels in the area for this time of year.

Since I strongly depend on other people's reviews to help me choose a hotel, I will be very fair in this review toward this motel.

Pros: Great area. About 1 1/2 miles from Heavenly Village, lots of restaurants and close to the beach. Front desk staff is friendly. Free WiFi which works well. There is a microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot and fan. Towels are soft.

Cons: No air condition, no safe deposit box, no swimming pool or hot tub (they have them but are empty and an eye sore). No tub. There is only a small shower and the hot/cold water is unpredictable. One minute it gets too hot and the next it goes cold. Cleaning person forgot to leave complimentary toiletries and coffee cups two days out of the 5 days we stayed. The floor creaks as you walk so I feel sorry for the people staying below us. The bed is lumpy so for my husband who has a bad back, it has been a really hard experience which has kept him awake at night.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank npm728512015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The room was simple, bare-bones, but did the job for one night stay. The room was a really good deal, but was NOT clean enough (bugs and hair in shower, dirty table). ALSO, the sink in the room 15 did not work at all. Poor water pressure. Overall, decent place to stay if you are arriving late to S. Lake Tahoe and just need a place to crash for a night.

Room Tip: Cheap deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nathalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel I, Front Office Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to hear about your experience while staying with us. We would love for you to stay with again and give us another chance. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

The motel itself deserves a higher rating. The room was very clean and reasonably large. But the location is completely unacceptable for anyone who needs a quiet night's sleep. We were there on a Friday night, and the cars/trucks going past on Lake Tahoe Blvd never seemed to stop. Usually in these situations I just turn the heat/ac to "fan only" and get enough white noise to drown out the traffic. Unfortunately, this room only had a heater with no fan option. I tried a white noise app on my phone at the loudest setting, but that still didn't do the trick.

So if you are like my husband and can sleep through anything, this is a GREAT VALUE; but if you're like me and need a quiet environment to sleep, try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MLW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel I, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are very sorry for noise but we can't do anything because our hotel is located to Lake Tahoe Blvd. We would love for you to stay with again and give us another chance. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This was one of the cheapest places we could find for our last minute booking (1 day before) and I was pleasantly surprised considering some of the other reviews. It was much better than other places we have stayed in Tahoe for similar prices.

We checked in late (11pm) and the service was great, quick and very welcoming. The room was very clean, spacious and had everything that we needed. The wifi was great as well, and parking was convenient.

If you're looking for a good, quiet, clean motel to sleep while exploring Tahoe, this is a great place!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1--Shawna--1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel I, General Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I'm glad you found our staff friendly and we do our very best to provide a clean and comfortable stay to all of our guests. Hope to see you near future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.2 km away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#49 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
220 reviews
1.4 km away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#40 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
2.1 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#32 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
237 reviews
5.4 km away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#42 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
68 reviews
2 km away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#22 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 3536 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: ₹ 2,345 - ₹ 35,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Travel Hotel Lake Tahoe
Hotel Inn Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing