We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i guess i'm spoilt....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mona Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mona Pavilions
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berriedale
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“i guess i'm spoilt....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

this was a birthday present from my husband - 4 nights in Esmond. the pavilion was nice, comfortable, well appointed, but i still have a few gripes. we arrived later than advised due to flight problems, so we got there around 11pm instead of 9.30. it was hard to find where to go to check in. it was a dark and stormy night... and we'd been travelling for hours. we eventually went and knocked on our neighbour's door, and finally someone from reception found us. the pavilion was one of the new ones, and was tastefully decorated. however the sheets almost seemed starched, and were so noisy and stiff whenever i moved that i spent the first night on the couch. next gripe was the teapot - same in the restaurant. very pretty, but they only hold 1.5 small cups, and when i want tea, i want a mug. the tea in the pavilion was in little containers. i would have been much happier with some Twinings tea bags and a mug. finally, there's no apparent heating in the bathroom, and that seems like an oversight in Tassie. it was not our first visit to Hobart, so we knew the location, but a car would be a must if you are staying. the restaurant was good and the staff were helpful. the museum was NOT interesting to us, in fact there was little there i liked, and a lot i disliked. this of course is a very personal view, and others may love it. it's certainly challenging. we enjoyed the Moorilla wines and the Moo brew.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VFlaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    29
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
147
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
dantey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in Esmond. I'm sure they're all great. Everything about the place is great.

I think the Carpet said it all: "Apropos of nothing, it's nice to have you here. Thanks, we need the money."

It really did feel nice to be had. Even a small glitch in the super sophisticated hi tech room control system (which beeped in the night), couldn't detract from a sublime getaway.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

My family and I (2 adults and 2 kids, 10 and 7) stayed for 2 niights in January in the Brett Whitely pavillion. We loved the view, the gadgets, the sleek finish of the pavillion. The bathtub had amazing views over the lake and the whizz bang TV and audio system delighted the kids. You can borrow the latest DVDs from reception, Aesop toiletries, breakfast at The Source (brilliant) was included as was tours to the winery, brewery on-site and entry to MONA. There was so much to do in our time there, we nearly ran out of time to visit MONA itself! MONA is fantastic, both the museum and pavillions.Suitable for families with kids but take care with toddlers as our Pavillion had steep steps to the second floor.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

MONA is not just a great reason to go to Tasmania - I'd rank it as a great reason to come to Australia if you're in the neighbourhood. Staying in one of the pavillions maximises the experience.
Although the museum isn't open on Tuesdays, we stayed that night at was the one night that still had availability when we booked and that suited our schedule.
We wandered around in the late afternoon, getting a sense of the space and outdoor art works (see photo from the current Wim Delvoye exhibition), then sat on our deck enjoying the river view and light food that we'd bought in Salamanca Place that morning. The restaurant was also closed but room service was available had we wanted it.
It was fantastic to have such works of art (in our case, a sizable Arthur Boyd work on canvas) and artifacts in our room - this goes way beyond the usual 'art hotel' decor, if that's what you're imagining when reviewers talk about the works in the room.
Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent and very filling (no lunch needed that day!) and being pavilion guests we could jump to the front of the queue to get into the museum when it opened. Locals tell us of spending a whole day there and it needs at least half a day.
Having written all that positive comment, the reception staff have a bit of a superior attitude that rankled. Reminded us of some gallery staff one encounters sometimes whose image of their role is not aligned with customers'. I'm not seeking false enthusiasm (that's not the Australian style) but nonetheless warmth and welcome as well as information.
We also didn't sleep well as there's a path light outside the bedroom window of the Arthur pavilion that shines in the window if you have the blind open, and if you don't have it open the room becomes stuffy, necessitating opening the deck doors which might make some people uncomfortable and which brought in too much wind later in the night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MymAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We are locals and were wanting something very special for a celebration. This place is it! Could not fault anything, very comfortable, private and views to die for. This would have to be one of the best places we have stayed in Australia and its in our own state. The furnishings are top quality and very comfortable. The Christmas exhibitions in the Museum were very interesting!! A top class tourist attraction and something very special for locals. The complimentary bottle of wine was a lovely touch. The meal we had in our room (restaurant was closed) was top quality. Breakfast in the Source restaurant was perfect. Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone especially for a special occassion.

Room Tip: Any room would be perfect, as they all have incredible views and are all very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berriedale
9.8 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
10.3 km away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#6 of 46 in Hobart
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
9.7 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
9.6 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
9.6 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mona Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mona Pavilions

Property: Mona Pavilions
Address: 655 Main Rd, Berriedale, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Berriedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berriedale
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,156 - ₹ 43,691
Hotel Class:5 star — Mona Pavilions 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MONA Pavilions. The eight MONA pavilions overlook the Derwent River and feature artwork from the MONA collection. Four are named for architects who have influenced Australia's architectural landscape: Roy (Grounds), Robin (Boyd), Esmond (Dorney) and Walter (Burley Griffin). The original four pavilions: Arthur (Boyd), Brett (Whiteley), Charles (Blackman) and Sidney (Nolan), have been completely refurbished. All have access to the heated infinity lap pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mona - the gallery and all site facilities are closed on Tuesdays. The Pavilions are open with breakfast still served and in room food and beverage option available for house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mona Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mona Pavilions Hotel Berriedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing