We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$333
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$333
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$333
Travelocity$333
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,634)
Filter reviews
2,634 results
Traveller rating
2,108
359
87
40
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,108
359
87
40
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool special mention beautiful property housekeeping staff the general manager heaven on earth western ghats temperature controlled duty manager cake in room dining reception area outdoor activities breathtaking views the entire staff flora and fauna local cuisine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,218 - 2,223 of 2,634 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2014

My trip to Taj Vivanta to say the least was almost perfect! Let me start by saying I was traveling with my husband and 4 yr old. Most of you peeps who follow me on my tripadvisor account know how important it is for me to have a hotel with enough to do for a hyperactive 4 yr old.

Let me inform you, the drive to the hotel from Bangalore took 7 hrs ( including a restroom stop for 45 mins) . Please take enough mint and stuff to do on the way. The last 2 Kim's are literally driving up a hill with winding turns , my lil girl threw up on the last km. The place itself from the outside looked plain and unassuming. The minute we walked in to the lobby our tiredness vanished. Right in front of us was a beautiful breathtaking panoramic view of the valley. It is perhaps the best view of the property. We were greeted by an eager staff waiting with face towels and welcome drinks. Do NOT miss the traditional 'Bella Coffee' here.
The rooms in this property are scattered throughout the hill with buggies to go everywhere (similar to Aamby valley- read my Aamby valley review for that) we were in room 408 garden view or something , I don't remember the exact name of the type of room it was ; but it was mind blowing. Again from the outside it looks disappointing but from the inside- wow!!!

This is my take on the restaurants inside-
The Ferntree - good food, variety isn't great for breakfast on weekdays, weekend breakfasts are awesome. The staff is good and attentive.
Nellaki- the food is very good coorgi cuisine, apparently the pandi curry here ( pork curry) is supposed to have a fan following of its own, do not forget to try the payasa made with madhuthoppu ( medicinal leaves) it is purple in color and has a unique earthy taste. This place looks bland, it just has 4 walls and 4 tables and is also understaffed.
Grill- perhaps the most exciting places to dine, with a bonfire and lovely staff- the yakhni soup is a must try with Lahori naan and Dal makhni. You must cover your ears and layer yourself with warm clothes because it is cold beyond belief here

Activities
The indoor climate controlled pool at Celsius ii is unbelievable. Don't forget to take your swimwear
The outdoor pool was too cold to even dip a toe
The hotel has a signature nishani walk ( 850/- plus tax)at 7.30 am which is beautiful but an exhausting climb for people who aren't used to hiking. They should think of having another batch at 9.30 types, so lazy travelers like me can make it.
The pottery workshop(850/- plus tax) is interesting and aptly situated near the children's creche, so your child is occupied whilst you pick up some skills. The lady here garima is really sweet and passionate about her craft.
The bake and bake workshop for kids( free) is good. The kids get to take a big piece of the cake they make, so they get really excited... But the location is very uncomfortable...it is in the kitchen of the hotel at the basement level so you can't leave your kids unAttended. So you ending up standing for an hour because there is no seating available. It would be great if the staff could have this at more convenient location where the parents can lounge whilst the kids are having fun
Jiva Spa- good therapies available and of course expensive. I had the lower back massage and the therapist was very good.
Dew- never gotta chance to visit, the timings are odd

Things to improve
We realized that our bathtub was leaking and we cudnt use it in our room, it was too late to change the room. Please check for gurgling noise in the bathtub when you inspect the room to avoid this
The buggy system is good, it takes about ten mins or more so ensure you call for the buggy a few mins before you are leaving the room
One time nobody answered the reception phone for a good half hour and we had to walk up the hill to have breakfast which is impossible with kids and senior citizen because the slope is almost vertical
There were no handwashes available in the washroom at indoor swimming pool, just body lotion. that's weird... Hygiene first , moisturizing second. Right no?
The activity centre with golf and Xbox is a nice spot to hang out

Positive points
The staff is amazing especially the trainees. A few people I'd like to mention- Deepak , niranjan , Gaurav, Santosh
The minute they know your are with a child and going to travel out of the property, they immediately pack a goody bag for the kid. They remember your favorite drink- mine was Bella coffee and they keep filling up your cup generously at no cost at the lobby. They are kind to kids and understanding of them- adding extra plain rice to your meal or a cup of dal or a lahori naanat no extra cost if your kid is a fussy eater. Mine is!
On our exit, they had left a sweet note thanking us for our stay and two packets of homegrown coorg coffee- very thoughtful!

Stuff they can do
Please keep more activities which aren't so expensive
Kindly keep room footwear for kids too, the floor is too cold
You should have a small steamer/ vaporizer available. My daughter had a bad cold and I couldn't give her a steam in the room so I took her to the steam room at the indoor swimming pool.
I don't know why hotels never keep a small bottle of talc along with the shampoos and lotions
You must have some program with bonfires and dance at the grill. I felt it was underutilized

Tips
If you are a honeymoon couple, this is the place to go to.
If you are a couple who loves to relax and take spas and meditate and read books then yes please
If you are a couple with two kids, you can still have a good time if they play with each other.
Couple with one child- please take another couple with a kid who gets along with your child coz you will not have even two minutes to yourself. The child gets bored here.
Large families- good place to go
Please carry enough warm clothes and a steamer if your allergic to cold and pollen
Cover your kids ears all the time or use cotton to plug ears
We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and hired a tourist vehicle from Bangalore who was with us throughout the stay and drove us around. We paid rs 13400/- total (which included 200 rs driver allowance per day)

Places to visit nearby if you are bored
Abby falls- strictly average
Bylakuppe- must visit, check the mini market at first camp.
Coorg market place near town hall- buy honey coffee and spices from Ganesh coffee. Small grocery shop called A.R enterprises sells their famous bella( goodh/ jaggery)
Eat at 'taste of coorg' - yummy!!!!

I do want to add in Hindi " mehman nawaazi sirf Taj Group kar sakte hain" rough translation " Nobody can take care of guests like the Taj Group'

Room tip: Check the bath tub Apparently the bliss cottage with the fireplace is also beautiful
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShinyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 December 2014 via mobile

We visited Taj for our 2nd Anniversary and I was amazed at how beautifully the property was planned and executed.

They have all individual cottages very privately set up.

Very good food and lot of options. Lot of activities indoor and outdoor. The pool is twmperature controlled
I did a bartending session with the FnB Manager (Hitesh) and it was insanely good.

The staff is very warm and welcoming.

When we went 60 out of 63 rooms were full but we dint feel like we dint get attention.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SmritiBajajGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your succinct review on the various elements of Vivanta by Taj - Madikeri, Coorg. We are delighted by your praise and recognition.

Service excellence with the urge to simply dazzle our guests is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality. People are indeed our biggest asset and I feel proud to be part of a team that continuously strives to offer warm, caring and genuine hospitality at all times. Ritesh is also thankful for the praises that you have for him.

It has given us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to enjoy.

Your extended family here at the hotel now looks forward to welcoming you back very soon to what we now hope is your new home in Coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

The rooms, the service, the food, the activities, the spa, the staff, Dr. Rai at the spa, The GM Krishan Kant everyone and everything was Absolutely Awesome.
You must try the local food, the grill by the pool - yumm food.
I will def be back. Can't wait.
Thank you for a wonderfully uplifting weekend :)

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjanast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your stay and for an amazing review.

I am proud to be working with a team of fantastic individuals who with their tremendous commitment to quality service create unforgettable experiences for all our guests. It is so special to know that you were impressed with all your interactions with the team. Dr. Reji is also very thankful to you for your appreciation.

Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service. Your extended family here at the hotel now looks forward to welcoming you back very soon to what we now hope is your new home in Coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

The positives are:
+ An email from the hotel, one day before, built up the mood for vacation. It included some info tidbits, maps to the hotel among other things.
+ While we were driving down, the hotel called up and asked if they could help us with the direction.
+ Brilliant view from lobby and room. Clean air. To use a cliche, really far from the maddening crowd.
+ Great temperature controlled swimming pool with brilliant view.
+ Nicely maintained gym with an enthusiastic instructor.
+ Nice yoga room with reasonably competent instructor.
+ Great behaviour by staff. There was no overtly-sugary-sweet obsequious behaviour which makes one uncomfortable. It was simple and plain friendly demeanour. Greatly appreciated.
+ Fresh fruit basket in room which was regularly replenished.
+ Good creche. Our kid was refusing to come with us when we went to pick her up.
+ Spacious bathroom stocked with quality toiletries. Immediate response when we asked for shaving kit and extra accessories.
+ Reasonably good breakfast buffet spread with nice view of the valley.

Neutral:
o Many reviewers have complained against the last stretch of the approach road (or mud track). The hotel also candidly alerted us about the same beforehand. Hence we had set our expectation accordingly and were not disappointed.

Negatives:
- Google-map directions work perfectly (till the last metre) in big cities. For faraway places like coorg it gets ambiguous. For last 25 kms (while driving down from bangalore) we were getting uneasy about the direction. If the hotel could have some road-side-boards saying "Vivanta X kms this way" from Mysore at regular intervals, it would help. Resorts like Amanvana and Club Mahindra do have such sign boards. Vivanta has it too for the last 6-7 kms. A little bit earlier, would have helped.
- A detailed booklet in the room explaining the facilities and features of the resort would have been nice to have.
- The TV picture quality and channels had room for improvement. I was not sure if it was poor quality of the screen or poor quality of transmission.
- The hotel pathways were too dark at night. I understand that keeping the jungle pristine is a priority. However the darkness sometimes felt eerie.
- At the restaurants, expectation of cleanliness and promptness-of-response was too high due to Taj brand. The buffet breakfast was good but for other meals, the high expectation was slightly belied. I cannot lay my finger on exact cause. May be slight spottiness on the cutlery, may be the little bit extra effort you need to catch the attention of waiters.

Room tip: I stayed in 104. Brilliant view, nice room. Cannot comment about other rooms.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sambaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 December 2014

The hotel is situated at least 10 kms from the town of Madikere. The roads are well marked.
Approach road from about the 6th km to the hotel is in terrible condition. If you have a low slung car, you need to be careful not to scrape the underside.
Once you reach there , its just an out of the world experience, the lobby overlooks the property which is spread across a few 100 acres and a few 1000 metres in altitude. One can feel the clouds on the lobby.
Its a light trek to go anywhere on foot inside the property. They have electric buggies which can be of your service anytime provided you let them know 15 mins in advance. There are a host of activities like clay modelling training inside the property , some of them are included in the stay while the others have a fee.
The staff was very courteous in our experience.

Room tip: Choose a room close to the bottom of the hill to avoid a long walk or buggy ride to the restaurants and pools down there.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bijoy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for an amazing feedback.

Our philosophy is to explore all opportunities to make the guests feel most comfortable and we did exactly that to ensure that you remember us fondly. Our hotel is a perfect blend of minimalism and elegance.

Pick your mound from the shapes in front of you, and when you’re ready, get your hands dirty. Feel a new life take shape I your hands, the persistent spinning of the wheel in sync with the little work of art. Let these sessions draw out the self-lost inside the banality of everyday chores

We are in the process of making alternative road which will alleviate the trouble of driving on bad patch of 300 metres, the work is in progress and very soon we will have an easy access to our property through one the most picturesque road.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future to Vivanta by Taj – Madikeri, Coorg.

Assuring you the best attention and services always.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews