We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth the road”
Review of Al Forte Nugent

Al Forte Nugent
Reserve with
Al Forte Nugent is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Pastrengo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 29 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Iv tried al forte a few years ago and i wished to visit again anytime soon but it didnt happen until this year after 3 years and the place still holds up to its style and quality, food is yummy specially the beef and some ananas for desert.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank tazzz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

The fort is beautiful. We had an amazing view of the surroundings. That being said, I move on to the most important part, the food!

It all looked very promising, we went for the degustation fish menu @55€, water/wine/coffee included.

As a first course we got a fish antipasti of squid, scallop and tuna tartare. The squid was very good with nice flavours and the tuna tartare was also excellent. The scallop was overcooked and served in the shell with a garlic butter sauce. The scallop should still be raw on the inside. Also it was very small and still attached to the shell. It had lost all the moisture as it was overcooked.

Secondly they served us smoked salmon which was very good. The two small toasts on the plate werent crispy and were very tough to bite through. Its a shame because this ruined a simple but outstanding dish.

Thirdly we got porcini mushroom pasta with sliced scallop. The flavours were nice, but the slices of scallop were overdone and had lost their flavours. Why not cook them seperately and not sliced and add them when u finish the plate? Scallops are such a delicate product.

As main course we got skinbaked seabass with butter fried potatoes and grilled vegetables on the side. These sidedishes were quite good, the fish is where the chef really got it wrong. The seabass wasnt descaled which is a terrible thing to do. I still tried it but i was descaling my teeth after the first bite... This is not how u serve a skinbaked fish properly. So I removed the skin with scales and continued with the fish.

We took tiramisu and panna cotta as dessert. Both lacked the quality that u might expect in Italy when u order one of their classics.

All in all it was a very mediocre experience. Fair to say that the price was on the low side (116€ for everything, including 2 aperitifs @3€). Still I think their gourmet/degustation approach is what u expect but not get and the fish wasnt cleaned and cooked properly.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The sea bass with salt was perfect. I really rexommned this place for romantic dinner or family dinner. Next to the place there is play-ground for kids.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Danna37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Al Forte is located in an old fortress on a hill above Pastrengo. There are two separate restaurants owned by two brothers. One is more gourmet style and the other a lively Bier Kellar / Pizzeria. We ate at both and they were really excellent.
The highlight was a set meal for two in the gourmet restaurant involving a 1400 g T Bone steak. Everything cooked to perfection and we were served by a superb waiter , Mauro , who recommended some great wines and really made the evening. We had this twice in a four night stay !

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobMac156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014 via mobile

I've searched for restaurants under "near me now" in TripAdvisor app, and got to this gem. Apart from the proximity to the hotel, the great photos, number of reviews and ranking, I wanted to compensate for a lousy hotel selection.

The good news is that the reviews and and the reality are one to one.

The fortress is stunning (we went there for dinner). It is very spacious, beautifully decorated, children friendly (*3), and the food... We've had fish carpaccio and cold cuts for the starter, risotto (think the one with the mushrooms cooked in red wine - brown in colour), lamb chops, gnocchi, ravioli and spaghetti regu. The food was beautifully cooked and served. The service was great, wine is very cheap in prices and overall a great place to dine in.

Have I mentioned the open fire place? Enjoy. Bon Apetito.

Thank ohadh655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Forte Nugent also viewed

Bussolengo, Province of Verona
Bussolengo, Province of Verona
 
Lazise, Province of Verona
Bussolengo, Province of Verona
 
Lazise, Province of Verona
Pescantina, Province of Verona
 

Been to Al Forte Nugent? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing