We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing place for get-together.”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
176 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 176 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GrandmaB4...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing place for get-together.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the week for all 3 cottages so the whole family (plus young children) could have a break together. The children all loved the trampoline and the adults loved the relaxing atmosphere. On some days we each visited various places in the area, but all met up in the evening for long chats/meals. There are plenty of games/jigsaws available in the boot room so no need to take your own, and also the games room available for pool/ping pong etc. A great place for stargazing and bird watching from the terrace of Swallow Barn. Also, within walking distance of White Haywood Farm for a lovely meal, including take-away fish and chips on the Thursday. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday for family to meet up and relax. Thanks to Ruth and Ken for all their helpful advice and photographic abilities!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The accommodation was very thoughtfully and beautifully equipped, everything you could want. The boot room was an unexpected bonus, and, together with the games room proved ideal for our teenagers. The farm is great to explore. Ruth and Ken are wonderful and welcoming hosts; 'above and beyond' doesn't do them justice! Will definitely go back. The ONLY downside is that whilst the rural lifestyle is wonderfully relaxed, TIME is definitely not - it goes too fast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything great
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revbob7
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect break”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The tranquil setting, beautifully designed and equipped facilities and the kind hospitality from Ken and Ruth ensured that the week was a perfect break for us. Our labrador made the most of the farm meadows and found shade on the patio. We have no hesitation giving Dukes Farm the highest recommendation. We even booked a return visit while we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the accommodation
Liked least: loved it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J M
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightfully relaxing”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at the Goose Cotts for a week and it was perfect. Quiet, relaxing, more than comfortable and the perfect base to walk, cycle and drink coffee.

Thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting the above. We are already booking to go back in October 2014. Since coming back family members have stayed and also booked again. It's perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chubby_Tr...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, can't recommend highly enough!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my husband and another couple booked The Granary for the three nights commencing the 20th June. We were fortunate to score an amazingly hot weekend (although I don't think we can give Dukes Farm the credit for that bit).
What we can give them credit for:
Beautiful clean property.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Spotless Wet room with a superb shower (plus additional WC).
Comfy beds (waking up three mornings in a row without back ache really was a treat!).
Terrace which offered stunning views of the hills.
Little extras - what they called the 'Boot Room' contained a washing machine, landline telephone (there is not any mobile phone signal anywhere on the farm, which was actually quite liberating), dvd's, books & hangover cures.
There was a hand drawn map of the farm, all of which you were free to explore, along with an OS map of the the area for your use.
The owners Ken & Ruth were both very friendly and really made you feel welcome in their home. The area is a walkers paradise and they were able to advise plenty of walking ideas, as they have done most of them themselves.
We were the only guests staying on the property that weekend, so we had the terrace to ourselves and took the liberty of having a little nose into the other cottages, all looked equally lovely.
We visited 'The Bridge Inn' on the Sunday, which seemed very pleasant, we only had a couple of drinks but the food that was being delivered to other tables smelt and looked tasty. Be warned getting from the pub to the farm is not quite as easy as the other way around, there is a bit of uphill involved. However on a sunny day it is a perfect place to sit and enjoy a beer by the river. They were also advertising live music for the Friday night.
For couples, or family's, If you are looking for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings then I would highly recommend Dukes Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace
Liked least: The roads
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing