We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Going for our 6th visit soon - says it all.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of PENYBRYN

Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Sitting room with inglenook and wood-burning stove Garden room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Sitting room with inglenook and wood-burning stove
Garden room
Hallway
View of whole cottage to the east
Upstairs bathroom with roll-top bath
Alcove beside the inglenook
Double bedroom
King bedroom
All-weather garden furniture
Cwm Hafod Oer in winter
Penybryn in winter
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
Garden room and garden in summer
Kitchen / Diner
Garden room in winter
Barbecue area with a mountain backdrop
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Garden in summer
Garden from the side
Penybryn in winter, view to mountains
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
Penybryn from main road
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brithdir, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rosedartm...
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going for our 6th visit soon - says it all.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in September 2014

It's the glorious location and the spacious, spotless, comfortable accommodation that clinches it for us. The owners - a lovely family with young twin boys - are nearby, if you need them, but keep themselves to themselves, which is ideal. It's ideal for exploring Snowdonia and trundling into Dolgellau. Our forthcoming 2015 trip will be our sixth visit, and each year there are little enhancements, so the owners are always improving this wonderful property. A mix of modern comforts, with its Welsh heritage - highly recommended (but not during our week, please!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the views, the garden, the walks from the property.
Liked least: Struggling to think of some think.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recoverdi...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great holiday rental”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We recently stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. The cottage is big, tastefully refurbished, with comfy beds and in a very relaxing part of Wales. The 2 double bedrooms are generous in size, with the master double accessible through the spacious twin room.

The gardens are beautifully landscaped; we watched the RAF jets every morning from the grass whilst eating our breakfast. Lovely views, lots of wildlife around. Even a friendly resident cat. Very peaceful.

The owners are friendly yet respect your privacy, they are in the farmhouse next door should you need anything. Kitchen had everything we needed, washing machine was helpful with all the walking we did. Lovely sunny garden room on side of house has fantastic views from all sides.

Loads to do nearby. Cadair Idris is walkable from the front door, snowdon is just over an hours drive away. Llyn peninsula about 45 mins. Barmouth 30mins. The house itself is on a cycle path. We had great weather so really enjoyed being outdoors. Only small complaint is with the small TV, for those cosy nights or rainy days it would be nice to watch a bigger TV, and although it is described as having Sky TV, it is only free view with very limited channels. Not an issue for us as we were out and about but maybe be important to others.

Thanks Gwerfyl and Mark for a really great stay, we hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of TV channels though not a big issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin P
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family had a fantastic stay at Penybryn. The location is stunning, the views breathtaking, and the house is just right. The best room is the end room with all the windows looking out at mountains. If you are after peace and quiet then this is the place. We will certainly be returning. The girls did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: the wi fi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Thank you so very much for your kind review. Penybryn is very special to us and we're glad that other people think so too. It is a place of peace and quiet reflection and hopefully an enriching experience, and we work to keep it that way. We hope to see you return, thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K
Essex, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dream cottage, dream location!”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What can I say? This was our second visit to Penybryn; which in itself speaks volumes.
The cottage itself is like my dream home; beautifully furnished, well equipped and with breathtaking views from every window. The fact you are a mile off the beaten track makes the stay that bit more magical!
This is the second time we have stayed; my husband and I; 2 children (3 & 5) and grandparents; plenty of room and an excellent base for so, so many beautiful walks, villages and towns to visit and attractions to explore. The family who own the property (and live next door) are unobtrusive (adding to the feeling of isolation, which I love) but are literally a stone throw away if needed; and were so helpful when we had a flat tyre on the last day, last year!!
We have stayed in lots of properties in north Wales over the past few years but this is by far my favourite; home from home with the added bonus of Welsh magicalness!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is uplifting when people enjoy Penybryn and say such nice things about it. We do work hard to keep it looking nice and it's great that this is appreciated. We hope very much that you can return again to enjoy the cottage that you so obviously love. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCEK
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Genuinely sad to leave”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful house and surroundings! It was like a home from home and we can't thank the owners enough for their friendliness and hospitality during our stay. We went with four children and although the weather wasn't the greatest, there was still plenty to keep them busy both around the house and within a short drive - mountains, lakes, seaside are all within easy reach and there are some nice walks around the house. Even the windy road to reach the house was part of the experience.
There is so much I could write, but suffice to say you won't be disappointed.
Diolch yn fawr iawn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect in all respects
Liked least: I honestly can't think of any negatives (apart from the weather on a couple of days!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we're really glad when people have had a good time, especially since you had four children to keep amused! We hope even when the weather isn't at its best, that the house itself overlooking the mountains and valley, and the local amenities, keep people happy. We hope to see you again someday. Diolch i chi hefyd.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;