We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel I have stayed in for a long while”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
england
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I have stayed in for a long while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

The check in was quick,courteous and rewarded with a cookie each which was most welcome, on finding our room we were pleased with the size and the first thing that I noticed was the large TV on the wall then the even bigger mirror next to it.On looking around the room I found that it was very well furnished with not only tea and coffee but shortbread and flapjacks,it had an iron & board,safe,hairdryer (in a draw) and looking under the desk a keyboard. We slept well as the beds were very comfortable and the curtains the blackout type.
Breakfast was help yourself and was pleased to see black pudding on offer and all well prepared as was all the food.
I will definatly be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room as the ones at the rear have a veiw of trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foghornred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Good afternoon
Thank you so much for the kind comments posted recently for Doubletree by Hilton Cadbury House.Will certainly share with the team here who truly appreciate such positive feedback
Thank you
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    723
    426
    210
    121
See reviews for
475
982
71
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Really unimpressed with this hotel to the point of complaining to the CEO of Hilton and Doubletree. I normally stay in Doubletree properties and find they are generally clean, staff helpful and generally a good hotel.

I had organised this property as base for my wedding party and occupied around 20-30 rooms. The initial booking process is a farce, with a block reservation price being almost 150% of the rack rate for the hotel. We visited the hotel approx 6-8 weeks before our stay to see about an upgrade to our room, (willing to pay for the privilege), and was told by the receptionist that he had added a free upgrade and noted that we were the bride and groom, so would get special treatment when we checked in.

Unfortunately this conversation obviously never happened, as when we checked in, the receptionist of the day stated there were no notes on our booking and we were allocated the tiniest room with a window no bigger than a shoebox. They claimed there was no opportunity to change, but surprisingly after kicking up a stink a room materialised. This second room was not clean with cobwebs and a used toilet when we got there. Although it did have a window slightly larger, although one of those would not open either. Not the best start, to a wedding weekend.

We had organised a meal in the Marco Pierre white restaurant, for 16 people, and while we had a good time, I would not say that the food was up to the standard of a "celebrity chef" branded restaurant, it was closer to the fare from a "Bernie Inn" than what I have experienced at "Petrus". Breakfast was nice though, so would recommend venturing out for dinner (try the seafront at Clevedon), but have brekkie at the hotel.

The spa is good though with most of the machines having tv and audio built in, (perfect for watching the rugby on).

The checking out process was a farce as well with the "Late checkout" we had been promised following our altercations with reception, suddenly vanishing and needing the maid to get us back into the room.

I was really excited about staying at this property, but the service and promises falling through when they were really needed were really disappointing. I will not be staying at another Hilton or Doubletree property until my complaints have been addressed.

Room Tip: All rooms have tiny window it would appear and are rather dark, aim for higher floors as people comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveTrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay with us ,to which we have replied seperately via e mail and I do hope this cleared the matters relating to your reservation comments and that after investigation discover your requests were not passed to the hotel by the third party agent
Certainly the comments relating to some issues in the room are clearly unacceptable and am delighted that the team took action and compensated you at the time.
Equally thank you for your kind comments referring in particular, that the team added some extra touches to the table in Marco Pierre White Restaurant
Kind regards and thank you again
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Lovely hotel and surroundings with nice view. Nice room and good breakfast at a reasonable cost, especially when travelling as a family on a special deal. Only downside was the evening dinner. You have to pay a fortune in the Marco Polo restaurante if you want a decent meal. The alternative is in the unattractive 'lounge' where the food was disappointing.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms round the back where there's only a view of bushes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begonia233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Good evening and thank you for your kind comments ,will share with all here.
Sorry about your experience at the health club and will pass these comments onto Jason the General Manager there.
Surprised though by your comments on Marco Pierre Whites Steakhouse bar and grill as we do have a fantastic daily changing menu created by Neil our head chef where you can get 2 courses for £20 or 3 for £25.I need to ensure the restaurant team are really selling this and making our customers fully aware in future
In the meanwhile looking forward to your return and kindest regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Don't rely on visible road signs along the route, just use a sat-nav or a child with an ipod.
Then when you do get there, just smile. Beautiful grounds. Lovely hotel. Warm swimming pool. Excellent food. Great welcome at check-in with tasty cookies. Thank-you!
Ann, in reservations, had assisted with pre-booking enquiries and Victoria, at reception, was most helpful with room choice and late check-out. After the previous night's dreadful stay in a Mercure in Bath, I wanted a very quiet room, rather than a room with a view, and was easily accommodated in the newest part, the extension upon the extension. There were two wedding parties going on, yet apart from a very impressive firework display, I wouldn't have noticed. Had a standard room which easily could have been classed as a superior. Great beds. Fantastic air conditioning/heating system. Spotlessly clean. Fluffy towels and all the necessary toiletries provided, including shower cap & facecloths. Had a problem with the ironing board, but it was replaced immediately. My only issues would be limited mobile phone reception and no children's CBBC channel, but I would certainly return. Now I just need to book something from Bristol airport as an excuse!
When I book bed and breakfast, I expect a good night's sleep and a decent meal in the morning and I have to say that Cadbury House certainly met my expectations.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldFreddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Good evening
who needs road signs anyway!
fantastic feedback and really greatly appreciated by all here , will certainly share with Ann and Victoria in particular but equally the whole team will get a pat on the back!
Now then we do do great park and fly packages so book that holiday now !! and bring your friends and family...
Glad you liked the fireworks, laid on specially for all that weekend ......
Thank you again and do return to us really soon
Kindest regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

From the warm chocolate cookie on arrival we knew we were in for a good stay. We stayed in a feature room which was amazing & perfect for a couple - huge bathroom with central bath, his 'n hers basins and double shower, all separated from the sumptuous bedroom by a walk-through curtain. I loved the canopy of colour-changing sparkly lights over the bed too. All made us feel very special. Add to this excellent food in the Marco Pierre White restaurant and most importantly great service throughout our stay from staff who genuinely seem to enjoy working here. Location was great for visiting Cheddar Gorge and the coast. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnDeCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Hi and what can I say but thank you from the team here at Cadbury House ,am really delighted by your comments and that you had such a great stay .
Welcome back at any time and tell your friends !
in the meanwhile thank you again
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
8.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
11.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
14.3 km away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
16.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,152 - ₹ 14,631
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing