We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Etrip
Booking.com
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
12
2
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
2
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room walk along the beach excellent stay north cliff hangout rs rickshaw property sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2022

A beautiful sea side hotel, even though kitchen is very small - the chef cooks good food.

Room are somewhat ok, there is no power backup in case of outage - we were in dark for 1 hour - which I didnt like. Owner assures to get it done in future.

staff helps out with all baggage, very helpful with giving out information as well.

Would definitely recommend for the sea side view and hangout

Room tip: Choose a sea view room
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShreyasAnanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 April 2022 via mobile

We worked from Pura Vida for two weeks. It was a memorable stay. The ocean views are amazing from the room. We took the family room. It had an extra room with bathroom which worked perfectly since we were three of us and everyone had enough space. Karthik, the property manager, was super helpful and has really set the bar for hospitality. At the end of the trip, we felt like we were living in our own house. They have a restaurant on the property. The food is great, and tastes like home cooked food, but the menu doesn't have any local food options. Beach is easily accessible via a flight of stairs. The property is on the South cliff, which is the Quieter part of Varkala, but it worked for us, since we had the beach to ourselves. Anytime we wanted to go to the north cliff, you could walk along the beach for 15 mins, or take the rickshaw for 100rs. The wifi was great. The property has a beautiful lawn which we used to play cricket, frisbee or relax on the chairs. Overall, definitely recommending a stay at this place.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank wannabemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 March 2022

We worked from the property for a week and it was spectacular. There were 3 of us so we took the family room which is a large room with a smaller room attached and 2 bathrooms. It was very spacious, clean and very well maintained. The property is very beautiful and you can see the ocean from the rooms. The manager Kartik was very helpful and went out of his way to give us anything we needed. He even allowed us to take his bike one night when we had to go into town. The kitchen staff does not make local food however everything we ordered was delicious. The resort is close to the beach, it's a 2 mins trek downhill 7 mins uphill, the steps are a little steep but manageable. It is located ont he South Cliff, which is 10 mins away from where all the activity is. But that means you get the entire beach to yourself. If you want to go to the north you can take a rickshaw for Rs, 100 or walk along the beach for around 15 mins, the walk is rather wonderful. Overall it was a great experience and i highly recommend it to anyone visiting Varkala.

Room tip: best views, relaxing setup
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 398malikaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

We booked in for 5 nights and had to cut the visit short and head back to Chennai after 2 nights. But the staff were great and very helpful.

The room we had (A/C on the first floor) was large, had a good bathroom and a great balcony for whiling away the days or evenings. The food is good enough although quite limited - if we had stayed for the full 5 nights we would have wandered along to some of the other places on the South Cliffs for a bit of variety.

The tourist action is on the North Cliffs and this is a 20 minute walk of a couple of minutes in a Tuk Tuk. This is a much quieter place.

The steps down to the beach are very steep (but all the steps are steep along the South Cliffs) and quite long so you need to be reasonably comfortable with irregular steps. The beach is pretty deserted and you can walk for miles along it to the south seeing a couple of fishing villages without being hassled and it is cleaner than further North (North Cliffs) underneath the restaurants and coffee bars.

The waves are petty robust and the rip is strong - not really a place for leisurely swimming unless you are very comfortable in the sea and / or good / confident enough to get out past the breakers.

In summary: very comfortable and pleasant but with steep steps to a beach that you need to be a confident swimmer for.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GavinJ594
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 March 2020

Pura Vida is a brand new hotel with gorgeous rooms and great food! Shiba runs the joint and is one of the coolest bosses and will handle any and everything for the guests. The service here is top notch with all of the cool staff. The view is impeccable with the cliffs leading to the ocean just out your door :)

Room tip: If you want AC I suggest you let them know in advance.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billythekid1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews