We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location - well appointed cottage - great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Snowy Christmas 2014 near lake on peninsula
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snowy Christmas 2014 near lake on peninsula
Hambleton Peninsula, Rutland water Side view of The Old Post and Telegraph Office cottage in Hambleton
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Snowy Christmas 2014 near lake on peninsula
Hambleton Peninsula, Rutland water
Side view of The Old Post and Telegraph Office cottage in Hambleton
Sunset on Rutland water which is located around 200 metres away from cottage
Kitchen seats 6 people
Hambleton village - The Old Post Office is in the centre of the village
Rear garden
Cottage
woodburner sittingroom
Dining hallway
Front dining hallway with sofa and  table seats 6 people
Church  side sittingroom with open fireplace
bathroom
Bedroom 1 overlooking the church - King size bed
Front bedroom - kingsize bed
single bedroom with additional bed underneath single bed.
sittingroom
Cottage view
SUNSET, HAMBLETON PENINSULA
Front door
Clock
Front garden view to 11th Century Church in Hambleton
Terrace at the Finches pub across the road -  voted one of best pubs in UK.
Old Hall on Rutland water, Hambleton peninsula
Lake view
Bluebells in the wood nearby on the lake in May
Sunset, Hambleton peninsula
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hambleton, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kimarkley
Barnet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location - well appointed cottage - great facilities and local surrounds are stunning”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location is fantastic - Rutland Water is beautiful and The Finches across the road is great in every respect (Service and food) - we held our daughters wedding there and so The Post Office was perfect for my family to stay just across the road. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you for a lovely review,

Kind regards,

Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbullock
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage - lovely location”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a long weekend in this lovely cottage, it's well appointed, nicely furnished and decorated and very comfortable. Highly recommended.....oh and a lovely spot in this beautiful area !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A
1 review
“Quiet peaceful stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Characteristic cottage set in a beautifully quiet location. Ideal for dogs, with so many scenic walks. Defiantly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabriel77
hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a long weekend in early March. The cottage is ideally situated just a short walk downhill to the lake with a pleasant pub just across the way. We were a group of six adults. The kitchen was large and well equipped. We tended to use the small sitting room next to the kitchen as this was very cosy having an open fireplace, being early March we had the fire going every evening. We could have used the dining room but preferred to have our meals at the large kitchen table. The two large bedrooms were ideal having comfortable beds and plenty of space, however the small bedroom was rather cramped and not really suitable for two adults. The window in the front bedroom probably would have opened but decided not to force it as I felt that it might break if forced. The bathroom, if rather small was adequate and the shower was very easy to use and efficient.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you for a lovely review. Each room has windows which open but are old metal casement windows with stone mullioned surrounds so do need a little shove,

Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim E
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A most perfect cottage in a wonderful setting. The hostess was very thoughtful and ensured that we had everything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing