We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace & tranquility in the stunning French...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage in France - 17th century farmhouse, lovingly restored to a luxurious standard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage in France - 17th century farmhouse, lovingly restored to a luxurious standard
Beautiful terrace for eating, sunbathing and drinks in the sun The terrace leads to a round lawn and eventually the deck in the trees
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
The Cottage in France - 17th century farmhouse, lovingly restored to a luxurious standard
Beautiful terrace for eating, sunbathing and drinks in the sun
The terrace leads to a round lawn and eventually the deck in the trees
Light, bright sitting-room.  Cosy in winter and cool in summer.  Open fire with wood provided
British TV; DVDs; Wifi; up to date bestsellers; lots of games for all ages
Underfloor heating throughout the ground floor.  Lights on dimmer switches
Original beams and stonework
Fully equipped kitchen.  Perfect for any serious chef.
A lovely place to cook and make the most of the fresh local produce.  Lights on dimmers
Dining with a view
Dining table at the end of the kitchen
Beautiful bedroom with windows on three sides.
Very comfortable kingsize bed.  Egyptian cotton sheets.
Allergy sensitive bedding with feather pillows as optional. Lovely indian quilts for cooler nights
An autumn view of the hamlet from afar.
The deck.  Stunning views and beautiful furniture for dining and reading in the shade
A room with a view.  Lovely for dining at night - fitted with lighting
The deck as seen from the upstairs of the house
View of the garden from the upstairs of the house.  Plunge pool to the left of the lawn
View from the lawn
View from the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Correze, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Studd2710
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Peace & tranquility in the stunning French countryside. Home from home!”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in this amazing cottage in a tiny hamlet in France and were superbly looked after by the owners who live a stones throw away but leave you alone unless you need help.
Venetia is a superb cook and in the absence of local (walk to) restaurant will produce amazing food for you in the cottage, husband Johan will assist with production of good wine to accompany the meal.
The cottage has a new pool fitted this year which perches on the edge of the valley under a shaded sitting area so easy to keep an eye on any children swimming.
Uniquely this cottage has a very fully equipped kitchen and unlike many holiday rentals the last bit of oil, salt, coffee etc are not removed after each tenant but added to so that I think there were 10 different teas available and dozens of different oils, vinegars etc. Johan leaves wine available for guests that can be purchased from him at cost price - verified from the wine shop.
In the bathroom there was fresh soap and a array of shampoo etc in case anyone in the party had forgotten theirs.
It really is "home form home" without the responsibility.
Thoroughly recommend it...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but sitting in the pool looking over the fields listening to the cows.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you so so much. We loved having you and hope you will come back very soon. xxxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendybsl7
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hospitality”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic holiday at Venetia and johan's cottage last week, the cottage is luxurious and everything you could want home from home.
My daughter and myself went western horse riding whilst me son challenged Johan to a game of golf or visor versa x
Overall had fab holiday for ages from 14years to 82 years and all felt welcome especially Nancy the pug x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquil, beautiful, idyllic cottage with amazing hosts!”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This holiday felt like we had arrived "home".

The cottage was amazing; fully equipped with all you could wish for and more. Beautifully renovated and situated in a splendid setting, the children loved every second. Especially the plunge pool, a big hit!

Venetia and Johan are incredibly welcoming and go to extreme lengths to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay, they even give of their time to show you around the local area, superb!

We have fallen in love with this area of beauty and have made true friends - Venetia & Johan. We will be back for sure. Thank you,
David, Katie, Jessie & Elias xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Complete and utter bliss!”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have had four superb stays at this wonderful cottage, ranging from durations of four weeks to a couple of nights. Venetia and Johan have lovingly renovated this beautiful cottage to the height of luxury in holiday rentals. The beds are divinely comfortable, and each room is well appointed with everything you might need during your holiday. I particularly love the well-equipped kitchen (complete with a selection of books) which means I can cook what I want without worrying about whether I have the right saucepans or utensils. The peace and quiet at night is wonderful, broken only by the hooting of owls. Our elder daughter has been totally spoilt with wonderful loan horses from the Sagiran Ranch (thoroughly recommended, by the way). What 14 year old wouldn't be bowled over by a horse called Prada!. Our younger daughter adores the third bedroom which is accessed by worn stone steps - complete seclusion - and the hammocks on the infinity deck. Both girls love swimming in the nearby lakes, shopping in Brive and the DVD collection. My husband enjoys sampling (regularly) the selection of wines that Johan puts together and the trout fishing at Argentat. And the dog? The new smells, playing with Venetia and Johan's dogs, the "treat cupboard" and the space. The scenery is heavenly - rolling hills, woods, cattle, wildlife, streams and rivers of all shapes and sizes - and the night sky is awesome. On most journeys we saw buzzards, kites and even a pine marten or two. The location is peaceful and serene - what more could you ask?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to list here, but the warmth of the welcome from Venetia and Johan, and being able to look out across the countryside from the spacious shower.
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbells...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way - gorgeous cottage and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a delightful week here over the European summer with another couple enjoying this gorgeous cottage in the hamlet of Saleix . Venetia and Johan are charming, friendly and knowledgeable hosts who live a short walk down the driveway and will go out of their way to help you and make your stay comfortable. The cottage is beautifully furnished with comfortable sofas, beds with quality linen, and everything you could possibly need in the kitchen including fresh fruit, different teas, coffee, condiments, and home made jams! The bathroom is a delight with fluffy towels and beautiful soaps and lotions.
We ate outside on the warm evenings at the table in the courtyard overlooking the garden and green countryside. We spent lazy afternoons lying on the sunbeds reading under the shady trees on the lower deck which overlooks the farms and woods below.
The cottage is in a perfect central location and we made several day trips to 'les plus beaux villages' in the Dordogne and Lot Valley. It was lovely to return at the end of the day to our peaceful and quiet haven at the cottage.
We absolutely loved our stay here and hope to return as soon as we can. The standard of comfort and thoughtful 'extras' are way beyond anything we have experienced in previous rental accommodation. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Confortably and beautfully furnished with thoughtful 'extras'; gorgeous views.
Liked least: Nothing - loved everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing