We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING! You cannot go wrong with this rental.”
Villa Esperanza
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Esperanza
Breakfast or sunset dining on the ocean front balcony patio Complete dining  whether being served by chef or your own home cooked meal
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Villa Esperanza
Breakfast or sunset dining on the ocean front balcony patio
Complete dining  whether being served by chef or your own home cooked meal
Spacious dining for 12, let Beach Grass stock the kitchen for your arrival
Ocean front TV Family room
Family room and Kitchen flow for an open great room
Gourmet kitchen fully equipped; gas BBQ off kitchen balcony
Hardwood bar floats between family room and kitchen
2nd level view of pool and  coastline
3rd level reading and media area
Buddha and front entry seating welcomes you to Villa Esperanza
Three level Hardwood floating staircase
Master suite with en suite bath on 1st level
Master en suite bath
Pool patio just off ground level bedrooms
Master suite on 1st level with pull out day bed/couch and shared en suite bath
Shared bath for master suite and bunk room
Bunk room with 4 full beds and shared en suite bath
Bunk room with 4 full beds and shared en suite bath
Massive local hardwood picnic table for undercover poolside dining/craft/game time.
Entry way/salon floats out to patio and infinity pool
Outdoor loungers and couches for sun or shade lovers
Private path to miles of sandy beaches, surf  and swimming.
Evening sky lights up this luxury Villa at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dymullen
Minnesota, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING! You cannot go wrong with this rental.”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We just got back from celebrating a wedding Anniversary for some dear friends and stayed at Villa Esperanza. The home is amazing with beautiful views, wonderful chef kitchen, space to relax and enjoy, great linens, and overall a well equipped home! Our caretaker, Mary, was absolutely wonderful and was able to arrange dinner in town, ATV rides, airport pick-up and in home chef dinner. Upon our arrival, the refrigerator was not working, but Mary delivered coolers full of ice and had a repair team there the next day. She was so much fun and great to work with. We look forward to our next trip to Playa Negra.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Wonderful meeting all of you and it was a pleasure to see you enjoy all that this home and area has to offer. I felt like I made a whole new group friends with your visit. Repairs do happen at any given time and you were very gracious and easy going while we got this repair done in less than 24 hours. Looking forward to your return visit. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Penticton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Villa Esperanza is a fantastic get away to paradise. The Villa is warm and inviting with an infinity pool right over the oceanfront. The villa is built around the pool courtyard and embraces the sea. Absolutely gorgeous scenery, 20 feet to sandy beach and a rolling surf 24/7. The guest rooms all have king beds and ensuites, all like a master suite. The kitchen is fully loaded and a beautiful dining room table that seats 12 for special occasions. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and everything is beautifully appointed. Down the beach is Playa Negra Beach Side Resort which offers full restaurant, bar and even outdoor yoga classes! Lola's beach front surfers hangout is a fun afternoon open bar with local food and non stop surfing action. If you want an upscale dining experience, Daveena's is just 2 minutes away, and brings you world class cuisine from a Michelin starred Chef from Paris, Patrick will tantalize your taste buds with his creative culinary talents in the kitchen while the rest of the family will cater to your every need. This was a very special restaurant in the middle of no where. Tamarindo is 30 minutes away and is a bustling surfers paradise with shore front hotels and bistros. A great day trip, chill out on the beach with some coronas & local cuisine, jump a wave and shop at the wonderful local boutiques. There is a Spa for the girls and golf course for the guys at the Marriott Resort 18 minutes away from Villa Esperanza. Another day trip with relaxed lunch setting. I highly recommend booking far in advance, this slice of paradise is the best vacation destination ever! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
It was pleasure to have you and your family for the Christmas holidays to enjoy a warm tropical vacation! Villa Esperanza is a spacious, welcoming home perfect for large groups and extended family gatherings. And the Playa Negra and surrounding area always has plenty to offer with great dining, adventure activities or just lounging on the beach or pool side. I look forward to hosting you again on your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omissmarn
Muskoka District, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Trip of a Lifetime !!!”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We recently enjoyed a family vacation (6 adults, a 6 month, a 10 month and a 2 ½ year old) here. It was a great property to share with our family. The pool, which was spotless, was perfect for playing in with the grandchildren.
The property was exactly as advertised - in fact, more awesome than the pictures!! It is very obvious that the owners take great pride in this property. The property manager was waiting for us with the key and instructions upon our arrival. A book was provided with all kinds of useful information which we referred to often. With respect to their property being suitable for people with disabilities, there are bedrooms and bathrooms on the main floor but the kitchen is on the second floor.
The house was fully stocked with all linens - from kitchen linens to bathroom linens and pool towels. The kitchen is nicely equipped with everything we needed and everything was in perfect working order. Brenda, one of the property managers, even set up a visit right to our door with one of the local fresh fish vendors. We purchased shrimp and sea bass which both were wonderful.
The beach in front of the property is not suitable for swimming (perfect for kids to play in the sand though) but it is only a short stroll to great beaches for swimming and surfing. This is a very well known area for surfing and both surf lessons and board rentals are available at Hotel Playa Negra which is only a few minutes down the beach. Our family took advantage of both the lessons and rentals there and were very pleased with the experience.
We used the services of Chef Michelle on two occasions and really enjoyed her meals. Everything is homemade and delicious. She arrives with all the food, sets up, serves and cleans up. A nice break !!
We walked to the local pizzeria and had great pizzas. The owner was so friendly and we enjoyed his young son joining us for lunch. We went to Lola's twice for lunch and definitely recommend a visit there.
One thing to keep in mind is that grocery stores are very far and we recommend that you bring as many groceries with you upon your arrival. There is a very large grocery store in Tamarindo which we used twice. The drive to Tamarindo is over very rough roads and takes about 45 minutes to get there; however, the selection there is very good and includes wine, beer and liquor.
We rented Pathfinders for our traveling and found it was the perfect vehicle.
This was a beautiful property and we made so many "forever" memories there. It is a vacation we will never forget.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home and the beach
Liked least: It was quite a distance to drive to get groceries.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma N
Beloit, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Esperanza at the end of May this year with 3 couples and this property was PERFECT! It has 3 amazing master suites all with their own bathrooms and each had an incredible view of the ocean. We couldn't not have found a more perfect place to stay where we didn't have to worry about someone missing out on the good room with a view. The house layout was great. Plenty of open space and places for people to relax and have their privacy if desired. We all enjoyed the pool and loved eating our meals on the balcony where we could enjoy the sunsets and ocean views.

Working with the house manager made the trip much easier to plan. She was very easy to work with and set us up with private transport from the airport, car rental, private chef, and other activities. It was awesome having someone there to help us get everything planned without worry of being ripped off or having a bad service.

While at the house some of us had massages set up by the house manager. The therapist came right to the house and the service was some of the best ever! We even set up to have them come back a second day on our stay. We also had the private chef come in and prepare meals for us, this is a MUST! The chefs are the BEST! We could not say enough about them. We had some picky eaters and they were more than willing to work around our needs and be more than accommodating. We added extra meals on by the chef as well because of how great it was!

I would highly recommend Villa Esperanza to anyone looking. It is an awesome retreat that is a perfect getaway for family or friends. We would go there again in a heart beat! The house is one of a kind and you couldn't ask for more with the service! Best vacation I could have asked for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Amazing views and large house with plenty of private spaces for all to enjoy.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Live-n-th...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to just be in the moment!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous beach front luxury home that is new and very well appointed. Wonderful place to stay with adults and/or children with secluded beach. EVERY room but one had a view of the ocean. Private and guarded, we could really relax and just take it all in. After a week in the busy town of Tamarindo this house & location was very welcomed. Both owner & property manager were exceptional to deal with. Beds and linens were top notch. Try the canopying (zip-line)Tip: bring in your own food as restaurants are limited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house architecture and ocean views
Liked least: Restaurants
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing