We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great massage! ”

Yayasan Ayo Mandiri
Attraction details
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

One of the best massage I have had during my travel around Asia. The place is not very luxurious but have very nice atmosphere and it's possible to take a nice warm shower after the massage.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank mariaulrikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"foot scrub"
in 3 reviews
"strong massage"
in 2 reviews
"amazing massage"
in 2 reviews
"hot shower"
in 2 reviews
"acupressure"
in 4 reviews
"masseuse"
in 11 reviews
"workshop"
in 2 reviews
"facial"
in 2 reviews
"indonesia"
in 4 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2016

“When even the physically fit and mentally sound finds it difficult to land a job these days it is better to write off the prospects of the handicapped,” says Kasim Mambut, owner of Ayo Mandiri Massage Centre. Then this is exactly what Kasim refuses to do – write them off. His centre in Labuan Bajo in Flores trains the moderate to the extremely challenged people to be masseurs. “The only condition is that their hands should be normal.” So far Ayo Mandiri has trained blind youth to the wheelchair-bound to be masseurs. “Our reflexologists are a big hit with the hotels and we have a very loyal clientele. Ayo Mandiri does brisk business and none of it comes from sympathy,” Kasim says with notable pride.
Martinus, Kasim’s assistant manager sitting next to him, smiles broadly. “See, Martinus doesn’t smile generally but he is very happy for the season has been very good.” Martinus guffaws now. The partially blind Martinus is also the chief trainer at Ayo Mandiri. “Our training is very thorough and intense. Upon successful completion the students are issued certificates too,” Martinus says. Those who complete the course are first placed on probation and their techniques checked for a couple of months, if found wanting they are called back to the centre to refresh. This thoroughness in approach has paid off handsomely: Ayo Mandiri pass outs have so far found work not just with local hospitality properties but in tourist capitals like Bali and Jakarta too.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Wanderink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We decided to do the mini-massage-workshop which started with a 60 minute massage (not just a massage, almost physio therapy - really good!), afterwards we decided to focus on back massage and step by step learned different tecniques. We could repeat again and again to remember step by step.
It is a really nice way to spend time in Labuan Bajo apart from diving and the busy "city center".

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Daniela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We had two 60 min full body massages (150,000 Rp each) and two 30 minute foot massages (120,000 Rp each) while in town for 6 days and enjoyed our massages.

This place was started by a Dutch woman in 2007 and trains locals with disabilities to be professional massage therapists and then to teach other disabled persons as well in their home villages so that they can all make a living. It's a great mission worth supporting. Our therapists were very friendly and even gave us hugs and kisses after our last massage.

Only a few folks speak English so it might be worthwhile to translate "I want a strong/soft massage" before you arrive (though some of the therapists are deaf). The prices are higher than what you might find in Bali, but the facility is very clean. Just gesture to the air conditioning to have them turn it on if you're hot in their massage rooms.

The location is about a 5-10 minute walk from the Main Street but very easy to find. We suggest that you book in advance. Cash only.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank euph222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I both did a 90 min balinese massage and were very happy of the service. My boyfriend says that he had the best massage ever and that the masseur was able to unknot his back!

Highly recommended place!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yayasan Ayo Mandiri also viewed

Labuan Bajo, Flores
 
Labuan Bajo, Flores
Labuan Bajo, Flores
 

Been to Yayasan Ayo Mandiri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing