We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
112
37
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
37
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed and breakfast a lovely stay tour company main plaza would definitely stay here again spent nights air conditioning coffee maker hanging bed villa master mara jupiter rangel volcano hammocks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Casa Alvarada is a very comfortable accommodation. The rooms are well appointed and clean. There is a lovely garden with hammocks or a hanging bed to rest and siesta in. You have a choice of breakfast included or not. Breakfast was fresh and satisfying! Jupiter is a wealth of information on all things Comala and surrounding area. He is an avid bird watcher and offers tours of every description. Ask him about the local taco scene....

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank samcan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing, you should try it and discover why it's the first recommendation to stay in comala, nice people and very clean rooms, near to the main plaza and you can walk around without any problem.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Amadohg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We had a very good experience at Casa Alvarada and with Jupiter our guide. Other than checkin we did not see Mara again in the 3 days we were there. Our room was quite new, nicely decorated and a big walk in shower. We had TV, a great fan, A/C and a coffee maker, mugs etc. We found the room very restful, quiet and cool. Jupiter guided us on two mornings. One we went for a good hike up near the volcano with spectacular views, avocado orchard and visited a coffee farm. The next day we hiked down into a canyon with tropical foliage, river and suspension bridge. Jupiter kept up a running commentary on all the local flora and fauna and is quite an expert on birds as well. My only comments re improvements would be to provide more drinking water for your guests and if booking a hike provide a small breakfast to the room beforehand would be nice. The B & B was clean and the small garden well kept. It also felt quite secure.

Room tip: I would recommend one of the two rooms in the 2 storey building at the back.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Last year (February, 2017) my wife and I, went to Comala to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We spent 7 nights at Casa Alvarada and LOVED IT! I told my wife we would return with our daughters, and before we knew it, we were back with our two daughters. My daughters have our taste, they LOVED It as well. I want to thank all the staff, especially LIZ who was very helpful with ALL of our requests. God willing we will see you soon.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jcervantes1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The rooms were clean and pretty comfortable. We went with another couple. They stayed in a standard room with that had a mosquito net over the bed... a good idea during the rainy season. The room was air conditioned.The only water they had to drink was a pitcher that was provided. The bathroom was nicely renovated. We stayed in the Villa Master Suite.It had a kitchen, ( but nothing to light the stove with or clean up with until the second day when we asked for it), air conditioning, basic shower in bathroom. Also had a terrace with a table for four. The major disappointment was that there was no breakfast available in this B&B , even though the hotel was fully booked. And there is no place that opens for breakfast in town before the 8:30 tour. We felt misled by all of the literature in the room about the wonderful breakfast and the rave reviews. Other than that, the place was clean and quiet.

Room tip: Check if there is a mosquito net in your room. , The Villas Master Suite that has a kitchen, dining area and couches to sit on.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComalaMagicalTown, General Manager at Casa Alvarada, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello,
We appreciate your comments and glad that you had a nice stay in regards to your breakfast, when you booked your rooms you made the reservation without breakfast, due that we want to provide a better service for our guests we have the option to book with breakfast or with out breakfast to improve our prices. We are sorry that you had this experience and hope next time you can try our great breakfasts. Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews