We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalk Bay Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Kalk Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We stayed three nights in this wonderful guest house - comfortable, spotlessly clean, conveniently located and our hosts made us feel very welcome. We thoroughly recommend this guest house and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room - they are larger and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulGM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa B, Owner at Kalk Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Thank you for the lovely review and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you both again next year when you are back in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2016

We chose to use this as a base for cape town and cape point area. the guest house is very quiet and peaceful with a small pool and garden. The room was spacious with 2 large picture windows and a small balcony. Costa and Ashleigh, the owners were very friendly and helpful. It is within a short walk downhill to the centre of Kalk Bay, the walk back after a nice meal and a few drinks can be more of an effort. Unfortunately during our stay their wifi went down( not the owners fault) and needs some rewiring so may take a little time to rectify.
Patricia (the housekeeper) is a treasure, nothing was too much trouble for her.

We really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We had the Bay View room through one window we had a good view of the bay and through the other a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa B, Owner at Kalk Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse and pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us.

It was very unfortunate you were unable to use the complimentary wifi during part of your stay with us. The fault is linked to damaged cables which the service provider are busy attending too.

We hope to see you both again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

A very nice place to stay. Excellent accommodation. The only point to make is the lights besides the beds should be brighter as it is difficult to read a book at night
Nice garden and very friendly and helpful landlords

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa B, Owner at Kalk Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Many thanks for reviewing our guesthouse and thank you for making us aware of the lights next to the bed. We have since replaced them with higher wattage globes which now gives a brighter light for reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Kalk Bay Guesthouse has a very nice little garden with view over the sea from a terrass, protected from the winds. Our room had everything we needed with a kitchen to make breakfast and a spacious bathroom. It was really nice and sober .Patricia, the housekeeper, took good care of us and Mr and Mrs Costa were eager to help us with most things. We spent a very good time in their House.

Room Tip: We liked the room so much that we booked it for next year
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 81williamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa B, Owner at Kalk Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Thank you very for taking your time to review our guesthouse and it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in this guesthouse!

The service is great: they were very friendly and helpful and also respected the privacy of their guests.

The guesthouse is really beautiful:
- nice little garden with lots of flowers and a small pool -not large enough to swim in, but you have enough tidal pools close by-;
- the guesthouse and the rooms are very clean and well kept, we stayed in the harbour view suite and loved it (comfy bed, lovely terrace and an amazing view);
- the interior really is beautiful and there's lots of windows so you can enjoy the view and sun!

The guesthouse does not have its own parking space, but you can park on the road (there is a security guard at night). We didn't have any problems.

You can't have breakfast at the guesthouse, wich they told us beforehand, but this really isn't a problem. You can have breakfast in the guesthouse next door (sunny terrace), or at the many café's/restaurants nearby (we had breakfast at the olympia café, wich was nice).

I would definitely recommend this place and would stay there if I ever visit Kalk bay again!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L_leuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa B, Owner at Kalk Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank you for the review and it was great to read you enjoyed your stay at Kalk Bay Guesthouse.

Breakfast is available on request (optional extra), however, we have found that most of our guests prefer to walk down into the hub of Kalk Bay (± 45 meters from the guesthouse) and have breakfast at one of the many bakeries/restaurants and enjoy the Kalk Bay vibe.

We hope to see you both again should your travels bring you to Kalk Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kalk Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalk Bay Guest House

Address: 32 Gatesville Road | Kalk Bay, Kalk Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kalk Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalk Bay
Price Range: ₹ 6,286 - ₹ 12,832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalk Bay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kalk Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalk Bay Guest House Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing