We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Cili Emas is a lovely authentic Balinese resort and wellness retreat, nestled between the black-sand sea and Tejakula on the northern Bali coast. We stayed in one of three large bungalows, with the most wonderful large open-air bathroom and shower. The bungalow was spacious and, thankfully, air-conditioned, as the Bali afternoons can be quite hot. I loved the small touches...gold bowls filled with colorful flowers, soap wrapped in native leaves, cold water pitcher left on our porch each morning...very spa-like and personal. The resort, though in a primitive setting, is meticulously maintained, and has a stunning pool (I could've stayed there all day!) and massage area. Nicole, the owner, is sweet and very helpful: she coordinated a dolphin-watching morning on a traditional Balinese catamaran located just steps from the resort, and arranged with their friendly and informative driver Gede an afternoon of snorkeling in nearby Amed. My sister and I especially enjoyed the meals, deliciously prepared by Nyoman and her fabulous staff. The fresh ingredients and lively spices worked together magically...healthy and yummy! The communal meals- our group consisted of two German and one Dutch couple-were a highlight each day, allowing us to share our daily Balinese and life experiences, and provided a nice cultural exchange. Nicole and her partner Jochen speak flawless English, and we never had a problem communicating with them or the other guests. Don't forget to try their amazing and exotic spa-like drinks...refreshing and cleansing. And last but not least, their adorable dog and mascot, Elvis, who is camera-shy but full of love.
On this same trip we also stayed at the fabulous Viceroy hotel and the sprawling Ayana resort, but I can truly say that The Cili Emas was the highlight of our Bali trip...a perfect mix of luxe and primitive beauty, with unparalleled personal service to boot! Hats off to Nicole, Jochen, Nyoman and Gede...we can't wait to return to your Balinese paradise!

Room Tip: I appreciated the air-conditioning of the bungalows, though the authentic huts were a bit more exoti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeachBumDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    29
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
151
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Lawrence, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Cili Emas is pretty much as advertised. Their website is honest and presents the place as it really is, no surprises: black rock beach, communal dining and all.

The place is quite isolated on the northern shore of Bali, very far from the tourist hell of Kuta. Well, that's a double edged sword. You're trading the mass of restaurants within walking distance and the nightlife for the peace and quiet of isolation. So, you already know which one you want. If you're looking for peace and quiet you'll like Cili Emas. If you want to party and a hundred restaurant options you want Kuta or Sanur, not Tejakula.

Okay, so you're looking for peace and quiet. Well, hopefully you're the gregarious sort, because if you come here you must know that, as another reviewer pointed out, there is an element of "forced socialization." Specifically the evening meal where everyone sits together at one large table. Also the fact that it's a very small place - ten rooms, I think - and everyone gets to know everyone else. Well, at least to say hello. You cannot be anonymous here, and that is the sort of thing that you either like or you do not.

Personally, I do not like it but I must say that I very much enjoyed my stay anyway. We spent five nights and were the only non-Germans for the entire stay. All the other guests were extremely nice, polite and, well, basically looking for the same as us: a quiet and peaceful escape. And all were kind enough to speak English to us since we do not speak German.

The rooms are an odd combination of spa-luxe and roughing it: concrete floors and walls and bathroom shelves but gold bowls filled with flowers and lovely artisan soaps wrapped in banana leaves. Are we camping or having a facial? Well, a bit of both, actually. Somehow it all works, the place is really fascinating and I especially liked the connected yet actually outdoor bathroom. I've never before taken a hot shower while cold rain was pouring down on me. Beautiful!

The food was amazing, all fresh, all delicious. Heavily vegetarian though we did have chicken one night. Expect fish for the most part since tuna is caught right off the coast. No, there are no choices, you eat what they are serving. I found the meals to be more than I could eat though other reviewers have disagreed. Fair prices are charged for the meals and the drinks as well. Try the arak mandu with tonic and lime which is sort of like a G&T with a Bali kick.

Lastly, the manicured grounds: It takes a lot of work to keep everything so well maintained but they do it. I stayed in a similar place in Cambodia which was wild with weeds and was expecting the same here. But no, not a leaf out of place. Is it the German attention to detail? Maybe, but I appreciated the cleanliness and order of everything. Thank you, Nicole (owner) and husband (whose name I don't remember!)

Room Tip: Most are double bungalows, ideal for two couples. If you want privacy, go for the wooden villa, oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dylan15046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I travelled here with my friend a couple of months ago. We never thought this was going to be a little paradise. Cili Emas offers a unique Balinese experience. The owners of the hotel, Jochan and Nicole had created a magical place where you can truly come and relax and feel comfortable. The staff is incredible, not only are they kind and make you feel like your home but they create the best healthy dishes you can get.The rooms are very beautiful and extremely clean and comfortable.
The hotel also offers tours around the area or even to the different spots in Bali for a very good price. If you're in Bali seeking for a unique experience of relaxation and purification I really encourage you to visit Cili Emas, you're home outside home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nataliamolinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We booked 4 nights at this breathtakingly beautiful resort. We pre-arranged for a driver to collect us from Sanur (450,000 rupiah) and take us for the 2.5 hour drive through Bali to Tejakula. The drive in itself was amazing! Having been to Bali 3 times before, we wanted to stay somewhere away from Legian and see somewhere new.

When we arrived we were greeted by their host/chef Nyomen (Balinese) and their trainer/manager Ann (German). We were given fresh coconut water and taken to our room. We opted for the double bungalow which was very reasonably priced. The room is basic and small but is big enough for what we needed. The room and bathroom were very clean but needed shelves in the bathroom. We were a bit scared that there was no A/C, just a pedestal fan, but we were fine throughout the night. The resort is a small property where the owners (German) live and work. There are 5 rooms (I think), it is directly on the beach and has a large pool at the rear.

The location is BEAUTIFUL - our room was 20 meters from the water and we could hear the waves rolling in all day and night. It was bliss! The walk along the beach is a bit of an adventure with very large rocks instead of sand. I didn’t want to swim in the water because there was a never ender stream of floating rubbish coming in.

On our 2nd day we hired Nyomen's bike and went to a waterfall that was located nearby. It was AMAZING! We got lost on our way there but we found it eventually and walked around 20 minutes through a spectacular stretch of rainforest to reach the waterfall. Great photo opportunities!

Meals were the strange part for us. Meals are served at set times and you eat on one long table with the owners, manager and other guests. Portion sizes were small which was ok for me, however my boyfriend was hungry most of the time. We felt rude if we were to ask for more and we would have preferred if they would offer if you would like anything more to eat. The resort is very remote so there isn’t any restaurants to eat at that you could walk to. I’m sure this arrangement is perfect for some people, but we just weren't interested in making awkward dinner conversation with other couples while we are on holidays.

The other thing about this place was that it was so quiet that we felt we couldn't talk to each other unless we were in our room or other people would hear our conversation. It was so strange! The manager and one of the owners would use the common dining bungalow to do all of their work all day on their laptops. As this was the only area in the resort to lay on a lounge and read a magazine or play cards we felt like we were an unwanted disturbance to them.

We were also not happy with the way the manager spoke down to the Balinese staff. When first arrived Nyomen was very polite and helpful however she was ordered where to go and what to do. Almost like a scare tactic.

After around 20 hours at this resort, we decided it wasn't for us. We asked the manager to arrange transport back to Legian for us the next day. Of course we did have to pay for the remaining 2 nights which we completely understood.

For our last morning we arranged for a fishing boat to take us out to watch the sunrise which is a must do when you stay at this resort. It is designed to be a dolphin watching tour, however we were not so lucky. Another couple who went out at the same time did see some though.

All in all it was a beautiful resort and friendly Balinese staff, if you like communal type living then this is the place for you. We just felt that if you are not European or over 40 you just aren't that welcome there.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a single bungalow instead of the double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Isobel1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Escaping the rush and noise of Ubud here we found a place which was peaceful and gentle .... the energy here is soft ... Very caring and attentive hosts with a great team. The home cooked meals are excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallendbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
6.1 km away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
179 reviews
8.1 km away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
32.7 km away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre
12.0 km away
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
2.9 km away
Bondalem Beach Club
Bondalem Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bondalem
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cili Emas Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Property: Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Address: Jalan Segara, Pantai Tejakula, Desa Tejakula, Singaraja | Bali, Tejakula 81173, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tejakula
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tejakula
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,381 - ₹ 7,023
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cili Emas Oceanside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali, the Island of the gods. Spend your holiday in our Resort which is in the middle of a tropical paradise on the untouched North Bali coast. Enjoy your individual dream vacation for your body, mind and well-being in Cili Emas Oceanside Resort. In our Resort you can spend your holiday, enjoy massage and wellness treatments, experience relaxation and regeneration, book a seminar or offer a seminar yourself. The Cili Emas Oceanside Resort is located in a small fishermen´s village on the authentic North coast of Bali, directly on the beach of the Indian Ocean, in the middle of endless coconut groves, surrounded by green chains of mountains and lush vegetation.Almost all of our bungalows, with ocean view and a small private patio, offer you privacy in the middle of an exotic garden. Our nice swimming pool, Spa-Area, sea, as well as our restaurant and pavillion offer you varied surroundings and wellness opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cili Emas Oceanside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort Tejakula, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing