We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not hesitate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tixkokob
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not hesitate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at the Hacienda. To sum up our stay, our expectations were surpassed. We were hoping for a romantic Mexican hacienda stay, and the place actually surpassed our expectations with beautiful old world buildings/rooms that were maintained/decorated to perfection, well maintained grounds with lots of flowers and birds (waking up to birds chirping instead of alarm clocks was fantastic) and very friendly/accomodating staff. They arranged a great romantic dinner for us by their Banyan tree (a more romantic experience for us than a similar dinner experience we had on a beach in Tahiti), as well as cande-lit plunge pool evenings.
The only 'bad' thing we would say is that the food is not the best. Not terrible, but not great. Overall, if you are thinking about going to this hacienda, do not hesitate. We have travelled the world, so we have been spoiled by great hotels and great service. This hotel ranks up there as one of the better experiences...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear mrein,
Thanks for posting this review and for the description you made of Hacienda San Jose. About food, we are sharing this comment with our F&B Director so he can be aware of your perception and improve our food quality.
We look forward to welcome you again at any of our Haciendas.
Best
Roberto Otálora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    34
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
138
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macedon Ranges, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We only spent 2 nights here but wish we spent more.
This is one of those places that just has a great feel about it.

The property is isolated, but it is worth staying here as a destination in itself.
When you are travelling to the property, you start to wonder if you are going the right way.

The rooms are a great mix of rustic and luxury. The property is beautiful. Staff are extremely friendly.

This is an ideal place to base yourself to do Chichen Itza, and Uxmal, but would advise you add an extra day or 2 to just spend relaxing around the hotel itself.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneRangerAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaciendasLC, Director General at Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear LoneRanger3440,
Thanks for writing this review of your stay with us. It is very important to know the comments of our guests, and when we read that had a great experience and would like to have stayed longer with us, we feel very flattered. We hope you had a safe journey to home.
Best regards,
Roberto Otálora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We took a tour of several of the Luxury Collection Haciendas through the Yucatan and we are so glad that we did. Each one has its own unique appeal and you feel like you are in Old Mexico - something that is very hard, if not impossible - to find in today's Mexico. The staff were welcoming and accommodating throughout our entire stay - we stayed 2 nights at this one - and we always felt they were there to serve us hand and foot without being intrusive. Each member was wholly committed to making our stay exceptional and even the gardener took so much pride in showing us the grounds and telling us how long he'd worked there - from the very beginning. Wow! So neat! We also enjoyed a complimentary foot massage upon checking in, which made the trek from Cancun well worth it. We can't wait to go back to disconnect from the outside world, enjoy the twinkling stars, and let the kids run around and explore without having to worry.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Charlie827,
It is always a pleasure to read comments as yours that express how much enjoyed the stay on our Haciendas. We want to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to write this beautiful review.
Best regards,
General Manager
The Haciendas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This stunning hotel came as a huge surprise. Not because of any reviews I'd read before going there - they were all sensational. But because it literally is in the middle of nowhere, and driving over 3 hours west from Cancun, and getting lost on several occasions, I was beginning to question my decision to leave the beautiful beaches of Mexico to head for the jungle.

Well, as soon as I arrived and pulled into the reception area, I stepped out of my car and heard nothing... just silence. No cars, no voices, no ocean crashing, no music, not even any wind. Eventually, a young woman emerged from the little building and greeted me with a smile and said hello and welcome. As I checked in she informed us of some history and information about the Hacienda, offered me a complimentary upgrade to a suite and led me to my room - or 'haven' I should say.

The room was breathtaking. Luxury appointments you'd expect from this brand but done in such a unique way demonstrating respect for the local cultures and the region. The bathroom is massive with a shower for two (or more) and the bedroom is spacious with high ceilings and luxury finishes. Outside in your own private jungle garden is your own hot tub... or cold tub if you prefer. Each day you can request one of the super-friendly staff to refill your tub with hot or cold, or just warm water if that's to your liking. And then you can sit in what appears to be the middle of the jungle, stare at the stars at night or sun-bathe during the day. Wow - I've never had that before.

The staff are mainly locals from around the region, and many have been with the hotel for 5+ years. They are knowledgeable, willing to please and so so friendly.

The restaurant is all open and has a super menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner with snacks throughout the day. Everything from local Mexican specialities to the more common European/American dishes are available - and they cater for special dietry needs! Food quality was first rate. We were so lucky that throughout our three day stay, we had the entire restaurant to ourselves on several occasions - a true luxury of a small boutique hotel.

The massive pool was actually built from an old water tank - a common theme of the Hacienda incorporating as much of the original buildings as possible which also makes it so special. Down by one end there is a huge hammock, allowing you to swing gently just above the water level, or even in it if you prefer.

Overall this place was just heaven. It's the kind of place you want to go to relax, chill out, meditate and even explore local nearby areas - there is so much to see around the place although you should definitely have a rental car. Don't come here if you like large crowds, partying, gym facilities etc.... it's not that sort of hotel. But if you want a true escape in the Mexican jungle (in true luxury), and to be looked after by some of the warmest people on earth, then put this on your bucket list. So glad we did!!

Room Tip: We came in December when it's slightly cooler... which means less insects! Apparently in the he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SachaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear SachaK,
We haven't words for describe our excitement when reading your review. I can tell you I was eager to share your comments with our staff. I did it and they are flattered with your thoughts. Hacienda San Jose is your home, so please feel free to contact us in case one day you decide to return or if you have friends and family that would like to visit us, because we would love to welcome you again.
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We loved it! The surroundings are really beautiful, like being in the jungle. When we arrived, our room was festooned with flowers- it made us feel so special. The room was enormous with a king size bed. The bathroom was huge with separate wet room- big enough for both of us to shower, saving precious sightseeing time. The service was wonderful. The staff are friendly and happy and nothing was too much trouble.
It is a little off the beaten track though and we got lost trying to find it first time- worth it though!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yax186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear yax186338,

We really appreciate your comments and we are sharing those with all the staff at Hacienda San Jose because the most valuable reward to our job is when hearing that our guests had a great experience staying with us.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that service was good during your stay. Our best advertising is the word of mouth, so thanks for sharing these comments here.
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tixkokob
10.7 km away
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
#2 of 2 in Tixkokob
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
30.2 km away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#24 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
34.8 km away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
36.5 km away
Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center
29.7 km away
Rinconada del Convento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Km 30 Carretera Tixkokob-Tekanto, Tixkokob 97470, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Tixkokob
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tixkokob
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,234 - ₹ 28,394
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda San Jose is an emblematic building erected in the 18th century that, even after undergoing restoration, preserves the pastel blues of its facade, its decoration, and the murals in the chapel. Located just a 45 minute drive from Mérida’s International Airport, this place is perfect as a starting off point to visit other sceneries such as the Balancanche caves, Izamal or the mythical Pyramids of Chichén Itzá. Lavender blue colors are all around the corners of Hacienda San Jose. Its 15 rooms and suites, spread around a colonial patio with captivating ambience, will take you back in time to the past but with the amenities of this century. The former vegetables garden of the old residence is currently a site for a fantastic pool and Jacuzzi that, along with the surrounding Mayan palapas, present guests with a unique life experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing