We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful resort outside the Bali tourist areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked this hotel just two weeks upfront. As there was no double room available anymore we got an offer to have a big family bungalow for the same price as the smaller one. We really appreciated. Email communication was very quick, never more than one day to get a reply.

Our stay in Cili Emas then was wonderful. After spending three days in Ubud in the south of Bali where we were confronted with aggressive merchants everywhere, Tejakula was a real relief. It’s a small village on the north coast with few tourism services. This also means that you can get a lot closer to normal Balinese life than in the south. When we were there, e.g. there was a burial ceremony happening which you could observe closely just by walking to the village.

We really liked the peace and quiet of Cili Emas. There are several kinds of little houses instead of just hotel rooms. Some of the houses also have outdoor bathrooms (of course you cannot see inside from the outside!). In front of most houses is a private open-air bed to lie down and relax. All the facilities were well-maintained. Everywhere around the place are bottles with fresh, free drinking water. As drinking tap water is a health hazard in Bali, having free water is a really nice way to quench the thirst during the day. Of course you can also get all sorts of drinks and coffee specialities during the day from the bar (but this will cost extra). To see Bali you should use the services of a private driver who can take you to wherever you want to go. You can either arrange for this yourself or let the hotel make the arrangements.

For breakfast, dinner and lunch the freshly prepared meals are eaten together on a long table in the central part of the hotel. You have a view of the sea there. It’s also a very nice way to get to know the other guests. We used our chance to join a tour with a friendly couple the next day which also split the costs for the tour. Would we have done that in a regular hotel? I doubt it. Another nice thing was that upon arrival we were asked whether we had any food allergies or things we would not like to eat. Indeed I had some, and whenever a part of the meal was not ok for me, there was automatically a replacement served. I have never experienced such careful attention to this in any other hotel. Our compliments also to the friendly assistant manager Nyoman who not only speaks good English but also helped us resolve any issues quickly.

One of the highlights for us was the nice secluded swimming pool. We used it every day and enjoyed it a lot. It was clean and well-maintained. Every deck chair around the pool offered a big towel if you forgot to bring one. You could also go there at night which gave us a memorable swim under the stars. If the sea is not too rough it’s also possible to swim in the sea, but due to the stony beach it can be a bit challenging to get in.

On our second day we also met the owners, Nicole and Jochen. We enjoyed a lot of nice conversations with them and they would also join in during dinner when they had the time. They cared a lot about our honest feedback regarding the place and offered to help swiftly with every problem we might encounter. You can also get helpful recommendations what to do and what better not to do during your stay.

Reading the not-so-good reviews on TripAdvisor surprised me a bit. How can you go to an explicitly non-touristy place like Tejakula and then complain that the place is too isolated? I would say just book a hotel in Lovina, which is also on the north coast but much more „developed“ for tourists. The food at Cili Emas is definitively not cheap by Balinese standards (more comparable to a good restaurant there) but the quality is very good, you get a set meal for dinner - soup, main course and desert - and everything is prepared fresh. If you want something else you can just go to the village and buy some food from there. No one forces anything on you in Cili Emas! Just say no if you don’t want something.

I guess what some people miss is that this resort is not your average tourist spot, but it’s there to help people relax from a busy life. It has a concept. If you consider spending time in Cili Emas have a look at their website ciliemas.com first and find out whether it fits for you. For us it was a very unique, satisfying experience even though we only stayed for about three days and did not use the wellness offers.

We hope we can return to Bali some time the next years and come again. If we had had more days, we would have extended our vacation just to have more time at Cili Emas. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Thorsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 87 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the excellent Cili Emas with my whole family and spent a lovely 4 days enjoying the calm and quiet atmosphere. The owners were very welcoming and the rooms were cool and clean. We could hear the gentle wash of the waves as the property is absolubtly beachfront.
Mornings were magical but our favourite aspect was the delicious food, prepared fresh every day by the excellent Nyoman using local organic ingredients and locally caught fresh seafood. Yum!
We enjoyed various outings to beautiful waterfalls, great snorkelling and mountain bike riding so for those who are looking to explore 'the other side of Bali' this place is fantastic and very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLaneVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Clearly not where you want to be for a very active vacation, though we managed to get around, even with long hour drives.
But to rest... ideal.
The staff and the guests were very friendly, and we were able to have dinner all together, which is nice.
The fact that the sound of the ocean was so loud from the rooms was a huge plus, and we missed it the second we left.
Really great food, but again, not a place for everyone's type of vacation.
Their drivers were really good, and we even saw dolphins!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Novivedeensalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

In general we had a excellent stay at Cilik Emas (one full week). We stayed in a comfortable family bungalow with three seperate rooms, an open air living room and a walled garden. Breakfast is great in a airy resto-bale. Staff is very friendly and the massage parlour is an asset (altough it's run by a company outside the hotel).

On the other side the hotel caters mainly to german guests - and you can realy feel that (the german owners greet their german clients with more panache then other nationalities. They ignored us for two days - we tought they were other guests :-)

The hotel is a small paradise - but once outside you'll enjoy genuine village life. A very good experience but the beach and nearby rivers are very dirty (lots of plastic, garbage,...).
Their website promotes snorkeling and that was one of the main reason to stay there - but the sea is full of debris and visibility was nihil. Small talk with local fishermen learned me that is was like this for months - and we were in the middle of the good/dry season.

Boottrips are indeed overpriced (the same thing for the other excursions) - it's better to arrange trips by a private driver. We enjoyed the services of a driver from Amed (altough he had to drive one hour to our hotel, he was still cheaper then the hotel's offer).

And the end we had to check our bill carefully. Some things are overcharged (30.000 for a coconut!) or charged without prior notice (milk,...).

Tejakula, the village is still very Balinese and realy enjoyable to visit. Especially the tempel above the village. Take the steps behind the 'horse baths'.

Room Tip: family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank diversGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

+ beautiful bungalows with outside bathrooms
+ good service, especially when the owners are there
+ very quiet location
+ excellent food served at night
+ nice massages next to swimming pool and other activities

- far from everything
- no public transportation available, so always need a driver (at least 450.000 R)
- unfortunately we did not see any dolphins during our boat trip

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henriettehenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
6.1 km away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
219 reviews
8.1 km away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
29.2 km away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
33.9 km away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 25 in Lovina Beach
842 reviews
9 km away
Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cili Emas Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Address: Jalan Segara, Pantai Tejakula, Desa Tejakula, Singaraja | Bali, Tejakula 81173, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tejakula
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tejakula
Price Range: ₹ 4,550 - ₹ 7,498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cili Emas Oceanside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali, the Island of the gods. Spend your holiday in our Resort which is in the middle of a tropical paradise on the untouched North Bali coast. Enjoy your individual dream vacation for your body, mind and well-being in Cili Emas Oceanside Resort. In our Resort you can spend your holiday, enjoy massage and wellness treatments, experience relaxation and regeneration, book a seminar or offer a seminar yourself. The Cili Emas Oceanside Resort is located in a small fishermen´s village on the authentic North coast of Bali, directly on the beach of the Indian Ocean, in the middle of endless coconut groves, surrounded by green chains of mountains and lush vegetation.Almost all of our bungalows, with ocean view and a small private patio, offer you privacy in the middle of an exotic garden. Our nice swimming pool, Spa-Area, sea, as well as our restaurant and pavillion offer you varied surroundings and wellness opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cili Emas Oceanside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort Tejakula, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing