We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and beauty”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of PENYBRYN

Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Sitting room with inglenook and wood-burning stove Garden room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Sitting room with inglenook and wood-burning stove
Garden room
Hallway
View of whole cottage to the east
Upstairs bathroom with roll-top bath
Alcove beside the inglenook
Double bedroom
King bedroom
All-weather garden furniture
Cwm Hafod Oer in winter
Penybryn in winter
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
Garden room and garden in summer
Kitchen / Diner
Garden room in winter
Barbecue area with a mountain backdrop
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Garden in summer
Garden from the side
Penybryn in winter, view to mountains
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
Penybryn from main road
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brithdir, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bdonaghey
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peace and beauty”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a beautiful cottage in a peaceful and private setting. The owners are next door and you pass by their place going in/out of the property but they don't interfere in your stay although they are friendly and welcoming. My husband and I rented and invited a friend along. The accommodations were very comfortable although my husband found the queen bed to be too firm for his liking. Two things to note: Wi-fi access depends on the weather apparently and there were days when we had no wi-fi and no phone (not necessarily a bad thing, but FYI) and there is no dryer so you need to hang out your laundry (weather permitting) or use the indoor drying rack. We loved it and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: views and the sunroom
Liked least: queen mattress - although my friend loved hers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxiewaxi...
Brighton, England
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is absolutely perfect, spacious, comfortable, well equipped and clean. The location is also perfect, Dolgellau is nearby and has everything you would need, the views and walks from the cottage are superb. The owners are friendly and kind but unobtrusive.
We hope to come back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flobo1978
Eastbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great property in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We looked around for a nice cottage in a good location within Snowdonia and found this great place. Its a very comfortable 3 bed cottage with stunning views and well positioned, allowing you to go off for walks and rides straight from the property itself. Surrounded by fields and beautiful landscapes the property is certainly somewhere we could easily visit again. Great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality property in great location
Liked least: wifi is poor and not easy to work away from home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedartm...
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going for our 6th visit soon - says it all.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in September 2014

It's the glorious location and the spacious, spotless, comfortable accommodation that clinches it for us. The owners - a lovely family with young twin boys - are nearby, if you need them, but keep themselves to themselves, which is ideal. It's ideal for exploring Snowdonia and trundling into Dolgellau. Our forthcoming 2015 trip will be our sixth visit, and each year there are little enhancements, so the owners are always improving this wonderful property. A mix of modern comforts, with its Welsh heritage - highly recommended (but not during our week, please!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the views, the garden, the walks from the property.
Liked least: Struggling to think of some think.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recoverdi...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great holiday rental”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We recently stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. The cottage is big, tastefully refurbished, with comfy beds and in a very relaxing part of Wales. The 2 double bedrooms are generous in size, with the master double accessible through the spacious twin room.

The gardens are beautifully landscaped; we watched the RAF jets every morning from the grass whilst eating our breakfast. Lovely views, lots of wildlife around. Even a friendly resident cat. Very peaceful.

The owners are friendly yet respect your privacy, they are in the farmhouse next door should you need anything. Kitchen had everything we needed, washing machine was helpful with all the walking we did. Lovely sunny garden room on side of house has fantastic views from all sides.

Loads to do nearby. Cadair Idris is walkable from the front door, snowdon is just over an hours drive away. Llyn peninsula about 45 mins. Barmouth 30mins. The house itself is on a cycle path. We had great weather so really enjoyed being outdoors. Only small complaint is with the small TV, for those cosy nights or rainy days it would be nice to watch a bigger TV, and although it is described as having Sky TV, it is only free view with very limited channels. Not an issue for us as we were out and about but maybe be important to others.

Thanks Gwerfyl and Mark for a really great stay, we hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of TV channels though not a big issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing