We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to relax”

Review of 9 Folly Cottage

Folly Cottages courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Folly Cottages courtyard
Kitchen Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Folly Cottages courtyard
Kitchen
Lounge
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom (with en suite)
Bathroom
Outside seating area
View from outside seating area
The Folly Inn
folly cottages
The Oxford Canal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Napton-on-the-Hill, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JLKuz
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

*First thing to point out, the prices are listed in American dollars- if your TripAdvisor app is set for USA. I recommend getting a quote in pounds ££ *

We stayed at Folly for two weeks while searching for permanent housing here in England. It was really charming and comfortable. They allow dogs, which is why we chose this property.

We stayed in cottage number 9.

The kitchen had everything we needed. Pots, pans, knives, flatware, dishware, drinkware, kettle, microwave, large refrigerator/freezer, clothes washing machine, 2 clothes dying racks, dish soap, sponge.
There were three toilets, a large tub and a small shower. The bath tub was great. Clean and large. The shower was extremely small and not as perfectly maintained as the tub. But still nothing too bad. Hand soap at each sink. Large bath towels and hand towels provided.
Bedrooms were fine size. Both had dresser and wardrobe. Bedding was adequate and clean. Two pillows per guest. The twin beds are basic. The full was slightly nicer. Nothing to get excited about, but they are fine. Newer carpet upstairs.
The living room (and kitchen) have stone floors. The sofas are leatherette. One three seater and one two seater. Also a rocking chair. TV was new flat screen. DVD player. Slightly more than basic TV channels.
Dining area off of the living room. Small table for four.
Patio off of the unit facing a large field. Really pretty views. Patio set for four.

This is a country setting, so there is some wildlife to be seen. Including some whispy spiders in the corners of the cottage as well birds, rabbits and the like outside.

It's not new and sterile. If that's what you require in accommodations, then I would suggest a newly built urban hotel. The Folly cottage 9 is homey and comfortable.

The town of Napton is very cute and small. There is a little grocer/post/cafe that has anything you might need. It's just a pleasant 10 minutes walk.

The Folly Pub, which seems to be part of the cottages (but is not), is not to be missed. Make reservations, it is always full. While we we there, many nights had live music or some sort of entertainment in the beer garden. There's also a small shop near the pub which sells many items you may need. Including used books for 50p and some used DVD's for £1.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chenko64
Abu Dhabi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Floorboards like firecrackers”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage itself is very nice, however, no thought has been put into the comfort for the guests staying.

Upon arrival we were delighted with its location and thought we would have an enjoyable time there... That was until we went to bed! To say the double bed in the master bedroom was uncomfortable is an understatement and to top it the floorboards made so much noise that we were afraid to go to the toilet during the night as the floorboards woke the baby, Even when turning over in bed they were making a noise like firecrackers going off! In the end we ended up in the bedroom with the twin beds which were not much better. We hardly slept during our stay.

I certainly would recommend this letting until the beds are changed and the floorboards fixed.

My husband and I have both come home with bad backs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the bed and floorboards
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
I am so sorry not to have responded sooner.
We have not had any other complaints regarding the matters you raised but will definately look into these 2 points.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyB20
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK but with a bit more attention to housekeeping could be good.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Positives - A lovely cottage in peaceful location. Good sized kitchen/lounge/diner hall and wc downstairs and 2 good sized beds (1 en suite) and bathroom upstairs. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pans etc and all linen and towels included. Plenty of parking and the onsite shop is a bonus for essentials.
Negatives - On arrival, 2 out of 4 kitchen bulbs were blown, wall clock had stopped, no bulb in bedside lamp and I had to wash up the tea stained cups before we used them. I realise these are all minor points but are so easy to rectify.
Overall, we had a good week. Would we use again? Probably not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good size and number of toilets.
Liked least: General attention to housekeeping.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank you for your stay with us. I am sorry that there were bulbs missing. What a shame you didn't let us know whilst you were there as these could have easily been rectified.
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennilost
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

the cottage which in fact was No 11 and not No 9, (No 11 is not on the system) was in a great location, well appointed, good parking, great pub next door but it was grubby, beds and bathrooms clean but dirty pans in oven, fridge covered in red sticky liquid, dog kibble under the skirting, and everything including dirty tissues under the seat cushions on the sofa, there was a general smell of longstanding dirt very musty and doggy( I am a dog owner so thats not a unfamiliar smell within reason). Such a shame as otherwise this cottage had so much going for it. A decent cleaner and one or two pictures and it would be getting excellent ratings. I would go back and would take cleaning stuff with me! Also the inside of the kettle was horrid and I had to buy a kettle to use. There is nothing that a bit of good housekeeping could not solve here. Such a shame

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and very comfortable bed
Liked least: Cleanliness as stated above
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Good afternoon, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. What a shame you didn't contact us whilst you were there and all these things could have been rectified.
All points raised are being investigated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greavsie1...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely break in the country”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely well furnished cottage in a lovely rural setting ideal for that short break away. Walks along the canal and short car rides to local historic spots give you the flexibility between lovely walks in the sun and interesting trips to learn some more about lovely Warwickshire.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
So glad you enjoyed it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing