We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$70
Vio.com$70
eDreams$60
Etrip$70
Tripadvisor$60
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
67
10
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
67
10
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning other guests fresh breakfast jungle oasis surrounded by nature permaculture farm ometepe island maderas volcano central america megan atv junior property jackfruit hammocks trees cabin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2020

We stayed in the Farmhouse for 2 nights - it was wonderful. After spending time in San Juan del Sur, Leon, and Granada, as well as a night in another spot on Isla de Ometepe, this was our favourite. Staff were wonderful, the accomodations were excellent and it was well worth the money. Would definitely stay there again.
Thanks for a beaufiful end to our Nicaraguan holiday!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mishtess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 January 2020

Sorry to say I wasn't as impressed as other travellers.

On the plus side, Ometepe is an incredible volcanic island, with amazing wildlife (definitely check out Reserva Charco Verde, over two visits we say a coral snake, a horse tarantula, howler monkey families and tonnes of birds), volcano trecking (you need to be seriously fit but an incredible experience) and kayaking (there is a river through the island with incredible birdlife, worth going with a guide to make the most of it).

Sadly, we didn't feel we picked the best place to stay on the island.

The issues were that:

- we booked with booking.com for a room called "rustic suite with forest view". We understood that the guesthouses are set up almost like tree-houses, so you have a great viewpoint to see the birdlife in the canopy. We ended up with a ground-floor room which was comfy enough but no view at all.

- this wouldnt have been much of an issue at all if there had been a decent common area, perhaps on one of the raised platforms they have. Instead the only common area is a small space around the kitchen without any proper hammocks and with loud music pumping a staff phone during the daytime. Not a good place to chill.

If you do book here, perhaps use airbnb for more info on which room you will actually stay in or contact the property in advance to get more detail, as it will make a big difference. Some of the other rooms looked stunning...

The other issue was that the manager on duty kept changing every day, which meant everything was a bit hectic. For example I had booked to do a treck up Conception Volcano and specifically agreed a start time of 8am as I knew I'd be able to do the treck faster than the normal 8-10 hours suggested. However, that morning I was informed the guide was waiting for me at 5am. I was also informed that the guide would cost 25 USD instead of 30 USD, and due to his waiting, I had to pay an extra 25 USD for transport on top of that.

Further, the property is a good 20 min walk to the nearest town of Balgue, and doesnt serve lunch or dinner. There are a couple of take-away options available, but on one evening both were too busy to service take-aways so being exhausted after a day of exploring, we just went to bed.

This remoteness is good in a way as you are in a kind of oasis of quiet, but to get around the island you really need your own transport, so we hired a scooter (not cheap in itself at 20 USD/day) but you cant get to the property itself with this, you need a dirt bike or a very expensive quad bike (I heard they went for 80 USD) to make it all the way up the dirt trail from the main road.

Finally, I never undertand why eco-lodges based amongst incredible wildlife decide to keep dogs. There are a couple on the property, and one of them brought a dead chicken back one afternoon (much to the manager's shock, it has to be said!) and dogs generally scare away small land animals and some types of birds that might otherwise be spotted.

Having said all this, we didn't feel ripped off as such, the staff were all very friendly and Ometepe is a magical island. But standards were set so high in other places we stayed at during 5 weeks travelling around Nicaragua, the niggling issues listed above meant that this place was probably the only dissapointment.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kotinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
selvistaometepe, Guest Relations Manager at Selvista Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Hi,

we're so sorry we didn't live up to your expectations!

We would echo your advice about checking carefully which house you are renting. All of the canopy-top houses and volcano views are described as such. You chose the most economic suite, which we describe as 'forest view' in the name becasuse it has only that. We did offer to upgrade you for the nights that the volcano view houses were available but you did not want to pay the extra. We also offered you a free upgrade on your last night but you did not want to move! On that note, the houses are very clearly described on Booking.com (no need to reserve via airbnb if you don't wish to). Simply click the name of the house you are reserving and the photos of that specific house appear. The description fopr that house clearly states " Entire unit located on ground floor"
You can also see descriptions and photos for each accommodation style here https://www.theselvistaexperience.com/guesthouse-collection

The manager is always the same and is available to contact via whatsapp even when not at the farm, the receptionist can change of course. We cannot have the same staff member on duty all day every day. They work in shifts.

We're not sure where the confusion about the hiking time came from. Guides will not leave that late for Conception volcano. 5 or 6am is the time to set off there, depending on your chosen transport method. (This is all thoroughly explained in the info books in the room which we have prepared for all guest's convenience.) Leaving later means hiking at the hottest time of day and missing potential views. Guides need to prepare for the average hiker, as many people think it is less of a hike than it is and often underestimate the difficulty level. Our guides are experienced enough to make the best judgement call on that.

We are at the base of Maderas, so no travel times or expenses for that hike. As you noted the island is large and attractions are spread out. Saying that, you can take the bus across to the trail head of Conception for less than $2. If you must take a taxi last minute, as it seems you did, that is more expensive for sure.

Regarding transport on the island, it isn't the cheapest unfortunately. Gas prices here are the highest in the country and - being an island - repairs and parts often have to be done/bought on the mainland. This of course reflects in the pricing here. However you can rent a new, sturdy, well-maintained ATV for $65, including having it dropped off and collected from your chosen destination on island. You are also misinformed about the need for a 4x4 to get to the property. We have created a private parking area just below the houses for those on scooters/in low cars.

Finally, our dogs: we choose to keep them for company and security. They are common place on the island and most households here have one or two. The unfortunate incident with the chicken is not commonplace and our pup Navi is now aware that bringing us dead animals is not appreciated. :( Most people find these lovable dogs the one of the highlights of their stay, but that is of course down to personal preference. We still see plenty of wildlife on the farm even with them around. Monkeys, squirrels, agoutis and deer are often spotted here.

Thanks for all your comments. We're happy you found the staff friendly and welcoming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019

The location of this beautiful and well managed property is a perfect escape for those wanting to be in a lush, jungle atmosphere yet with the comforts. Thoughtful designing is evident here! The added bonus is the easy walking distance to local eateries and activities AND the great manager Megan and hospitable staff .. thanks to all for a great stay!!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Esther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2019

A little piece of jungle paradise. The rooms are amazing, surrounded by beautiful jungle. The kitchen is bang on with everything you need to cook up a feast with a bunch of different herbs/spices for you to use. The perfect place to forget about the world for a bit. Definitely plan on staying longer then you thought you would.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 80feetunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
selvistaometepe, Manager at Selvista Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Was a pleasure having you both here! Can't wait for the next round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2019

This place is amazing. The staff was great and our host Megan was exceptional. She booked taxis/shuttles for us, tours, and even had an ATV rental delivered to us. Had a fantastic view of the stars and hearing the different animals at night was spectacular. Definitely would come back here whenever I am in Ometepe.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank OneLoveJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
selvista, Public Relations Manager at Selvista Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments.

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and your island adventures. The surroundings are spectacular!

We'd love to see you back here someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews