We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We went to Panviman for a little getaway in the middle of the week. We got a "Mountain View Deluxe" room which has a nice sitting room off to one side. The room was spacious and clean with lots of windows for natural light. It was a great place to relax and read a book, which I did. The resort is set on a hillside, so you either have to ride in one of the little vans they use to drive up and down the hill or walk... the climb is quite steep. The grounds are beautiful and the view are nice. There's a lot of games to play on the premises too. This was a nice way to have a little fun. The pool and spa area were beautiful with a beautiful view of the Bon Yeang valley.

Panviman is also close to lots of tourist attractions such as the Mae Sa Elephant camp. I like cycling and I had my bike with me, so I took it up on the "Sameong Loop"...some world class cycling.

All in all, I think the it was well worth it. The price was right, the location is great... I loved it!

Room Tip: Get a Mountain View Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theonemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    140
    41
    20
    16
See reviews for
111
216
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

PanvimanChiang Mai

One and a half hour away from Chiang Mai city, high up in the hills this organic food resort is a little shangrila-la. This was our second year here. We smiled delighted as we walked into the the reception and were warmly welcomed by the two lady receptionists (new to us) and the gentleman supervisor who also took charge. As we sat down to sip the Thai herbal welcome drink our eyes took in the tranquil, aesthetically designed decor and atmosphere, our bodies breathed in the crisp fresh air, and the cool climes worked into our souls relaxing us at once.
'Away from polluted City' syndrome! Our delight increased further as we were given the jacuzzi suite as the room we had booked was taken and not vacated for whatever reason.
We just had one major request which we had already emailed weeks before - there being only
one restaurant at this hotel would the chef please pay attention to the fact that one of us was a strict vegetarian which meant no fish,eggs, seafood etc. This was the one request which
seemed to have fallen on deaf ears but more on that later. The second request which was to
give us a room with a view, had been taken note of, probably that could have been the reason
we got the lovely villa. The method of travel from room to restaurant to spa is via small vans
provided by the hotel.
The room was beautiful with a jacuzzi outside on the wooden deck overlooking the hills. Very
imaginative but we decided against using this as we had noticed during our shower that the hot water in the hotel suddenly cools down and it is a while before it starts again. There is a hot
kettle and complimentary tea and coffee provided in the room. Spacious and well designed with a comfortable relaxing swing on the deck we quickly settled down to 'chill' and enjoy the
landscape, twittering birds, refreshing fresh air and the lovely steep walks the undulating land
provided.
Breakfast is served in the open restaurant. It is well done with 7different delicious types of
breads. Service here is not the best, the waitresses appear tired and avoid eye contact not so
much out of shyness but it seemed to us as if another order of tea or coffee would come forth
from the guests if they looked our way! There were two French families traveling together with
their kids who also noticed this and took charge by just ordering the waitresses around -it
seemed to work as they got quick service. We had tried to be friendly, chatty and decent but
this strategy worked sporadically.
A visit to the spa was a must. This is where Shangri-La is! Nestled in the valley with the sound
of water all around the spa is a heavenly experience. As a fellow traveller put it"it is a
combination of professionalism, gentleness and true hospitality". From the time your hill van
drops you there you are greeted warmly,offered a hot herbal tea as you sit down to choose a
treatment. There are good value packages being offered and we choose the foot reflexology
massage combined with a body massage. Two hours of bliss! You really don't want to leave
this place which is masterfully designed to soothe the senses.
On another note, an irritating little problem surfaced more than once. Rooms were not being
done on return or even when we called a few times asking for this. There seemed no reason
for this as we noticed an adequate number of housekeeping staff around, but maybe they were short of staff. Can't say.
Come evening, everyone is hungry the air makes you hungry. And then the negatives begin: the vegetarian printed menu needs to be revisited by management. A green curry normally has
shrimp paste so vegetarians avoid that. Mushrooms are not a favorite with vegetarians as many are allergic to them. The rest of the choice offered is incomplete as a balanced meal as
no protein item is offered. We requested to meet the chef and finally when he came he got together tofu and broccoli with a delicious vegetable fried rice. I requested him to think of a
couple of more dishes for the next two nights we were in the hotel. He nodded a yes. Next
afternoon we sat around the lovely out side area at reception and asked for satay tofu for lunch. We were refused. That same night at dinner time when we asked for the chef and got the reply that he was busy and couldn't come! So we fished out our iPad and looked up some
recipes. We then made a suggestion. It was refused. Now we were very angry. After some drama he agreed to dunk tofu and vegetables in a tomato spaghetti sauce! So much for the
world famous delicious Thai food and hospitality! Why is a balanced vegetarian meal so difficult
in a land which has so many Buddhists in it? How and Why does the chef of a high end resort hotel actso high handed and gets away with it? Why does a hotel let a guest lose all my sense of happiness and fulfillment with such a simple request not being met? Do we as a family, deserve that when we are out on a holiday (paying a good amount of hard earned money),
we are not treated well? Why travel at all then? The entire idea of an excellent travel and
service industry is to treat guests with respect,consideration and offer a home away from home. But our chef here seemed to have missed this very important aspect of his job. A crying
shame.
In conclusion- if you are looking for just some physical beauty and comfort this is the place to
be. But if you have even an iota of a difference in your dietary needs (and food, we feel, is an important part of a good holiday), this hotel is not where you want to go.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingstarMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Just stayed one night In steam villa. The room was quite big, 80.5 sq.m. But the bath room and toilet wasn't as big as it should be. The service was quite poor since the receptionist that didn't describe how to use the steam room and let the guests tried it themselves.
The hotel gave us only 2 bottles of drinking water, if we needed more, we would have to pay. It made me quite disappointed because every single luxury hotel I had stayed always provided it to us for free.
Moreover, there was no turn down services. Therefore, when I returned from dinner, I found that my room was in the same condition as I left.
The BF was just only 3 star hotel standard. No variety at all.
I won't recommend this hotel to my friend. It didn't offer value for money their guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supattaree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san carlos, california
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Just stayed at this great hotel for 3 nights, it was a great experience
The staff was wonderful, no language issues like in other posts. The food was very good and the views from restaurant wow!!!
We were upgraded to a jacuzzi suite room 1208 awesome room!!!!!!
I will be back to this hotel next year for sure

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nordicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Nestled high in the mountains above Chiang Mai, the Panviman is absolute luxury. It's quiet, the service is fabulous, the pool area is amazing and the spa is THE BEST I've ever visited (and I do consider myself somewhat of a spa connoisseur). You also have the added pleasure of eating breakfast overlooking the beautiful valley below you.

Now for the "but".... It is a loooong way from anywhere. We (unwisely) didn't arrange out own car prior to booking this holiday. The only transport down to Chiang Mai is via a twice daily shuttle for 400b each. There is also no other food options in the area so you are forced to eat at the hotel (which is also very nice but a bit more expensive).

We did love our time at the Panviman. If you are looking for somewhere completely secluded I would thoroughly recommend Panviman. If you do like to do a bit of exploring (as we did) either find somewhere a bit closer to town or hire a car.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Jane075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
24.2 km away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
23.9 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
22.7 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
0.3 km away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
11.3 km away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort

Property: Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Address: 197/2 Moo 1 Tambol Pongyeang, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,084 - ₹ 27,993
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort is a secluded mountain resort set on 70 rai of pristine terrain in the Mae Rim valley, 30 km. from downtown Chiang Mai. While at the resort, guests will feel as though they have entered into a higher place of existence, The Thai word "Panviman" means, in fact," as if you are in heaven" The environs at Panviman are utterlly natural and you will find yourself surrounded by evergreen and teak trees, flower and vegetables grown in the area, a farming community, and hill tribe villagers. What's more, the resort is endowed with cool weather, a remote location and a relaxing atmosphere. Panviman s devided into two distinct areas- a Lanna style spa and an Ayudhaya-style resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort Chiang Mai Province/Mae Rim, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing