We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character venue”
Review of Prested Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prested Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Certificate of Excellence
Home Counties UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Character venue”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Set in gloriously beautiful grounds with a very long sweeping drive, Prested Hall has a calming atmosphere from the word go. "Old English" would best describe the decor and very comfortable it is with soft welcoming couches and plenty of small coffee type table to help you settle down - just like home. The food is very tasty and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    102
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
163
191
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have just come back from an awat day at Prested Hall and we can't thank them enough. The staff were very helpful and attentive.

The room we booked was bright, airy and overlooked the grounds to the rear of the property. The food was excellent and plentiful.

We would definately use Prested Hall again. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had booked a business meeting at Prested Hall after reading good reviews about the food and location. We were all very disappointed to say the least. Our meeting room was freezing cold, we were told the heating was on and because it was an old house it would be cold, in fairness the member of staff did bring in 2 portable radiators which helped. Lunch was nice. There is no real bar area in the hotel resulting in you having to sit in what can be described as a 'lounge'. The whole hotel was cold at all times. The food in the restaurant in the evening was poor, with 3 out of 6 of our party leaving both their starters and main courses. We were told that drinks orders could not be taken when you are in the restaurant and if you want drinks you have to go to the bar! Not great service! One of the guests requested cheese instead of dessert, the response although polite was we have no cheddar, when asked if other cheeses were available she came back and send no they had run out of all cheese. Water was dripping from the ceiling in the main area, a bucket was simply placed under it. The rooms were all cold with all guests complaining they were cold in the night. 2 out of 6 of the guests also had no hot water in their rooms, when they complained they were simply told they would let their Manager know, no apology! The breakfast was also disappointing, the food appeared 'microwaved' and the eggs were crispy fried! All in all a bad experience and would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perestedaEssex, Owner at Prested Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
To have two heating problems in one day is an owner’s nightmare (as well as a guest’s) and, of course, we are extremely sorry that this happened. Unfortunately, it became clear the next day that our main gas boiler (less than 5 months old) had failed, and our Duty Manager should have realised this much sooner. Furthermore, we have a huge wood-burner as a back-up for really cold weather, which would have been lit had he done so. (We have, of course, taken up these issues with the staff concerned in no uncertain terms). The second problem was that the reviewer was staying in a room which is served by an independent water heater, and this chose, that self-same day, to spring a leak (so it had to be turned off, causing cold shower water!) As for the quality of the food and service, these areas are greatly important to us at Prested, and we are sad that someone should have been disappointed. We absolutely do not ask diners to fetch their drinks from the bar, any more than we think that as it’s an old house it’s OK to be cold – we don’t think that! It is only fair to add that other departing guests were complimentary to our receptionist on their departure and this overall satisfaction was re-iterated by the conference team leader (twice).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I just wanted to give testament to the wonderful treatment we had here over the weekend. We had an abrupt ending to our Valentine's Day weekend when my boyfriend's mother telephoned at 6.45am to say his father was seriously ill in hospital. Thus we had to wake up the staff, arrange an early breakfast (it was a 3 hour drive and my boyfriend was not capable of driving without first eating something) and check out. They responded with the utmost good grace, with the porter having to make us breakfast because the chef wasn't in yet, and even turning on the radio in the empty dining room so that we could listen to the traffic reports. I didn't see much of the hotel because we arrived after dark and left before light, but it seemed very comfortable and we had a good supper. We were staying in the charming Dingle room, which was very cosy despite being in the middle of a snowy wood! The dining room would probably benefit from a bit more atmosphere, but the hotel generally struck me as charming and the staff were extremely kind and friendly. I don't know what it cost because my boyfriend had surprised me with a Valentine's weekend away but it seemed to be good value as he was surprised that the expensive bottle of wine he had chosen was included in the bill. Thank you Prested Hall!

Room Tip: The Dingle rocks is really cool, although why does it have fuschia velvet curtains and battleship gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florencereally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I arrived at 1930ish on a Wednesday evening to be informed no food available. On our first morning my wife received a snotty call at 1130 asking what time we were leaving as checkout is at 1100, my wife's answer was were here for 2 nights! In the afternoon we decided to order a nice cream tea and sandwich selection from the bars menu to which we were told sorry you need to give us 2 days notice! On arrival we were told breakfast was 0700 to 1000 and as we arrived at breakfast at 0925 on the sevond morning a snotty waiter informed my that breakfast finishes at 0930! All in all just let down a bit by the poor customers service provided.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Artimus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perestedaEssex, Owner at Prested Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
This is very odd as virtually all reviews comment specifically about how excellent and helpful are the staff here. OK, so someone made a sliiy slip about the room booking, but surely not enough to warrant a complaint? And two witnesses heard the Duty Manager apologise (they say almost too profusely_ for the mistake. The guests were told when they arrived that because nobody had booked dinner our dining room was closed, but our health club 100 yards away was open for food. They were not told afternoon tea needed 2 days notice (and it doesn't); they were told it could be organised but not instantaneously.
We are a small operation and nearly everything is done to order else we would be serving things stale or throrwing away mountains of food.
And we do not have any snotty waiters; I simply would not employ anyone capable of being one.
Mike Carter, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feering
15.6 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
662 reviews
21.5 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
21.3 km away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
27.9 km away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prested Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prested Hall Hotel

Property: Prested Hall Hotel
Address: Prested Chase, Feering, Colchester C05 9EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Feering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,308 - ₹ 11,249
Hotel Class:3 star — Prested Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With contemporary style and comfort within an historic listed country house, this privately owned hotel sits discreetly amid 75 acres of Essex parkland, within 30 minutes of Stansted Airport. Partly surrounded by a moat, Prested Hall offers 15th and 18th century interiors, stunning Art Nouveau decor and elegant 1930s extensions. With 15 attractive en suite rooms and an adjacent health club,with additional serviced (Peresteda) apartments, the owners of Prested Hall have attempted to create a place of quality, where comfort, style and relaxation exist without cold formality. Hotel guests will find helpful staff, and attention to detail, with fresh flowers throughout the house, along with books to browse through, DVDs to borrow, real coffee in the rooms and, always, the pleasure of being away from city stress amid beautiful surroundings. Situated just off the A12, a 5 minute drive from Kelvedon station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prested Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prested Hall Colchester
Prested Hall Hotel Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing