We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Cile Emas has some of that x-factor magic that is difficult to aptly describe! Nicole and Jochen are the two very gracious and engaging hosts who have created this tranquil respite from touristy Bali. The rooms are lovely (and SUPER CELAN) and we stayed in the Lumbung which was the quietest, nicest spot to stay in our opinion but the other rooms/bungalows looked great as well.

People have had mixed opinions about sharing communal meals which we read before arriving at Cili Emas. In our opinion it truly added to the delight of the place and we thoroughly enjoyed the delicious meals served to a friendly group of travellers. It would be a definite plus if you were travelling on your own too. Nicole or Jochen or both enjoy dinner with their guests which also adds to the experience as they eagerly share their experiences of Bali and their passion for what they do.

Most importantly they have instilled a confidence and a quiet strength in their staff which was refreshing and evident. Attentive and friendly at all times they are a great team and produce tasty and healthy meals. Possibly the best food we had in Bali! Which is also why we have to mention Nyoman the "superwomen" of Cili Emas who not only manages most of the day-to-day tasks but is also the head chef. Be sure to do the cooking class with Nyoman while you are there - it entails Nyoman's enthusiastic Bali cooking techniques and anecdotes about Bali life and results in the evening meal for all the guests! A fine way to spend an afternoon and evening!

Tejakula is definitely off the beaten track and a walk up into the town is easy and there are many activities on offer should you wish to throw yourself into the hustle bustle. Having done a lot of sightseeing before arriving at Cili emas, my husband and I rather chose to enjoy their lovely gardens and communal areas for reading and relaxing and swimming and of course a fine massage or two. Nicole also has plans for a Yoga studio which is in process.

The beach is rocky so don't expect a long white sandy beach but if you're looking for a place to hideaway and enjoy the calm gentle side of Bali then this is certainly the place for you.

Magical, dreamy, tranquil and peaceful. Thank you Cili Emas! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Purplewhizzball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    28
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
144
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I really did not know what to expect as Bali had been a less than pleasant experience to date. I was to be very pleasantly surprised with beautiful clean surrounds, fabulous food cooked by Nyoman and the very friendly staff. Best cups of tea and health drinks - all in all I revived. I loved the spa area, swam in the pool, sat and gazed at the rolling waves, read books and got to know other travellers from Germany, Wisconsin, Sydney Australia and of course the hosts Nicole and Jochen. Recommend the use of their driver for pick up from the airport as we had a bit of an adventure finding the place as we discovered that the locals in and around Kuta and Obud had never heard of Tejakula. Being vegeterian I can only rave about the food as to how fresh and tasty it was. I can only hope that Nicohle will one day produce a cook book as I am missing the home made organic bread and the tofu spread served at breakfast as well as all the creative dishes for lunch and dinner. I am not too keen to go back to Bali but I really want to come back to Cili Emas for a longer stay. Thankyou to all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Following an action-packed 5 days in Java, my husband and I were panting to get to Cili Emas. This time we knew what to expect. And we found it: welcoming and gracious hosts we could call friends after our first visit a year ago, excellent meals, simple comfort, a superb staff, and a gorgeous setting. Nicole and Jochen arranged a driver to meet our plane in Denpasar, and when we arrived at Cili Emas -- near midnight in rainy weather -- our hosts were waiting with umbrellas and warm greetings.
We slept, we swam and read by the charming pool, we had restorative massage in the newly built spa that is in keeping with the modest, natural aesthetic of the resort. As other reviews have noted, meals are served at a long, communal table and although the other guests spoke German, most had English skills and by the second night we were at ease with them all.
Although we were expecting little more than solitude, we discovered that during our stay the temple next door would be the center of the Melasti ceremony, a cleansing before Nyepi, the day of silence. It began at dawn with an extraordinary and beautiful procession to the sea from the main temple in Tejakula, and went on for several hours accompanied by 2 gamelan orchestras and ending in a festival atmosphere at the conclusion of the religious ceremonies. Because Cili Emas guests dressed properly for the ceremony, no one seemed to mind our presence -- or cameras. It was truly a peak experience.
We can only wish Nicole and Jochen success, for they have put their souls into making their home a refuge for travelers. Yet with success comes greater visibility, and we could only book accommodation for 3 days. We left this paradisiacal spot not quite ready to go. But we plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RebeccaB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Cili Emas was far better than we ever expected. I stayed here with my girlfriend as one on three places while we travelled around Bali. After looking at the website we were not 100% sure what to expect but it was far better than we ever imagined. Jochan and Nichole have created a truly unique place - the food is excellent, the staff could not be more helpful, the pool area is excellent and the trips they have arrnaged are really good value if you use this a base for exploring.

After reading other reviews i could not agree more this place really is worth a visit and will be nothing like any other resort you visit. A must if you are visiting Bali...

Room Tip: Only one room has A/C so if this is imporant to you then make sure you book that one but really it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Cili Emas is a lovely authentic Balinese resort and wellness retreat, nestled between the black-sand sea and Tejakula on the northern Bali coast. We stayed in one of three large bungalows, with the most wonderful large open-air bathroom and shower. The bungalow was spacious and, thankfully, air-conditioned, as the Bali afternoons can be quite hot. I loved the small touches...gold bowls filled with colorful flowers, soap wrapped in native leaves, cold water pitcher left on our porch each morning...very spa-like and personal. The resort, though in a primitive setting, is meticulously maintained, and has a stunning pool (I could've stayed there all day!) and massage area. Nicole, the owner, is sweet and very helpful: she coordinated a dolphin-watching morning on a traditional Balinese catamaran located just steps from the resort, and arranged with their friendly and informative driver Gede an afternoon of snorkeling in nearby Amed. My sister and I especially enjoyed the meals, deliciously prepared by Nyoman and her fabulous staff. The fresh ingredients and lively spices worked together magically...healthy and yummy! The communal meals- our group consisted of two German and one Dutch couple-were a highlight each day, allowing us to share our daily Balinese and life experiences, and provided a nice cultural exchange. Nicole and her partner Jochen speak flawless English, and we never had a problem communicating with them or the other guests. Don't forget to try their amazing and exotic spa-like drinks...refreshing and cleansing. And last but not least, their adorable dog and mascot, Elvis, who is camera-shy but full of love.
On this same trip we also stayed at the fabulous Viceroy hotel and the sprawling Ayana resort, but I can truly say that The Cili Emas was the highlight of our Bali trip...a perfect mix of luxe and primitive beauty, with unparalleled personal service to boot! Hats off to Nicole, Jochen, Nyoman and Gede...we can't wait to return to your Balinese paradise!

Room Tip: I appreciated the air-conditioning of the bungalows, though the authentic huts were a bit more exoti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeachBumDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
6.1 km away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
33.9 km away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
32.7 km away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
9.0 km away
Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre
12.1 km away
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cili Emas Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Property: Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Address: Jalan Segara, Pantai Tejakula, Desa Tejakula, Singaraja | Bali, Tejakula 81173, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tejakula
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tejakula
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,124 - ₹ 6,480
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cili Emas Oceanside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali, the Island of the gods. Spend your holiday in our Resort which is in the middle of a tropical paradise on the untouched North Bali coast. Enjoy your individual dream vacation for your body, mind and well-being in Cili Emas Oceanside Resort. In our Resort you can spend your holiday, enjoy massage and wellness treatments, experience relaxation and regeneration, book a seminar or offer a seminar yourself. The Cili Emas Oceanside Resort is located in a small fishermen´s village on the authentic North coast of Bali, directly on the beach of the Indian Ocean, in the middle of endless coconut groves, surrounded by green chains of mountains and lush vegetation.Almost all of our bungalows, with ocean view and a small private patio, offer you privacy in the middle of an exotic garden. Our nice swimming pool, Spa-Area, sea, as well as our restaurant and pavillion offer you varied surroundings and wellness opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cili Emas Oceanside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort Tejakula, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing