We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A difficult one to review..... beware the beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Weston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bulkington
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked this hotel as a stop-over on the way further north and the location was ideal. The hotel is tucked away at the end of a residential road and pretty easy to find using a map or sat nav.
The building looks impressive on arrival and the check-in procedure was straightforward. The room was barely big enough to fit the bed but I was not expecting a suite so no major complaints there. The toiletries in the bathroom were good and the room was clean although it did smell like it had been used as a smoking room or someone had been smoking in it i.e.: musty with a mix of soem sort of freshener.
We ate a bar meal which was good value and served by friendly staff and then went back to the room to find it rather cold. Upon ringing reception they did start the radiator up again which assisted but it would be nice to have some control yourself of the room temperature.
It was getting into bed that started the problem - the mattress was fit for one thing only, and that was a skip. It was without doubt the worst mattress I have ever had the misfortune to sleep on - it felt like there was no padding whatsoever between the springs and us. We had to try it as it was late, we were shattered and the thought of changing rooms was the greater of two evils.
Needless to say sleep was not plentiful and to top it off from about 0630 in the morning a firedoor repeatedly slammed shut as people went through it. It was a shocking night and completely ruined the stay.
I mentioned this to the manager who said "I will reflect that in your bill" gave a £25 refund (the room charge was around £80) which I was unhappy about but by the time I checked out he had left. The receptionist said that she felt it was a comfortable mattress as she sometimes slept in there and was surprised but offered to try and increase the discount. The IT wasn't working (that does happen to be fair!) so I left it with her and waited for a call.
Best Western did offer a refund so I am happy that they took the time to respond along with the hotel and I wouldn't want to detract from the friendly staff but overall I can't rate this higher than average I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Unless the mattress has been replaced in Room 1 since March 2012 (and I would check other rooms) I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snobbyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Manager at Best Western Weston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Snobbyrob,

Thank you for your review, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We are currently looking at replacing many of the bed & mattress in our current refurbishment plan.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Ian Bednall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 464 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay, which we purchased through KGB, and wish we could have stayed longer.
We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon, and after a little wait, due to the extremely busy Carvery restaurant, checked into our ground floor room. A little on the small side, but well furnished, and complete with complimentary tray including bottled water and biscuits.
The hotel is a little faded, but this adds to its its indisputable charm.
The hotel is set in its own grounds and is very peaceful tranquil,and is ideally located to visited many of the surrounding areas.
The restaurant is closed on Sunday evening, however, we enjoyed huge platefuls of well cooked food in the bar, served by a charming and very helpful and attentive waitress.
Breakfast was excellent, and again, served by a very helpful waitress who was a mine of local information and knowledge.
All the staff were very helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.
If only other hotels were like this.
Will definitely stay again. Well done to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Manager at Best Western Weston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear allybar,

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay & we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Ian Bednall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Booked two rooms here using groupon, £59 per room BB plus wine when dining. We were given two very nice rooms, one a four poster. The hotel itself is a very interesting and charming old building. Staff were all very helpfull and friendly. We ate on both nights from the table d'hote menu which was excellent value at £17,95 for two courses (couldn't cope with three) with a very good choice of dishes. The food itself was well presented and very good quality. Would definitely use this hotel again if staying in the area and we could get a similar offer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Manager at Best Western Weston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Moray1,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Ian Bednall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Spent two lovely nights here on the weekend of 24th 25th March. Beautiful building in really quiet surroundings. The first night there was an ABBA tribute band and a DJ in the main hall/restaurant. Great show and the food was of a good standard. Waiters and waitresses were all polite helpful and attentive. Our room was as would be expected in an old building, decorated and furnished in keeping with the age of the building. Sattelite TV, a trouser press, an ironing board and iron, kettle and plenty of plug sockets and clothes hanging space were provided. When we closed the curtains and switched the light off at night it was extremely dark which was a real help when going to sleep. Breakfast was a pleasure, plenty of options and again polite and helpful staff. The front desk printed off quite q few maps for us to help on our days out and were quite knowledgable re local towns and attractions. All in all a lovely place and we would definitely book there again or recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 47 was perfect for us due to its lack of street or ambient lighting outside, although the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Le Bert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Manager at Best Western Weston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Le Bert M,

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.

Ian Bednall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Having booked just two nights in this beautiful hotel ,we realised it wasnt enough time , The staff were absolutely brilliant nothing was too much trouble for them .
Breakfast was everything and more . full english breakfast done how you like it ,fresh fruit , yoghurt's, cereals, muffins and toast .
The reception staff were polite and only too happy to help whenever needed .
The hotel is set in stunning grounds picturesque and beautifully kept.
We were there when an abba tribute night was on three course meal and a full nights entertainment cost us £25 each .
recommend this hotel to any and all

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, General Manager at Best Western Weston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Sandra D,

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our entertainment. we are hoping to run this offer again over the Christmas Period. we look forward to welcoming you back.


Ian Bednall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulkington
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nuneaton
5.5 km away
Chase Hotel
Chase Hotel
#10 of 12 in Nuneaton
199 reviews
6.4 km away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
6 km away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
13.6 km away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Weston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Weston Hall Hotel

Address: Weston Lane, Bulkington, Nuneaton CV12 9RU, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton > Bulkington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bulkington
Price Range: ₹ 3,672 - ₹ 9,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Weston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Weston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coventry
Coventry Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing