We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Laguna Galapagos
Ranked #22 of 27 Puerto Villamil B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2017

This hotel is in a good location just a few blocks from the beach and the central plaza. The facilities themselves are relatively new and our room was clean and spacious. The view from our room over the lagoon behind the hotel was fantastic. However, our experiences with the front desk staff left a bit to be desired. They seemed disinterested and were unhelpful in both English and Spanish. Luckily, we speak enough Spanish to be able to navigate the city and tours on our own. The hotel does have wifi that works in the lobby, but the signal does not reach the rooms. (This seems typical of the Galapagos in general and isn't unique to this hotel).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stayed here on our trip to the Galapagos and it was by far the best hotel we stayed in. The food was fabulous, which was great after a long day of hiking. We found that the room was the largest we had on the trip and it was very clean. We had some issues with wifi, but that is to be expected on the islands. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I especially enjoyed sitting on the roof in the evening for sunset and relaxing after a day of walking or snorkeling. There were usually birds in the laguna that the hotel is named for, including occasionally flamingos.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second floor, the reception area right outside our door did get a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel La Laguna at the end of December 2016. We were on the final portion of our honeymoon and were excited to see Puerto Villamil and Isabela. We decided on this "hotel" based on the TripAdvisor reviews. Upon check in, there was initial confusion with the receptionist regarding the reserved room type. We checked in along with another couple and a single person. We had a confirmation email that we had reserved a double matrimony room, however the receptionist informed us they were all taken. We had made the reservation in April 2016 and we asked if our room was given to another group. The receptionist, while pleasant, had a difficult time speaking English and said that the two twin bed room was the only one available. We again asked where the mix up occurred and instead of explaining, she took the key to the double matrimony from the guest who was staying on their own and gave it to us. We gave the key back to the other guest and said we weren't going to take the room from them if they had paid for the larger room. It was shocking to see the lack of organization at check in. Another guest at the hotel checked out the 2nd day we were there and instead of moving us to a larger room, the room was instead given to the next group of people who arrived. Clearly this "hotel" believes in a first come, first served method of distributing rooms.

Once we got to our room, we were surprised by the difference in room quality from the pictures posed on TripAdvisor to the actual room. While the room and beds were clean, the "hotel" could certainly use some updating. We stayed in room 7 on the second floor (just next to the stairway) and had a view looking onto the backyard neighbors of the hotel along with an unfinished construction project. The sink and shower in the bathroom took a long time to drain; the faucet is push operated and will work for 10 seconds before you need to press it again to turn it back on. The sink took about 30 seconds after one push to drain. It seems using some chemicals would clear up any clogs in the drain and allow the water to clear much faster. The shower also took a while to completely drain, however this seems to be due to the slope of the tiles, so I'm not sure how much can be done to fix that. The metal shelf in the bathroom also had some rust on it.

The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning in the room worked, however with the fan running and the windows closed, you could clearly hear the children in the back yard yelling and screaming at different times during the day as well as a dog barking. I'm not sure if this is from the cracked window or if it is from the lack of a seal on the window, but this made it very difficult to take a nap or fall asleep at night.

The room had two TVs, one for each bed. This would have been nice had the TVs worked. The cable to the one TV appeared to have been ripped out of the wall and the other TV just displayed static.

The "renovated lobby" on the second floor had a nice seating area, however pictures posted by the management on the TripAdvisor page clearly show a TV in the lobby. The area is now covered by a whiteboard that has a drawing of the "hotel" name on it.

While the room was lacking an alarm clock, we did not have to worry since every morning at 5:30, we were awoken from the chairs being moved on the floor above us to prepare the dining room for breakfast. Breakfast is only served from 7:00 - 8:00, but we were told even guests who stayed on the first floor could hear the chairs being moved.

The room did not have a safe to store any valuables and with Isabela being an island that only accepts cash, we wish we had a place to store our cash and passports. When we checked into the hotel, we requested that no one come in and make up our room and we even put a sign in Spanish on our door that said Do Not Disturb. We were shocked to see our room had been cleaned when we returned in the afternoon of our second day. I spoke with the receptionist and also kept the sign on our door and made it very clear we did not want anyone to enter our room the next day. My wife was sleeping in the next morning and was awoken by one of the staff trying to come into the room and clean it again. I asked a different receptionist why our Do Not Disturb request had been ignored and she could not provide me with an answer since she spoke very little English.

At 9pm the final night we were at the hotel, the receptionist asked that I pay our bill for the room. She informed me the price was $148/night, however I had a confirmation email showing the rate at $131/night. She said, "Oh, OK" and charged me the $131. Had I not had this email, I would have been charged the extra amount. I have no idea why the correct rate wasn't given to the receptionist.

Had this property been called La Laguna Hostel, I would not have as much of an issue. However, when you are paying the same rate for a hotel that we paid for in Santa Cruz, it's frustrating to see the level of service and hotel quality dramatically decline. If we had known any of this we certainly would not have chosen to stay here even to save some money due to the fact the we were on our Honeymoon! It was a very sad way to end our trip, and it did not leave us with very fond memories. Even if more expensive we recommend you stay else where- our other choice we went to visit while we were there and we were kicking ourselves for not booking that instead.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MI_Snowboarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Sorry the inconvenient, but those shelves have been removed now, and replaced by a new ones! we hope you come back some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This was our 3rd island on our island hopping trip to the Galapagos. This hotel had more of a corporate feel to it compared to our other 2 excellent places we stayed at in Santa Cruz and San Cristobal, where we had really personalized service. I booked a couple of day trips and the ferry trips to and from the island. It seemed kind of disorganized for the amount that we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CozyClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
200 reviews
0 km away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
127 reviews
0.4 km away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
0.5 km away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
473 reviews
6.1 km away
Casa Los Delfines
Casa Los Delfines
#9 of 23 in Puerto Villamil
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Laguna Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna Galapagos

Address: Av. Los Flamingos, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador, Puerto Villamil 1724, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: ₹ 9,585 - ₹ 12,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Laguna Galapagos Hotel. Our mission is to provide affordable and exceptional Service for our guests to make sure that your stay with us is nothing but spectacular. Located next to the Flamingo Lagoon and just blocks away from the beach, La Laguna Galapagos Hotel is the perfect place to rest and relax comfortably while enjoying your Galapagos vacation. Enjoy our comfortable rooms, facilities, spectacular views, and great location during your stay on Isabela Island, and come see why La Laguna is considered one of the best hotels in Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Laguna Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Laguna Galapagos Isabela, Galapagos Islands - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing