We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
177
18
3
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
18
3
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastello distunning viewshermes toiletriesexcellent servicebreakfast roomwine regionguest roomswonderful experiencemagnificent hotelperfect stayoriginal furnituremy favoriteprivate terracehotels around the worldweather reportattention to detailfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018

A Relais & Chateaux property, this is truly a luxury option.  It is one of two castle-hotel options in the area (the other being Castello di Sinio), and fully decked out in all its original 18 century Medieval glory.  You will be sleeping under an upholstered canopy in a gold-gilded bed. It also has a lovely grotto'd pool and spa, and a beautiful garden and fountain overlooking the Langhe hills and distant Alps. Breakfast is a delight with a abundant and delicious buffet served on a patio with that same dreamy view. And though there are many wonderful restaurants in the area, it is worth making time for dinner in their dining room as well.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelloDiGuarene, Direttore at Hotel Castello di Guarene, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review. Making our Guests' stays special is what we try to do day by day, as we are so lucky and manage such an unique property. We are happy your stay met you expectations: we hope we'll have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Rita Pili

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Located on the very top of the hill, offers great choice of rooms with nice classic interiors. Very well maintained. Super service, friendly and almost immediate. Fantastic pool in the artificial grotto with small sun bathing terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Max120368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelloDiGuarene, Responsabile reception at Hotel Castello di Guarene, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Max,
thank you very much for your review. We are happy your stay was nice, and hope to see you soon in the future.

Kindest regards,
Mauro Tezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We needed a good stop as we had left Monaco the night before with a bitter taste in our mouths about how much money we had pointlessly wasted on both a hotel and stopping there and wow did we get what we were hoping for at Castello di Guarene. It is just the most fantastic place to stay.

After a wonderful drive from Monaco and in from the coast, the excitement starts to build as from about 15km away, it is suddenly clear that the far off house on top of a hill is your destination for the evening and that you are about to visit the most magical place.

On arrival at Guarene, we were greeted by incredibly friendly and helpful team, check in was a breeze and you are shown to your room which is as all the pictures suggest it will be, the bed was large and incredibly comfortable. It is a big house but the large guest bedrooms are seemingly mostly at ground floor level with little private terraces separated by neat hedges. Even the bathrooms are decked out in complete opulence with wonderful Hermes toiletries. This is big room rate for the night at Eur430 but it was worth every cent for the room and terrace alone.

The views from all around the property are simply breathtaking. We walked around in awe of them for a full hour. I had never visited Piedmont before and this was a wondrous way to be introduced to it.

The bit I can't really convey is that the immediate sense you get at Guarene despite all its obvious comfort is this inherent air of relaxation. It is just so so chilled. You are aware of other guests but it is not obvious where they are. It feels more as though you have lucked out that some family friends have invited you to their incredible Italian pad in the country for the weekend.

If I have one criticism of the property it is that it does not capitalise on its incredible location, I am sure there are very valid reasons for this but the pool is underground in a bizarre little grotto, accessed from the rooms by an impressive tunnel and there is no outside bar to relax at ahead of a meal. I would have put both in places to capitalise on the view but it is likely this would affect the sanctity of the grounds and the house... which are so special, their preservation is the priority. We grabbed a drink from the internal bar.. and headed to find a couple of chairs next to the views before supper but I spent some of the evening looking at the terrace where breakfast is taken, thinking that an amazing little temporary bar could be put there. The problem is purely that the bar is in a window-less room, as is the sitting area, the passage to the spa and the pool so it is really only a small terrace next to the pool and the private room terrace you have that allow you to enjoy the views from the hotel facilities.

Other than that, the staff were all excellent, charming and incredibly helpful. The tone is to leave you to your own devices to relax but to be there should you ask.

We ate in the restaurant and had an excellent meal that was very reasonably priced for its quality. We did not manage to eat locally for comparison purposes but left full and happy after a lovely evening.

For us it was a perfect stay and we will be back as soon as we can be. We just cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: They all looked brilliant.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlosRetiredProp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelloDiGuarene, Direttore at Hotel Castello di Guarene, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear Guest,
what can we say? We are really happy your stay was so good and helped you to forget other bad experiences elsewhere.

Regarding the criticism, there are two main reasons why we don't have an outdoor swimming pool with bar: the first one is, we must and we want respect the history of the place. The palace and the grounds are protected by the government, moreover we want them to be as "original" as possible. Moreover, it is always a bit windy here - which is great in Summer, but does not really allow to use an outdoor swimming pool for more than 30-40 days a year.

We hope we will see you again in the future, perhaps to try Winter, lit fireplaces, the snow on the grounds... it is even more magical.

Kind regards,
Rita Pili

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

This place is simply magical. The castle is magnificent and our room was amazing. We had a large terrace with sweeping views of Roero. The staff was present but not overbearing. The grounds were beautiful and calm. My only regret is not staying longer since we didn't have much time to enjoy a breakfast or dinner or enjoy the spa in order to allow for touring the incredible Piedmonte wine region. I cannot wait until I have another opportunity to visit this property.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 77SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelloDiGuarene, Direttore at Hotel Castello di Guarene, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review. We are happy you liked so much the property and the staff. We cannot but invite you to come again for a longer stay!

Kind regards,
Rita Pili

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

After two stays at this hotel I can highly recommend it. The rooms are museum like and grand, also very comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit small however that did not matter. The location is a great base for exploring the region. The hotel has a good restaurant and selection of wines. I look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JM0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelloDiGuarene, Responsabile reception at Hotel Castello di Guarene, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Guest,
they say the second stay is the most difficult for Hotels, because we have to support the expectations generated by the first. This is why we are particularly happy for this review!
We hope to see you a third, a fourth time.

Kind regards,
Mauro Tezzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews