We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Cape Seaside Escape”

Review of Harbour Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Almost 150 sq metres of luxury.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Almost 150 sq metres of luxury.
The state of the art kitchen with open-planned dining.
The views from the front patio are hard to beat!
Beautiful ocean views from almost every window.
The master bedroom.
The iconic harbour lighthouses in Kalk Bay harbour.
Nespresso on the house.
The Silvermine hiking trail behind the apartment with its wide variety of fynbos and proteas.
Wifi is free and fast.
The deck offers one of the best views in Kalk Bay.
The upmarket Majestic Village is a cluster of refurbished historic buildings in a secure complex.
Guests of Harbour Place can enjoy the sparkling private pool just metres from the apartment.
Top view of the apartment building.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kalk Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nkd970
1 review
“Authentic Cape Seaside Escape”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I spent a week of my trip to South Africa earlier this year in Cape Town. I'm glad I chose Harbour Place and Kalk Bay over some of the tourist traps I saw in the the city bowl, Cape Town's downtown area. If you're looking for an authentic experience where you get to soak up the relaxed, fun vibe of the Mother City - as South Africans lovingly call Cape Town - I'd recommend this small harbor town on the Cape Peninsular's east side. It's location allows for quick and easy access to all of Cape Town's highlights: it's located midway between the city center and the Cape Nature Reservation. From here trips to Boulders Beach to see jackass penguins lazing on rocks or to Groot Constantia to taste the Cape's famous wines or to incomparable beaches like Llundudno or Long Beach are a short car ride. At the end of the day, it was great to return to Harbor Place. The apartment is located in a grand old building which is part of a larger secured complex with a full-time guard at the entrance. Here you can park your car with complete peace of mind that it is safe and sound. With its high ceilings and large windows, the apartment is bright and airy. The upscale decor is complimented by comfy and unique touches that makes the space feel more like a home than a holiday suite. The living room opens up onto a hedged -- so private -- patio area where you can grill and hang out and watch the sun set with a glass of wine. There's a great kitchen space too with all the modern amenities, including a Nespresso machine. And, on your arrival, personalized notes and chocolates on your pillow from Zelda make your arrival all the more special and memorable.

By the way, there is a great restaurant right across the street called Olympia Cafe. I strongly recommend it. Most cafes and restaurants in Cape Town are on par with what you would find in places in New York City or London, but cheaper thanks to the strong greenback.

If you need to stock up on groceries, try the adjacent town Vishoek. Kalk Bay has a small deli style convenience store that offers the basics as well as a wide variety of Indian pop music in case you are into that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrCynthia...
Millstone, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trendy and Spacious Slice of Waterfront Living on Holiday"”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a a well-appointed 2 bed/2 bath apartment with all of the amenities that a family can ask for! We only wish we had a longer time to stay and BBQ and enjoy the sunshine and the boat traffic.We loved the bakery and and the bakery's restaurant on the corner across the street. Zelda was so kind to have complete instructions for every gadget needed to enjoy endless movies and fresh brewed Nespresso. We were in heaven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The waterview
Liked least: Traffic was a bit noisy from the street during rush hour but tolerable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl R
New York City, New York
1 review
“Elegant & spacious accommodation with home comforts and harbor views”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I know Cape Town well. After a long, brutally cold winter I needed a vacation destination far removed from the mania of New York's city life but which still offered the comforts and amenities of restaurants and shops and -- not having a car -- access to the railway. I chose to stay in Kalk Bay. It's a seaside village that, at face value, is in perpetual slumber. Situated between the surfer's paradise of Muizenberg and the family friendly resort town of Vishoek, Kalk Bay is nestled between mountain slopes and a small fishing harbor. Take a stroll along the harbor jetty to take in the salty sea air, feed the gulls or simply savor the sunset over False Bay. Choose between four harbor restaurants -- from outside benches to fine dining -- to taste the catch of the day. Walking along Kalk Bay's main drag, I'm put in mind of the laid back bohemian vibe of an artsy Brooklyn enclave. The row of galleries and antique shops are interspersed with eateries ranging from that perfect morning cappuccino and eggs benedict at The Olympia Café to The Brass Bell, a relaxed, friendly late night watering hole overlooking the sea. And centrally located in the midst of it all is Harbour Place. This two-bedroom, two-bath apartment may be on the ground floor but, wow, it's a quiet and secure oasis. Coming from New York -- the capital of tiny apartments -- the first thing that struck me was its airy spaciousness and high ceilings. This is a well-built historic building: the thick walls close out noise and keep in the coolness. Two of us stayed here earlier this year but Harbour House can easily accommodate a family. With its open plan well-equipped kitchen, long dining table and patio BBQ, it's also a great place to entertain friends. But, above all, Harbour Place feels like home from home. You can’t wait to crash on the massive pillowy bed in the master bedroom every night. Wake up mornings to a perfectly brewed cuppa from the Nespresso machine. And in the late afternoons, there's nothing better than to sit in the cushioned bay window with a good book.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizevRens...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Harbour Place - c'est la vie!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Perfectly situated in the quint town of Kalk Bay, Harbour Place, offers the most amazing holiday facility for a wonderful weekend away. The décor and luxurious interiors makes one's heart skip a beat. The apartment is super clean, spacious and aesthetically appealing. The "little extras" made our weekend very pleasant; a welcoming gift, fresh milk in the fridge and the facility of a Nespresso coffee machine was a wonderful surprize. All the restaurants, shops and entertainment are walking distance from Harbour Place. The security is top notch and very helpful.

Definitely a weekend I think about ever so often. Wish we could go back in time, hear the waves break and watch the sun set on the beautiful “stoep”. Harbour Place is the perfect holiday destination!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiksona
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
“Exquisite, scenic, superbly located, well equipped seaside apartment”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Right from the start all was very well organised: the reservation went without a hic-up, and we had a friendly reception on site, and were shown to the apartment.
The apartment were very spacious, and stylishly furnished.
The location & amenities were superb. The walks on the piers are a must! Too many exquisite eateries to choose from. And with a world famous bakery right across the street.
We liked best the privacy and scenic location, and we like least the fact that the four days we spent there, were too little.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The superb scenery and location.
Liked least: Stay too short!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing