We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a relaxing beach break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
We aim to make holidaying with children as stress-free as possible.
Rock Lobster is located on the award winning Whitesand development at Camber Sands.
We are proud of our 4* Gold Award from Enjoy England.
We welcome dogs as Rock Lobster.
Church Square in Rye, a picture perfect ancient town just 3 miles away.
Ypres Castle in Rye, one of many attractions within a few miles of Rock Lobster.
Mermaid Street in Rye (3 miles away) is one of the prettiest cobbled streets in the UK.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness.
Dungeness a baron landscape but a great place to explore - much loved by photographers and artists.
Bodiam Castle, one of many National Trust properties within a short drive of Camber Sands.
The 'little train' - The Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway - a great family day out.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anna C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing beach break”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Rock Lobster for the first week of the school holidays with our children age 3 and 6. This was a great base to access the beautiful sandy beach at Camber and was easy to get to from the train station at Rye (15 minute taxi journey).

The house was nicely decorated and well kept, and perfect for a family of four. Everything had been thought of, from the wide selection of children's games and books (my son enjoyed learning to play Scrabble) to the wind break and buckets and spades in the shed. The scones and jam on arrival were an unexpected bonus and tasted delicious.

Camber itself is quite quiet, but perfect for a lazy beach break. The stunning beach is 5-10 minutes walk away over the dunes. You would probably need a car to get out and about to visit the nearby attractions, but the bus to Rye runs from almost outside Rock Lobster and is definitely worth a visit - make sure you stop at Knoops for a hot chocolate!

We'd thoroughly recommend a stay at Rock Lobster.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amenities
Liked least: Wind on the beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Rye is such a beautiful town and Knoops is one of my favourite places too. There is also a very pleasant traffic free cycle route into Rye from Camber Sands, about 3 miles and all of it flat (until you reach Rye itself!). Park your bike at the bottom of the hill and walk in.

I am pleased you found all the children's equipment, games and beach kit and caboodle helpful. So much easier when you don't have to bring absolutely everything with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal, comfortable base near lovely sandy beach and dunes.”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Well appointed house. Comfortable beds. All very clean. Dog friendly, our dog loved the beach. Delicious welcoming scones and home made jam. House tastefully decorated and nice patio to relax on. Rock Lobster is on a very attractive estate which was very quiet.
Short walk over the road to clean, sandy beach. Lovely dunes.
Good restaurant only minutes away called 'Gallivant'. Lovely garden to enjoy a drink in.
Went to see Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness which was beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We regularly visit Dungeness ourselves and often stop to wander around Derek Jarman's garden. It's a fascinating place. I hope you found the book in the cottage about his amazing garden interesting too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam M
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Stay at Rock Lobster”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We travelled to Camber Sands for a family wedding in the Galivant which is just a few minutes walk from Rock Lobster, which was great as we had young children with us.

The house itself was beautifully decorated and very well maintained. It was just perfect for a family of 4. Carol has thought of everything that clients might need for their stay at Rock Lobster. There was lots of games and books for the children to enjoy so they never got bored but what they loved best was Oscar the Owl (he's felt!) they had a great time with him and took him out and about and even to the wedding!

Rock Lobster is very well located with just a few minutes walk to the beach and the local amenities. I would definitely recommend it as a place to stay if you have a wedding in the Galivant, or even just for a break away. We had a fantastic time and my boys were very sad leaving!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic - the house was exactly as advertised.
Liked least: There was nothing that i didn't like about our stay.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
We are pleased you found Rock Lobster both comfortable and convenient. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful restaurant as The Gallivant within a few minutes' walk, it is always a pleasure to have wedding guests stay at Rock Lobster.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Numo71
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, well kept and Ideal location to explore the local area!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was perfect for our family. The house was well kept and had everything we needed to relax and enjoy our mini break. Carol is very helpful as was Jamie from the welcoming team and the scones, jam etc were a lovely added bonus! The dunes are great fun and kept everyone amused for hours. Ideally located to explore the surrounding area....we look forward to returning soon. Many thanks

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda D
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful cottage in Camber Sands. Just a few minutes walk from sandy beaches and beautiful sand dunes. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you would need, including a very useful outside hose for sandy dogs! It is really good to find such a welcoming cottage which is also very dog friendly. A real home from home and very delightful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very dog friendly
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
I'm pleased you found the cottage well equipped and very dog friendly. We strive to make the cottage as comfortable for those with and without dogs and ensure all traces of "dog" are removed through extra deep cleaning after a dog has stayed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing