We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$335
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$335
View deal
Trip.com
$307
View deal
Hotels.com$335
Priceline$335
Official Site$333
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,632)
Filter reviews
2,632 results
Traveller rating
2,106
359
87
40
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,106
359
87
40
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool special mention beautiful property housekeeping staff the general manager heaven on earth western ghats temperature controlled duty manager cake in room dining reception area outdoor activities breathtaking views the entire staff flora and fauna local cuisine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,264 - 1,269 of 2,632 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The location is mesmerising and food is awesome. The view from the hotel room is incredible. We had a beautiful and a memorable holiday at Vivanta. Thanks to the entire team of vivanta for their service.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 933surajits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

The resort is a beautiful find in the middle of the forest in Madikeri. Please be aware that the directions to the hotel are wrong on google map and the resort does little in regards to that. They tell you to follow the directions to Club Mahindra on Google maps and then that you'll find signage that guides you. Although that is true, the sign boards are small and very easily can be missed. We missed a crucial sign that points towards a cross to take a left and drove on for a further 5 kilometers to a different junction at which when we called the front desk, they guided us to take a right turn and we drove on for a further 6 kilometers in the hills to reach a town and we found out we were entirely off course. Fortunately we found a local man that helped us get to the hotel but this miscommunication on their part added 1 hour to our journey, not to mention that if you veer off path, there is no cellphone reception so you're pretty much on your own.

Once we arrived at the hotel, the view at the lobby was mesmerizing. It made the entire journey worth it to get such a view and such seclusion. We were greeted by Ms. Luny Ganapathi who took care of us from check-in to check-out. She was very hospitable and engaged us with great conversation and tips. Very friendly and genuinely eager to help. We were celebrating a birthday at the resort and we had intimated the same on booking.

The restaurant at the main building - Dew which caters to wellness cuisine had a delicious selection of food that was made with great care to be healthy as well as hearty. Our room was beautiful, spacious and boasted of uninterrupted views of the valley, truly reminding us at every step of the way why Coorg is known as the Scotland of India.

The local restaurant - Nellaki serves great and tasty authentic local cuisine and we had the opportunity to dine there on one night. The food was really enjoyable but the attendant who served us was told time and again that we were on a diet and couldn't eat food high in fats and oils and yet the food he brought came with a generous serving of oil.

The main restaurant that serves the breakfast buffet although has a limited choice and variety, ensure high quality by serving the best tasting dishes.

On occasion of the birthday, we returned from dinner and found that the room was decorated with balloons and some flowers. Mr. Mahesh Had taken it upon himself to make out stay memorable and had personally overseen the decorations. He even informed us that we would be getting cake but later let us know that although it was informed to us, there was some miscommunication internally and the room service department had had no prior intimation about the cake. He apologized profusely and eventually toiled with the department to get us the cake. Although we didn't want anyone to jump through hoops for us, the cake arrived late at 10PM. The next day, as we checked out, he had even left us a packet of local coffee to take home. Full points for Mr. Mahesh and Ms. Luny for making our stay memorable.

The adventure activity of zip lining was a lot of fun but for the price that is being charged, I was expecting the rope to be descended from a great height but it was not that high. Perhaps to encourage more adventurous guests, there should be an option to zip line from a greater height.

Overall, of the many properties that I've visited, Taj Madikeri will remain as one of the most secluded and naturally beautiful properties I've visited with an enthusiastic staff and a great selection of food to make your stay memorable.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 May 2017

while walking without slippers I come to know that there is dust on flour it can rectified after phone call baggi will send very late it will taken care genaraly ambiance is too good I like to stay in your hotel next time

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mpE5371LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The facility is in a very picturesque place. The staff was wonderful and very attentive. The restaurant served local Coorg cuisine which was fantastic. Overall a great property and good value for money.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Going to coorg it self is a healing and relaxing vacation. The climate is cool. There is a local culture marked by the spices, coffee and the traditions Staying at Taj vivanta is the top choice for many reasons , as the entire property is nicely placed in valley and mountain. Makes the time during different parts of the day very very memorable. looking at sunrise and sunset from the various options of sit outs in the lobby and the restaurants. The breakfast is excellent. The staff is very polite and well mannered. We also had a chance to peep in the kitchen , we were pleasantly surprised to see how clean and well organised it was. Would like to personally take few names of people : Luni in lobby, Mahesh in house keeping, Anish, Bipro and Kipjen in the restaurant , all made us feel very special. A good place to take a break and relax

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rajivp454
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews