We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with poor service options!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Prested Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prested Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with poor service options!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I arrived at 1930ish on a Wednesday evening to be informed no food available. On our first morning my wife received a snotty call at 1130 asking what time we were leaving as checkout is at 1100, my wife's answer was were here for 2 nights! In the afternoon we decided to order a nice cream tea and sandwich selection from the bars menu to which we were told sorry you need to give us 2 days notice! On arrival we were told breakfast was 0700 to 1000 and as we arrived at breakfast at 0925 on the sevond morning a snotty waiter informed my that breakfast finishes at 0930! All in all just let down a bit by the poor customers service provided.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Artimus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perestedaEssex, Owner at Prested Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
This is very odd as virtually all reviews comment specifically about how excellent and helpful are the staff here. OK, so someone made a sliiy slip about the room booking, but surely not enough to warrant a complaint? And two witnesses heard the Duty Manager apologise (they say almost too profusely_ for the mistake. The guests were told when they arrived that because nobody had booked dinner our dining room was closed, but our health club 100 yards away was open for food. They were not told afternoon tea needed 2 days notice (and it doesn't); they were told it could be organised but not instantaneously.
We are a small operation and nearly everything is done to order else we would be serving things stale or throrwing away mountains of food.
And we do not have any snotty waiters; I simply would not employ anyone capable of being one.
Mike Carter, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    98
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
157
189
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Myself and my partner had a spa weekend at prested hall. We were put in the dingle room, which is like a mini cottage on its own about 100 yards from the main hotel, the room was lovely and bed very comfortable. The food was fantastic and we were even able to request certain meals as my partner is a vegetarian. The spa is nice, they have a large pool and sauna. We both had massages and found them so relaxing. Overall a great stay and the snow made it even prettier.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We had an amazing stay here, i stayed in a standard twin with my mum and the room was very clean, beds were comfy and great location. We got the room last minute at a great price! This hotel would be great for a couples weekend break very romantic with the log fire! It also would be a perfect location for a wedding. Also the breakfast was amazing with loads of choice, I had salmon and scrambled eggs it was gorgeous. 100% recommend this hotel, I will defo be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittykaty200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I was only there for a couple of nights on business, but I found the beds and bedding to be very comfortable, the room clean, the staff very friendly and helpful ... and the cooked breakfast was very tasty indeed!

You're made to feel very welcome and for the price I'd say it's nigh on unbeatable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We were looking for a venue for a 'big' birthday party - somewhere special that would hold 130+ people, and where lots of people could could stay over. We looked at a number of the larger chain hotels, but as soon as we stepped through the door, my wife was hooked on Prested Hall. We took over the complete hotel, including The Dingle (wonderful little bungalow in the grounds) and all rooms in the Club, and hosted breakfast at the Hall the following morning for those that stayed in other hotels.
The whole event was absolutely superb ! Karen organised the event perfectly - even the last minute glitches that could have spoiled the whole thing were ironed out in what appeared to be an effortless way. The rest of the staff were efficiently and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. In summary, we're left with some wonderful memories of a party that was really well-organised, and in a lovely, homely venue. When you're planning an important event, you need to be confident that the venue that you choose will handle things in the way that you want. From our experience, Prested Hall will do so.

Room Tip: Room 1 and The Dingle are special. Other rooms are of varying size, but all are comfortable and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ispid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feering
15.6 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
21.5 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
21.3 km away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#11 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
27.9 km away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prested Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prested Hall Hotel

Property: Prested Hall Hotel
Address: Prested Chase, Feering, Colchester C05 9EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Feering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,195 - ₹ 13,067
Hotel Class:3 star — Prested Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With contemporary style and comfort within an historic listed country house, this privately owned hotel sits discreetly amid 75 acres of Essex parkland, within 30 minutes of Stansted Airport. Partly surrounded by a moat, Prested Hall offers 15th and 18th century interiors, stunning Art Nouveau decor and elegant 1930s extensions. With 15 attractive en suite rooms and an adjacent health club,with additional serviced (Peresteda) apartments, the owners of Prested Hall have attempted to create a place of quality, where comfort, style and relaxation exist without cold formality. Hotel guests will find helpful staff, and attention to detail, with fresh flowers throughout the house, along with books to browse through, DVDs to borrow, real coffee in the rooms and, always, the pleasure of being away from city stress amid beautiful surroundings. Situated just off the A12, a 5 minute drive from Kelvedon station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prested Hall Colchester
Prested Hall Hotel Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing