We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prested Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 110
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Colchester Feering(Feering)(Great Value!)
US$ 69
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$ 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 126
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 77
US$ 75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
US$ 93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
US$ 85
US$ 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Drapers Hotel(Earls Colne)
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel(Braintree)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
474
123
20
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
474
123
20
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuewedding breakfastwedding coordinatorafternoon teaamazing weddingevents managerbridal suiteamazing venueguests commented on howevening buffetattic roomhealth clubnext morningspa breakthe main hotelbeautiful groundslovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have just come back from an awat day at Prested Hall and we can't thank them enough. The staff were very helpful and attentive.

The room we booked was bright, airy and overlooked the grounds to the rear of the property. The food was excellent and plentiful.

We would definately use Prested Hall again. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had booked a business meeting at Prested Hall after reading good reviews about the food and location. We were all very disappointed to say the least. Our meeting room was freezing cold, we were told the heating was on and because it was an old house it would be cold, in fairness the member of staff did bring in 2 portable radiators which helped. Lunch was nice. There is no real bar area in the hotel resulting in you having to sit in what can be described as a 'lounge'. The whole hotel was cold at all times. The food in the restaurant in the evening was poor, with 3 out of 6 of our party leaving both their starters and main courses. We were told that drinks orders could not be taken when you are in the restaurant and if you want drinks you have to go to the bar! Not great service! One of the guests requested cheese instead of dessert, the response although polite was we have no cheddar, when asked if other cheeses were available she came back and send no they had run out of all cheese. Water was dripping from the ceiling in the main area, a bucket was simply placed under it. The rooms were all cold with all guests complaining they were cold in the night. 2 out of 6 of the guests also had no hot water in their rooms, when they complained they were simply told they would let their Manager know, no apology! The breakfast was also disappointing, the food appeared 'microwaved' and the eggs were crispy fried! All in all a bad experience and would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Merri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perestedaEssex, Owner at Prested Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

To have two heating problems in one day is an owner’s nightmare (as well as a guest’s) and, of course, we are extremely sorry that this happened. Unfortunately, it became clear the next day that our main gas boiler (less than 5 months old) had failed, and our Duty Manager should have realised this much sooner. Furthermore, we have a huge wood-burner as a back-up for really cold weather, which would have been lit had he done so. (We have, of course, taken up these issues with the staff concerned in no uncertain terms). The second problem was that the reviewer was staying in a room which is served by an independent water heater, and this chose, that self-same day, to spring a leak (so it had to be turned off, causing cold shower water!) As for the quality of the food and service, these areas are greatly important to us at Prested, and we are sad that someone should have been disappointed. We absolutely do not ask diners to fetch their drinks from the bar, any more than we think that as it’s an old house it’s OK to be cold – we don’t think that! It is only fair to add that other departing guests were complimentary to our receptionist on their departure and this overall satisfaction was re-iterated by the conference team leader (twice).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I just wanted to give testament to the wonderful treatment we had here over the weekend. We had an abrupt ending to our Valentine's Day weekend when my boyfriend's mother telephoned at 6.45am to say his father was seriously ill in hospital. Thus we had to wake up the staff, arrange an early breakfast (it was a 3 hour drive and my boyfriend was not capable of driving without first eating something) and check out. They responded with the utmost good grace, with the porter having to make us breakfast because the chef wasn't in yet, and even turning on the radio in the empty dining room so that we could listen to the traffic reports. I didn't see much of the hotel because we arrived after dark and left before light, but it seemed very comfortable and we had a good supper. We were staying in the charming Dingle room, which was very cosy despite being in the middle of a snowy wood! The dining room would probably benefit from a bit more atmosphere, but the hotel generally struck me as charming and the staff were extremely kind and friendly. I don't know what it cost because my boyfriend had surprised me with a Valentine's weekend away but it seemed to be good value as he was surprised that the expensive bottle of wine he had chosen was included in the bill. Thank you Prested Hall!

Room Tip: The Dingle rocks is really cool, although why does it have fuschia velvet curtains and battleship grey walls?
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florencereally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I arrived at 1930ish on a Wednesday evening to be informed no food available. On our first morning my wife received a snotty call at 1130 asking what time we were leaving as checkout is at 1100, my wife's answer was were here for 2 nights! In the afternoon we decided to order a nice cream tea and sandwich selection from the bars menu to which we were told sorry you need to give us 2 days notice! On arrival we were told breakfast was 0700 to 1000 and as we arrived at breakfast at 0925 on the sevond morning a snotty waiter informed my that breakfast finishes at 0930! All in all just let down a bit by the poor customers service provided.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Artimus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perestedaEssex, Owner at Prested Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

This is very odd as virtually all reviews comment specifically about how excellent and helpful are the staff here. OK, so someone made a sliiy slip about the room booking, but surely not enough to warrant a complaint? And two witnesses heard the Duty Manager apologise (they say almost too profusely_ for the mistake. The guests were told when they arrived that because nobody had booked dinner our dining room was closed, but our health club 100 yards away was open for food. They were not told afternoon tea needed 2 days notice (and it doesn't); they were told it could be organised but not instantaneously.
We are a small operation and nearly everything is done to order else we would be serving things stale or throrwing away mountains of food.
And we do not have any snotty waiters; I simply would not employ anyone capable of being one.
Mike Carter, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Myself and my partner had a spa weekend at prested hall. We were put in the dingle room, which is like a mini cottage on its own about 100 yards from the main hotel, the room was lovely and bed very comfortable. The food was fantastic and we were even able to request certain meals as my partner is a vegetarian. The spa is nice, they have a large pool and sauna. We both had massages and found them so relaxing. Overall a great stay and the snow made it even prettier.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews