We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Parnassia aan Zee

Parnassia aan Zee
Ranked #20 of 21 Restaurants in Overveen
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 23
Cuisines: Dutch
Description: Ons restaurant is geopend vanaf 9 uur elke dag, 365 dagen in het jaar, tot zonsondergang
Restaurant details
Description: Ons restaurant is geopend vanaf 9 uur elke dag, 365 dagen in het jaar, tot zonsondergang
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We went there on a business meeting. The meeting location in itself was fine. The location is good and cannot be compared to any other.
The food we ordered was mediocre, I ordered the hamburger and got it red, they did not mention that it comes standard that way. I regret and will not go back again for the food.

Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K, Guest Relations Manager at Parnassia aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Beste gast,

sinds 1 oktober 2017 zijn wij een andere bv met een nieuwe eigenaar. Het zou daarom erg leuk zijn als u binnenkort langs komt en ons verteld wat u er nu van vindt. U kunt dan een mailtje sturen naar info@parnassiaaanzee.nl

Groetjes Laura, Team Parnassia aan zee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Where do I start. We arrived in a dark and sad hallway, with a bathroom which takes away all privacy due to a one way mirror where the men can see the women. Once we found a table ourselves it took 15 minutes for our order to be taken by an employee who seemed to have rather been anywhere else. I was with a larger group, and the food came over the course of 5 minutes, the first plate becoming cold by the time we all had our food. Not to mention that we didn't even have cutlery. One of the people in my party has a gluten allergy and was informed she could not eat the fries because of the oil. They offered potatoes instead, but after having to remind a waiter, the potatoes only arrived by the time we had already finished eating. All wait staff ignored us while eating, none of them checking on us once to ensure a pleasant experience. We struggled to get someone's attention to ask to take away the plates, which had been empty for 20 minutes. Half of them were taken away after we had begun stacking them ourselves. Then it it took another 10 minutes to get someone else for the rest of them and to take our coffee order. After waiting for another 20 minutes, one of the people in my party had to stand up and walk around until she found someone that actually cared and might know where our coffee was.
All of the above taking place in a restaurant that seems to be in the middle of renovations, with our table underneath cut off electricity lines while the emergency door was blocked.
I can only wish that I had done my research before visiting, it was a waste of our time and money.
But we liked the sea view - something other restaurants also offer....

2  Thank SimonvanWijlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K, Guest Relations Manager at Parnassia aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Beste gast,

sinds 1 oktober 2017 zijn wij een andere bv met een nieuwe eigenaar. Het zou daarom erg leuk zijn als u binnenkort langs komt en ons verteld wat u er nu van vindt. U kunt dan een mailtje sturen naar info@parnassiaaanzee.nl

Groetjes Laura, Team Parnassia aan zee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

On a sunny Saturday we decided to visit Parnassia. The location is fantastic of course. Beautiful views over the sea, nice large terrace, and a plus (at least in my opinion as former dog-owner) that dogs are welcome.
However.... please please please make this place actually worth a visit and pay more attention to food. The service was terrible. We had to wait long, ask twice about our drinks and food, my fish & chips was really bad. And I mean, really bad. Fish was completely dry, chips were too salty. I got the wrong drinks. etc.
Also, I can't imagine there are women who think the "confrontation mirror' in the restrooms is funny. It just is not. When I am fixing my hair, washing my hands, etc etc I don't want to be sneakily observed by men peeing on the other side of the wall. Period.
I love the location and I think it could be a fantastic place, but at the moment it is disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AEC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K, Guest Relations Manager at Parnassia aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Beste gast,

sinds 1 oktober 2017 zijn wij een andere bv met een nieuwe eigenaar. Het zou daarom erg leuk zijn als u binnenkort langs komt en ons verteld wat u er nu van vindt. U kunt dan een mailtje sturen naar info@parnassiaaanzee.nl

Groetjes Laura, Team Parnassia aan zee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

After a long walk through the dunes, it was time for lunch. Staff seemed pleasant but disinterested. The interior is a mess, half completed projects, bare walls, plaster missing and very dark. Food was very average, Makro burgers with a Makro salad, totally uninspiring. They mixed our burgers up (salmon and vege) which was unfortunate for my vegan friend who started first! It could be so much better which is a shame.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K, Guest Relations Manager at Parnassia aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Beste gast,

sinds 1 oktober 2017 zijn wij een andere bv met een nieuwe eigenaar. Het zou daarom erg leuk zijn als u binnenkort langs komt en ons verteld wat u er nu van vindt. U kunt dan een mailtje sturen naar info@parnassiaaanzee.nl

Groetjes Laura, Team Parnassia aan zee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

This place used to be an amazing restaurant which blended in nicely with it's surroundings. Now its just some wonky beach house that looks like some sort of dark dungeon from the inside with plastered unpainted walls and dirty floors.

My girlfriend and I ordered a coffee, which took forever too arrive. Eventually it was served in a glass cup (!!) Without a tray or anything. To make things worse the coffee tasted dull and had some extra 'bite' to it for my girlfriend. She fished a ladybug out of the cup which was truly disgusting.

We complained and received a free new coffee but no excuses or anything were heard from the, already slow and arrogant, waiter.

In conclusion we will never come back as long as this place is in its current state.

Thank ymaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K, Guest Relations Manager at Parnassia aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Beste gast,

sinds 1 oktober 2017 zijn wij een andere bv met een nieuwe eigenaar. Het zou daarom erg leuk zijn als u binnenkort langs komt en ons verteld wat u er nu van vindt. U kunt dan een mailtje sturen naar info@parnassiaaanzee.nl

Groetjes Laura, Team Parnassia aan zee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parnassia aan Zee also viewed

Overveen, North Holland Province
Bloemendaal, North Holland Province
 
Overveen, North Holland Province
Overveen, North Holland Province
 
Overveen, North Holland Province
Overveen, North Holland Province
 

Been to Parnassia aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing