We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boring stay (young couple)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boring stay (young couple)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Read the good reviews from TA, booked then stay 3 nights. First impression was great, gardens, lake and trees, what a natrual environment!

However, later found out the resort is soooo isolated, far from twon and nothing nearby, got no choices have to dine in the only one restaurant at the resort, which the food was not tasty, with boring menus and overpriced.

There is no activities inside the hotel at all, they do arrange some tours going out, but in the resort itself is very very boring.

Might suit olderies to escape city life but not for young ones.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sino-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    80
    28
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
71
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Level Contributor
282 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 for a week after being really tired out with our work. This resort provided the refreshment we needed .... from the unique lakeside villa accommodation to the swimming pool to the glorious and well-priced food in the restaurant. It was so peaceful in a secluded location yet also conveniently located not far from the main road.
This place should not be missed.
One day we had trouble with our air con and the service man turned up in less than a minute to fix it. In the end he couldn't, so they moved us to another villa, which still a very comfortable rest for us. If you would like to be adventurous it is worth hiring their motorcycle and driving up the mountain - lots of awesome scenery and other attractions along the road :-)
Will definitely visit this peaceful and clean place again

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little more for the Lakeside Suites - their verandas are nested over the lake a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scobie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked this hotel for a spa treat after lots of "activity" in the city of Chiang Mai.

The room we had was lovely (lake view) with a lounge area with sofa, coffee table, tv and patio doors which opened onto our private veranda. The only thing that let the room down was the small bathroom and noisy a/c and no option of a fan.

The setting is private with nice, well kept gardens and two pools. One of the reasons we booked this resort was for the sauna which unfortunately, was not working.

The evening meals were not satisfactory. We ordered fish and chips which was full of msg and in-edible. The couple on the table next to us ordered something different and they were disappointed for the same reason also. The evening meals are overpriced and poor quality.

Breakfast is excellent, although there was a buffet one day we were there which was poor.

The manager was conspicuous in his absence. The staff in the restaurant are absolutely fantastic but with limited English so it would have been nice to have a matre-dee to help these charming waiters/waitresses out.

There was some convention at the weekend we were there and a party in the evening which did not disturb our stay. What did disturb us was the mini bus drivers (several of them) playing music and "hanging" around the pool table making quite a bit of noise in the evening and early the following morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluweyze, General Manager at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, especially as the fish and chips has been a very popular meal. I must point out that we do not use msg in our kitchen and the fish was sourced from the main supplier to nearly all the main hotels in Chiang Mai.
I was surprised that you say the food is over-priced, most main dishes are between 120 and 200 Thai Baht ($4 to $6.5) and are very competitive against other 4* hotels in Chiang Mai. We don't have a maitre dee but we are a boutique resort.
What surprised me most was the comment on absent management. I normally work a 7 day week ensuring the smooth running of the resort and I meet quickly with guests who have a problem or need advice on tourist options. All guests need to do is request at the front desk to see me. I did spend 2 days away from the resort in March while my wife was in hospital in Bangkok but as I will work the other 29 days I don't consider this 'absent management'.
Fans are available on request to guests who prefer them. I can find no record of any complaint about noisy air-conditioning but we would have repaired it or moved rooms if there was a notified problem.
We have ensured that there will be no recurrence of noise from drivers and I apologise for any problem that was caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We loved this boutique resort. Set 30 minutes from the city it benefits from masses of trees, gardens and a divine little lake. Rooms are mostly villas,beautifully decorated in a light and airy way whilst retaining a measure of Thai-ness. The resort is so quite, walking to breakfast is an event in itself watching the birds feeding in the trees or looking up to the mountains.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful, they seemed to offer a natural friendliness.
The location was excellent as a base to visit the area attractions and we took the evening trip to the Night Bazaar for the obligatory shopping.
Wi-fi, DVD rental, boat and bicycle hire were all complimentary, a lovely touch.
There is a decent fitness room and a lovely little spa.
The resort was very individual but had the standards required for a comfortable stay. We will recommend this resort especially for families and couples.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our favorite place for a get-away! My husband and I visited Away Suansuan for a one night retreat...treat...for Valentine's. We live in the city of Chiangmai. We have visited many times and keep going back. The staff are friendly and remember us every time. The property is a paradise with a small lake, pools, gym etc. We love the lake side bungalows, sitting on the balcony over looking the water. With geese and fish to feed, we feel right at home.
I have also visited for business....the conference room is perfect for training, meetings.
The little touches? Delicious coffee and homemade bread...unusual in most places in the area!
Lovely decor and comfortable rooms...waking up to the sound of distant drums, birds...and NOTHING else!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
4.2 km away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 19 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 km away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 km away
Mae Rim Lagoon
Mae Rim Lagoon
#8 of 19 in Mae Rim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
#16 of 19 in Mae Rim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
11.3 km away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
1.5 km away
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ruen Ariya Resort
#17 of 19 in Mae Rim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 43/1 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Road | Maeram Subdistrict, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,055 - ₹ 2,889
Hotel Class:4 star — Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a relaxing, boutique, garden resort situated in the beautiful and tranquil Maerim Valley, a 30 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and in the centre of the wide range of Chiang Mai's attractions. Offering a full range of recreational activities the facilities include two swimming pools, a beautiful Thai spa, a fitness centre, a sauna, and a lakeside relaxation sala with library These facilities are surrounded by the finest relaxation environment and nature. The resort features 47 understated rooms & villas in huge sub-tropical surroundings with approximately 1,000 trees, an impressive lake, 3 fishponds and many garden areas with relaxing garden salas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province/Mae Rim, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing