We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
23
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
7
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Peter and Louise gave us a wonderful start to our across-the-province bike tour on the Confederation Trail. Peter even assisted us in putting our bikes together and assisted us in getting to a nice restaurant for dinner. Our room was clean and comfortable. Delightful and hospitable hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holistix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Peter and Louise became the new owners of Murphy's Home and Cottages six years ago. It was tired and needed to be updated. There is still work that needs to be done, but a lot of renovations have been made already. They have a large yard that is secluded from their neighbours by a narrow area of bush on all sides. We were in one of the cottages and it had a full size fridge and stove with a microwave and coffee maker. We had a nice size bedroom with plenty of room for our suitcases.
The bathroom was a bit on the small size, but we have been eating well and that may have played a part as well. We also had a nice size living room for reading in the evening. The overhang on the front porch made this a pleasant area to sit with your coffee and wait for the hummingbird. We were half a kilometre from the start of the Confederation Trail, about the same distance to a great Bakery in Tignish and maybe 2 kilometres from the Royal Star Seafood retail outlet. It is only a short drive to the North Cape, where you can spend a few hours on the easy Black Marsh Walking Trail. There are two larger cottages that are available. Peter and Louise keep the cottages neat and tidy and Peter keeps the yard looking quite lovely. For a very reasonable rate this would be an excellent spot to stop and enjoy Tignish.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BSCSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

beautiful country cottages has everything that one would need, and the hosts Peter @ Louise are awesome people will tell others about these country cottages there near to everything, and the place is very quiet, and clean outside, would go back anytime,

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a night before beginning our cycling trip on the Confederation Trail. We rented 3 cottages, which were basic but cozy. The setting is a beautiful grove of trees just off a country road. The hosts, Peter and Louise, were extremely friendly and helpful. They even offered to drive us out to a restaurant for supper and pick us up! Would recommend this spot for reasonably-priced self-catering accommodations in a peaceful and welcoming venue.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Stayed here two nights in preparation for our Confederation Trail Ride. Nice location, about .5 km from the trail head. Peter & Louise were wonderful hosts and let me use their fridge to keep my meds during our week long tour on the trail. We left our car there while cycling and got a ride back from the end of the trail to pick it up again and leave.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews