We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Reviewed 8 October 2010

It was quiet, especially when all divers left. Had a newer room. Staff were very friendly. Fresh fish daily was amazing & so was the icecream. Could snorkle right off the quiet beach & see all sorts of amazing sea life. The snorkelling wasn't impressive off the main beach. The monkeys were cute to watch so long as no one pestered them, and some people did. We really enjoyed our stay. Felt comfortable & safe at all times.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Fantasy Island Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 389 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

We just returned from a week at Fantasy Island. We were a little scared after reading all the bad reviews but were pleasantly surprised with Fantasy Island. It was cloudy and rained almost the entire week and despite that, we had a wonderful time. Our room was one of the renovated rooms so it was clean with hot water and good water pressure. There was fresh fish and fruit everyday and cold drinks at the bar. The diving was spectacular in spite of the tropical depression and the boats went out even if there was only 1 diver who wanted to go. The staff was phenomenal and by the end of the week knew your name and how you liked your drinks. If you are the type that needs luxury and pampering, find another property. The rest of us were just fine here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc95fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We arrived at Fantasy Island slightly frustrated by the fact that one of our bags had not arrived, so our first impressions were that the place seemed a little tired and run down, however the room we were given was one of the newer ones to the left of the front desk and it was a good size, clean, cool and with a nice view from the balcony. I found the bed very comfortable and slept wonderfully well all week, although the fact we did so much diving may have helped with that.

The set up with the dive operation is the best I have experienced. The boats are large, our captain and divemaster were great and they seemed to find the perfect blend of being a guide but letting people do their own dives. Although there were 12 of us on the boat all week, it never felt crowded. Having fresh fruit, cold water and towels on the boat was great and being able to store dive gear at the dock rather than having to carry it back to the room was also a big plus.

Outside of the diving there wasn't a lot to do at the hotel. The beach area was pretty nice and the pool was fine too, but the hotel was very quiet and I imagine it must have been completely deserted during the day when most people were diving. Things like the swim-up bar and anything much in the way of evening entertainment were not operating the week we were there.

As far as the food is concerned, I can understand why some people complain about it, but we always found good things to eat at every meal. My only complaint was that because of the buffett style a lot of the food was not as hot as I would have liked.

We have stayed at a couple of other all inclusive places in the past and if you came here expecting a true all-inclusive resort, I think you would be disappointed by the lack of activities outside of diving and limited restaurant and drink choices compared to a true all inclusive.

If however, like us, you come here mainly for diving, it really is an incredibly good deal and for the price we paid we found it to be a wonderful relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

So we set this up with Island Marketing. We were looking forward to this stay being there before and visiting 5 other beaches on Roatan. We did not want to go to the popular Mohagany Bay because of over crowding. However we were disappointed when we got there. The view was gorgeous and the site looked ok. The facilities looked pretty rundown but we did not stay in the rooms. The beach was covered in chip backs, water bottles and trash floating all through the water. Swimming out 5' there was no trash but it wasn't nice wading through it! We were promised sea kayaks to go around and there was only one for the entire beach. We were told we would receive a beer or cocktail at the bar and they would not give it to us! The pool looked nice, but the water was very cloudy and after swimming in pools on ship and in Cozumel, Mexico that was not pleasing. We cut our tour short because of the conditions and it was the worst beach we have experience in Roatan. We love the island and it is absolutely gorgeous, but spend your money and go to Tambien!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We booked this from the website for Island marketing and was a little concerned of booking this outside of the cruise ship. It was perfect and we were so glad we did! The Fantasy Island resort is complete with monkeys who will take food out of your hand, huge iguanas, sand/hermit crabs, and good snorkeling. We got one of the cabanas/beach beds and it was a really out of a movie. Perfect weather, comfortable bed to read and sun bath in, good snorkeling, and clear water.
We loved our driver and found out her sister runs this excursion. The driver waited the entire time at the resort for us and explained the history, customs, and why she loved Roatan. It was a little run down but still nice and we felt very safe the entire time. We had such a relaxing and good time there we plan on going back and just staying there.
We liked the fact everything the resort had was included but be aware if you wanted to kayak they only have ONE. Another couple we came with was very disappointed that they had to wait 4 hours to get it since they only had one kayak. The hammock they also say they have is torn so don't plan on using that. But for the price and how nice it was it was totally worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srpiccollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
2.0 km away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
20.0 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.6 km away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
19.6 km away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,471 reviews
19.8 km away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasy Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, French Harbour, French Harbour, Roatan IB3110, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range: ₹ 10,607 - ₹ 18,514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fantasy Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Caribbean at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive and Marina! Our Roatan, Honduras resort is located on its own 21 acre private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fantasy Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Island Beach Hotel Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Roatan
Fantasy Island Roatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing