We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beach and lighthouse walk

Went with my three year old. Took about 2 hours from surf club. Most of the time she was on my... read more

Reviewed 14 September 2018
Ben S
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
A view to die for

You must visit the lighthouse for its historical past and enjoy the best scone and jam with ice... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2018
Jurre2014
,
New South Wales, Australia
Read all 35 reviews
  
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
21
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide great walk surf club your feet tides moment reachable sand views beach picnic
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The lighthouse is marvellous. We went in October, so it was whale season. We were blessed enough to see several whales from the shore. We could see their water spouts as they exhaled through their blow holes. However, we were treated with several breaches from adults as well as a small whale calf.

My suggestion, go during the relevant times, as the only way to the lighthouse is the spit, and this is covered by water on high tide. Going during whale season is also a treat. The Fingal Bay spit is amazing as you can see waves breaking on either side of the beach! However, please bear in mind that this is a significant walk through soft sand and there is also a sight incline as you walk onto the island.

The Long Boat is also a great place to refuel afterwards.

1  Thank G5920IKalbyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Went with my three year old. Took about 2 hours from surf club. Most of the time she was on my shoulders. There is plenty of sand at the moment. Even 4 hours before low tide you could keep your feet dry. This could change with the next big storm.

1  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

You must visit the lighthouse for its historical past and enjoy the best scone and jam with ice cream/cream. The view and the cool breeze will have you wanting to come back again and again.

Thank Jurre2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

My wife and I parked near the surf club of Fingal beach. We walked along the beach and over Fingal Spit. Make sure you cross just before low tide, giving you ample time to cross and then walk to the lighthouse. A great slow walk. We are not fit. Took it slow. It was about a 2 hr round trip.

2  Thank Rochelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely walk across Fingal Spit and onto the lighthouse. Easy walk and not too long. Please ensure you check you are walking at low tide and have enough time to return across the Spit.

2  Thank Quieaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Only reachable when the tide it out. It’s worth walking to this lighthouse to enjoy the view this area has to offer.

Thank Heather560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Elegant lighthouse with an incredible view. People say that its also possible see whales and dolphins. To get there its necessary to walk, but totally worth it. Good for picnic and sunsets.

Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Check the tides are safe so that you don't get stranded by a rising tide. There are no facilities on the island in spite of what peanuts have posted about the Inner Light tea room. They have posted to the wrong lighthouse!!

1  Thank MW1338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Great views, found awesome shells. Can be dangerous to walk across dependent on the tides. Best to go with someone and take your mobile

Thank Tamara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Our family of 5 walked from Fingal Bay to the Lighthouse on a lovely Winters afternoon. Definitely worth the walk.

1  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews