We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and please get rid of "confrontation mirror" in toilet”
Review of Parnassia aan Zee

Parnassia aan Zee
Ranked #20 of 21 Restaurants in Overveen
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 23
Cuisines: Dutch
Description: Ons restaurant is geopend vanaf 9 uur elke dag, 365 dagen in het jaar, tot zonsondergang
Restaurant details
Description: Ons restaurant is geopend vanaf 9 uur elke dag, 365 dagen in het jaar, tot zonsondergang
Reviewed 13 June 2017

On a sunny Saturday we decided to visit Parnassia. The location is fantastic of course. Beautiful views over the sea, nice large terrace, and a plus (at least in my opinion as former dog-owner) that dogs are welcome.
However.... please please please make this place actually worth a visit and pay more attention to food. The service was terrible. We had to wait long, ask twice about our drinks and food, my fish & chips was really bad. And I mean, really bad. Fish was completely dry, chips were too salty. I got the wrong drinks. etc.
Also, I can't imagine there are women who think the "confrontation mirror' in the restrooms is funny. It just is not. When I am fixing my hair, washing my hands, etc etc I don't want to be sneakily observed by men peeing on the other side of the wall. Period.
I love the location and I think it could be a fantastic place, but at the moment it is disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AEC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K, Guest Relations Manager at Parnassia aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Beste gast,

sinds 1 oktober 2017 zijn wij een andere bv met een nieuwe eigenaar. Het zou daarom erg leuk zijn als u binnenkort langs komt en ons verteld wat u er nu van vindt. U kunt dan een mailtje sturen naar info@parnassiaaanzee.nl

Groetjes Laura, Team Parnassia aan zee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

After a long walk through the dunes, it was time for lunch. Staff seemed pleasant but disinterested. The interior is a mess, half completed projects, bare walls, plaster missing and very dark. Food was very average, Makro burgers with a Makro salad, totally uninspiring. They mixed our burgers up (salmon and vege) which was unfortunate for my vegan friend who started first! It could be so much better which is a shame.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K, Guest Relations Manager at Parnassia aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Beste gast,

sinds 1 oktober 2017 zijn wij een andere bv met een nieuwe eigenaar. Het zou daarom erg leuk zijn als u binnenkort langs komt en ons verteld wat u er nu van vindt. U kunt dan een mailtje sturen naar info@parnassiaaanzee.nl

Groetjes Laura, Team Parnassia aan zee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

This place used to be an amazing restaurant which blended in nicely with it's surroundings. Now its just some wonky beach house that looks like some sort of dark dungeon from the inside with plastered unpainted walls and dirty floors.

My girlfriend and I ordered a coffee, which took forever too arrive. Eventually it was served in a glass cup (!!) Without a tray or anything. To make things worse the coffee tasted dull and had some extra 'bite' to it for my girlfriend. She fished a ladybug out of the cup which was truly disgusting.

We complained and received a free new coffee but no excuses or anything were heard from the, already slow and arrogant, waiter.

In conclusion we will never come back as long as this place is in its current state.

Thank ymaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K, Guest Relations Manager at Parnassia aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Beste gast,

sinds 1 oktober 2017 zijn wij een andere bv met een nieuwe eigenaar. Het zou daarom erg leuk zijn als u binnenkort langs komt en ons verteld wat u er nu van vindt. U kunt dan een mailtje sturen naar info@parnassiaaanzee.nl

Groetjes Laura, Team Parnassia aan zee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Due to is somewhat remote location, this restaurant sails relative well by the absence of competitors. I've been here several times over the past years and despite the fancy renewed interior, the place is running down. This time we only had drinks, but the other day, the food was disappointing as well.

Toilets had run out of paper and the hand dryer in the men's room hadn't been cleaned for a while as it was covered with dry bird droppings.

The best thing is its location sporting both a great view over the North Sea as well as over the dunes. And for the ones that walk the dog on the beach, the restaurant is dog-friendly, they even have dog-cookies on the menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarpa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K, Guest Relations Manager at Parnassia aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Beste gast,

sinds 1 oktober 2017 zijn wij een andere bv met een nieuwe eigenaar. Het zou daarom erg leuk zijn als u binnenkort langs komt en ons verteld wat u er nu van vindt. U kunt dan een mailtje sturen naar info@parnassiaaanzee.nl

Groetjes Laura, Team Parnassia aan zee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Parnassia has something like a mythical reputation. I live not too far away from Overveen and have always been awed by its reputation which was, I must confess, all 'hear say'.
On a nice spring day in 2017 we decided that we should enjoy the warm spring sun and for the first time in our lives visit Parnassia. The weather was fine, our expectations were high and the setting in the dunes very nice. First surprise: paid parking. One would not expect to have to pay a carpark attendant when visiting a restaurant. The explanation was acceptable however, once parked one could also visit the Kennemer dunes, a national park area. We payed 7,50 euro for a few hours, not cheap. Second surprise: Dog excrement on the footpath to the restaurant/beach and watery evidence that a dog lifted its leg against an ornamental tree inside the building. Third surprise: Poorly maintained and poorly cleaned facilities throughout. Fourth surprise: No service, we decided to leave after 15 minutes and went to the beach.
Approx one hour later we returned from the beach and decided to try again. Service was beter and we were served tasty sandwiches.
Summarizing: A highly overrated restaurant not worth a scond visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frits P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parnassia aan Zee also viewed

Bloemendaal, North Holland Province
Overveen, North Holland Province
 
Overveen, North Holland Province
Overveen, North Holland Province
 
Bloemendaal, North Holland Province
Zandvoort, North Holland Province
 

Been to Parnassia aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing