We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas(French Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 186
US$ 177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Las Verandas Hotel & Villas(French Harbour)
US$ 256
US$ 248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Point Resort(French Harbour)
US$ 223
Priceline
View Deal
US$ 328
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puerta Azul(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 155
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pirates Den Hotel(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
US$ 48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef House Resort(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Bahia Resort(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 157
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
183
374
211
125
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
374
211
125
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishstar resortwest endporkthree starguinea pigswhite faced monkeysfriendly monkeysmain beachhenry morganplenty of fresh fruitfrench friescoral reefbuffet stylenight lifeevery mealsoups
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We just returned from a week at Fantasy Island. We were a little scared after reading all the bad reviews but were pleasantly surprised with Fantasy Island. It was cloudy and rained almost the entire week and despite that, we had a wonderful time. Our room was one of the renovated rooms so it was clean with hot water and good water pressure. There was fresh fish and fruit everyday and cold drinks at the bar. The diving was spectacular in spite of the tropical depression and the boats went out even if there was only 1 diver who wanted to go. The staff was phenomenal and by the end of the week knew your name and how you liked your drinks. If you are the type that needs luxury and pampering, find another property. The rest of us were just fine here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc95fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We arrived at Fantasy Island slightly frustrated by the fact that one of our bags had not arrived, so our first impressions were that the place seemed a little tired and run down, however the room we were given was one of the newer ones to the left of the front desk and it was a good size, clean, cool and with a nice view from the balcony. I found the bed very comfortable and slept wonderfully well all week, although the fact we did so much diving may have helped with that.

The set up with the dive operation is the best I have experienced. The boats are large, our captain and divemaster were great and they seemed to find the perfect blend of being a guide but letting people do their own dives. Although there were 12 of us on the boat all week, it never felt crowded. Having fresh fruit, cold water and towels on the boat was great and being able to store dive gear at the dock rather than having to carry it back to the room was also a big plus.

Outside of the diving there wasn't a lot to do at the hotel. The beach area was pretty nice and the pool was fine too, but the hotel was very quiet and I imagine it must have been completely deserted during the day when most people were diving. Things like the swim-up bar and anything much in the way of evening entertainment were not operating the week we were there.

As far as the food is concerned, I can understand why some people complain about it, but we always found good things to eat at every meal. My only complaint was that because of the buffett style a lot of the food was not as hot as I would have liked.

We have stayed at a couple of other all inclusive places in the past and if you came here expecting a true all-inclusive resort, I think you would be disappointed by the lack of activities outside of diving and limited restaurant and drink choices compared to a true all inclusive.

If however, like us, you come here mainly for diving, it really is an incredibly good deal and for the price we paid we found it to be a wonderful relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

So we set this up with Island Marketing. We were looking forward to this stay being there before and visiting 5 other beaches on Roatan. We did not want to go to the popular Mohagany Bay because of over crowding. However we were disappointed when we got there. The view was gorgeous and the site looked ok. The facilities looked pretty rundown but we did not stay in the rooms. The beach was covered in chip backs, water bottles and trash floating all through the water. Swimming out 5' there was no trash but it wasn't nice wading through it! We were promised sea kayaks to go around and there was only one for the entire beach. We were told we would receive a beer or cocktail at the bar and they would not give it to us! The pool looked nice, but the water was very cloudy and after swimming in pools on ship and in Cozumel, Mexico that was not pleasing. We cut our tour short because of the conditions and it was the worst beach we have experience in Roatan. We love the island and it is absolutely gorgeous, but spend your money and go to Tambien!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We booked this from the website for Island marketing and was a little concerned of booking this outside of the cruise ship. It was perfect and we were so glad we did! The Fantasy Island resort is complete with monkeys who will take food out of your hand, huge iguanas, sand/hermit crabs, and good snorkeling. We got one of the cabanas/beach beds and it was a really out of a movie. Perfect weather, comfortable bed to read and sun bath in, good snorkeling, and clear water.
We loved our driver and found out her sister runs this excursion. The driver waited the entire time at the resort for us and explained the history, customs, and why she loved Roatan. It was a little run down but still nice and we felt very safe the entire time. We had such a relaxing and good time there we plan on going back and just staying there.
We liked the fact everything the resort had was included but be aware if you wanted to kayak they only have ONE. Another couple we came with was very disappointed that they had to wait 4 hours to get it since they only had one kayak. The hammock they also say they have is torn so don't plan on using that. But for the price and how nice it was it was totally worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srpiccollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Very nice place with an amazing location.We were a bit concerned at first about the reviews that have been posted here, but we were surprisingly happy with the hotel. The hotel is a bit run down, but still clean with a very comfortable size of rooms. We had an amazing view from our balcony and the food was good (you could always have a fresh piece of meat of fish prepared and the salad bar is also really nice! and a s mentioned before...the ice cream is delicious).
We also had a wonderful experience with the diving school!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews