We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CoCo View - Home Away from Home”
Review of CoCo View Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in French Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CoCo View Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2015

This was my fifth trip to CoCo View and, as always, the excellent staff made me feel right at home. This resort is a diver's paradise with daily boat dives and truly unlimited shore diving. The resort is accessible only by boat which makes it feel safe and private. There is an on-site dive shop where you can pick up the dive accessories that you forgot to bring along. An on-site photography shop with resident photographer, Tim Blanton will rent or sell underwater cameras and is a source of great advice. There are off-resort activities offered, but the real draw is the diving.

All rooms have AC and free wifi. The food is good and plentiful. There are on-site activities including lectures, a free buoyancy clinic, and live entertainment almost nightly.

Room Tip: We prefer the over the water bungalows, which are older than the over the water cabanas but are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2015

I visited this resort for a week, and my stay was not as expected. It definitely is a place for DIVING, just like many other professional diving centers on Roatan. They don't have private diving sites, they are same ones used by divers from other resorts. The resort has 3-4? pretty small and old boats that are used daily for divers. The rooms are cabins without any luxury, they only have the basic stuff you need to spend the night.

In regards to the food, I agree with the comments I've read from other divers that it's not great, it's just OK. The drinks aren't good, just like in most places on the island.
There is one thing that concerns me the most and that is that they don't have someone who is qualified for open water emergencies. The staff members at the dive center are very nice, but some are only nice because they expect a good tip.

Summarizing all that I've said, I think the Resort is overrated and it's basically just for divers. There are no attractions for non-divers. They have old facilities that could use a little restoring, the food is average, the dive sites are great, as are most of the dive sites on Roatan. After this experience, I don't think I would go back to this Resort. I'd rather spend my time and money diving somewhere else in America.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

If scuba diving is your thing, this place is not to be missed. They like to think of themselves as a live aboard that happens to be on land and they're hitting the mark. There are 100 dive sites within a 30 minute boat ride and all of them are fantastic (or at least each one that I've been to). The highlights include the many ship wrecks nearby and especially CoCoView's own "front yard" that includes two walls, a shipwreck, and a DC-3 all diveable from shore.

The daily rhythm is typically to get on the boats at 8:30 for a trip to a dive site. After that dive and a sufficient surface interval, they'll drop you off at either of the walls or on top of the shipwreck for a dive with a shore exit right at the resort. One of the best aspects is the underwater navigation system of buoys, chains, and lines to assist in navigating: it's hard to get lost. Repeat the routine in the afternoon. 5 dives per day if you want them though most people average 3.75 or so.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daneslennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

As always the people at CoCo View go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as can be. this was our 14th trip to CoCo View and will not be our last. our boat Captain Gringo and our Dive Master Bob made diving fun and safe as the sea was a little choppy so thanks for the moon hole in the center of the boat made it a lot easier to get back on board . food was great as was expected. I think most people who were new to CoCo View will be back. so if you want to dive give CoCo View a try. dive as much as your computer allows Hope to see everyone next March

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Reviews on TA should spell out the basis for the poster's prior experiences. I am a PADI Instructor, certified in 1969, been traveling all around the planet diving. I go to many places with the European dive press (magazines), and altho I go to many places for free, my wife and I always gladly pay for our annual trip to Coco View. Between us, after this last trip, we have spent a sum total 85 weeks there over some 50 trips since 1984. I have seen the diving world evolve, I have seen CCV just getting better and batter at what it focuses upon being: a dive resort.

CCV is a diving machine, front to back. Where else can you get 27 dives in a week on a schedule even this old man with a limp can keep up with? It starts at the airport which is your typical Central American mess. CCV has it covered, worked out, and Nora (who is the CCV rep there) will make your transfers (both ways) as painless as possible. You'll not have to touch your bags. Get on the a/c bus, go to the resort.

At CCV, I suggest you re-hydrate upon arrival and begin to dive the next morning. The resort orientation is a quick 40 minute introduction to what is available and how to get the most out of your stay. It is followed by an in-water tour orientation of the "Front Yard", the resort's shore dive. You'll learn the path through the shallow reef, where the intact and upright 140' tanker ship lies in 35-65fsw, the DC3 wreck, all the underwater landmarks. The dive boats are perfectly suited by design for local conditions. They are just this side of ADA handicapped accessible, as is the rest of the resort.

Here are some of the local wrecks: http://s221.photobucket.com/user/Doc_Adelman/library/My%20Lifes%20a%20Wreck?sort=3&page=1

Dive boats leave the dock at 08:30 and 14:00. They give you a moored dive, then after a SI, they will drop you off on CCV Wall or Newman's Wall so you can make a leisurely return to the shore dive exit. With this schedule, you're on shore by 11:40 in time for lunch, then nap until the 2:00 boat. After the afternoon drop off dive, you'll be coming ashore about 4:45, and you'll have plenty of free time before dinner at 6:20. We usually do our night dive at 8 p.m., sometimes another at 10:00 p.m. Sleep, Eat, Dive, Dive, Eat, Nap, Dive, Dive, Nap, Eat, Dive, Dive, repeat for the week.

This zone of diving is unique in the Caribbean. CCV sits amid a 9 mile stretch of shallow vertical sunlit walls that are a nursery for the rest of the Ocean. It is what I refer to as "advanced diving", not because of current, nothing like that- it requires good buoyancy and close-up observational skills in order to see "the good stuff". Like this: http://s221.photobucket.com/user/Doc_Adelman/library/Roatan%20South%20side%20CoCoView?sort=6&page=1

Here are some images that really tell the story: http://s221.photobucket.com/user/Doc_Adelman/library/CoCoView%20Explained%20in%20Pictures?sort=6&page=1

What you get here is what you want: a very consistent and reliable product. There are very few dive resorts remaining in the Caribbean, and on Roatan there are arguably three remaining from my criteria. Far and away, here at Coco View, you have the best choice... IF you wanted a dive vacation- not a vacation with some diving. Your call. But CCV is the place that all of the professional highly regarded published SCUBA photographers hang their hats... the ones that shoot for the SCUBA magazines, the ones that publish critter identification guides, the ones for naturalist magazines. They all dive out of Coco View.

You can get a lot more and better information about CCV by visiting http://www.scubaboard.com/forums/bay-islands/

Best there is in the Mar Caribe.

Room Tip: All rooms have their benefits, over the water is nice, but on-shore rooms have their draw as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank WillGrovel4Upgrades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
5.1 km away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
614 reviews
20.4 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 km away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Anthony's Key Resort
Anthony's Key Resort
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
1,145 reviews
20.2 km away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
20.0 km away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo View Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo View Resort

Address: French Harbour, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range: ₹ 10,732 - ₹ 13,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CoCo View dive and snorkel resort on Roatan is perfectly situated for the ocean lover - tucked behind extensive shallow coral formations and spectacular open water drop-offs. 29 air-conditioned over-water bungalows, over-water cabanas, and oceanfront rooms. Oceanfront clubhouse with dining areas, briefing room and game room, free wireless internet, PADI 5Star dive shop, 50 foot dive / snorkel boats, retail boutique and a private cay for picnics, barbecues, and entertainment. Spectacular snorkeling and scuba diving is right out the front door and accessible 24 hours a day. Access to the resort is by short boat ride from the main road. Meals are included with all CoCo View packages. All Roatan attractions are easily accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco View Hotel Roatan
Coco View Roatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing