We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
18
11
18
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
11
18
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews powered site amenities block the kitchen lounge area farewell spit campground toilet dion
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Wharariki is a very special place geographically and Dion has achieved a coup by buying the only campsite and cafe allowed in a very large, pristine area.
It's not a bad campsite, but some finishing touches could improve the experience.
We rented a cool-looking, well designed cabin, but the the double bed had crappy sheets and a single duvet (!) The kitchen is pretty good; kettle, microwave and toaster were bonuses. I think some better signage would help eg it took me 24 hours to realise that you didn't have to clean your teeth in the badly designed tiny wash-hand-basin in the toilet. There's a better sink next to the showers. $2 for a shower? That's fair enough. No rubbish policy? I think the world would be a better place if that were the case everywhere.
The Farewell Spit cafe is, again, an amazing location but here I thought there was an atmosphere of staff not really enjoying their work. That's a shame - a management/ team-building issue perhaps. We were offended that in the cabin there's a promise of a free cafe for campsite guests if you buy a meal at the cafe but when we asked about this we were treated like liars /opportunists. A most unpleasant feeling! We did not get our complimentary coffee. Remove the offer or inform staff please!
On the whole though, Wharariki beach and coast is very very special. Enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aitchpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

This campsite is beautiful located near Wharariki Beach. Just a 10 minutes walk to this stunning beach with grandios rock formation , birds and seal colony. Also the surrounding is stunning, the campsite is definatly not worth its price. You have to pay 2 Dollars for the shower, no flush toiletts and they have a no rubbish policy. Everything more like a doc site, but they charge 18 Dollars per person. Thats just way over the top.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johanna900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

What a awesome place. You travel down a dirt road to get to a beautiful oasis of green lush rolling hills and the sounds of sheep... Cabins and beds are comfortable and the amenities are plentiful. Just a short walk down the track to the start of a track that leads you to the most amazing beach, its a 2klm walk there and back but so worth it.. You might even be lucky enough to spot a seal colony.. Great place and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johanne291263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We stayed here in December with some friends and absolutely loved it here. Such a lovely atmosphere in such a beautiful location. The staff are lovely and really helpful, the facilities are always really clean.
we asked about the lack of kitchen utensils and the staff explained that guests kept taking them with them , so they now have boxes with everything you need that you can borrow from the office for a refundable deposit.
They also explained that the showers run on a coin operated system only to encourage people to be considerate of the amount of water they're using ; the site runs on rainwater
overall we really enjoyed our stay here and seeing the seal pups!
Thank you for a lovely stay, we'll be back

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mayakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Out on a trip with 5friends. We emailed ahead of time to reserve two cabins, each fitting three people (double bed plus sofa bed). Unfortunately we did not receive any email regarding our request which mde us call and confirm in the end. Also, linen and bedding was provided, despite making a reservation for 6people they guy had to organize for two extra beddings. It seemed a bit unorganized. The cabins were comfortable and warm, an interesting mix of really neat and modern feel with a random mix of linen and curtains coming off the rags. The plant was set on a frying pan!? Kitchen and bathroom facilities were ok, two gas stoves for the entire camp ground and cabins, could see that getting very very busy in summer and cramped, three showers for each gender and dump toilets. Showers are $2 for 5min. Hiking tracks are within walking distance. All in all an ok experience however it seems like it's being rebuild and polished but just not quite there yet. Hang in there!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Betty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews