We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
27
32
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
32
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first floor juice stay there again flamingos sheets
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2015

My husband and I were in room one with only one other guest in the place. They served breakfast everyday and jus for the tree of us and for dinner we walked to a close hotel operated by the same management and enjoyed a lovely dinner. The rooms had air con and TV with free wifi that picked up in the room. The place is either very new for recently remolded because it looked like we where the first guests ever in the room. The staff at the desk was so sweet and helpful. Our tour package had a error in it from the place we booked it and the hotel staff went above and beyond to help fix the mistake that was not even theirs. Such good people. Relaxed and friendly and able to speak english very well. Great place I highly recommend. The area around the hotel is so small with only about 3,000 people living there. There are three local shops up can walk to very easily and buy sweets or other supplies. Everyone in the community knows each other and most get around on bikes or mopeds. Please note that the hotel dose not have an elevator and the food was served on the 3rd floor. The stairs were wide and easy to navigate and the staff is so sweet I bet they would deliver it to your door if you couldn't make the trip up the stairs.

Room Tip: We stayed in room one. I don't know about the rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We stayed a couple nights here and found the hotel very clean, well located and staff friendly. We had king room on main floor (#1) very nice! Front desk staff were vey helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast upstairs. There was road construction in front and lots of rain when we visited making it a very muddy getting into hotel, but staff and guests all took it in stride. I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We stayed four nights at La Laguna and really enjoyed the experience. there were six of us, with two of us with our own rooms. One of the singles had trouble with water, so moved to the other property in the group.

Our room was very nice but had some small problems, biggest of which was the shower not draining. That's annoying - I don't like standing in several inches of water while showering. The sheets were also pilled.

That aside, the AC worked beautifully and the bed was comfortable! We loved our chef, Nelson - everything he made for us was really delicious.

The hotel is an easy one-block walk from the beach and the staff were very accommodating. We tipped everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Traveler

Thanks so much for posting your review of our hotel. We are happy to learn that your overall experience was pleasing.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food so much. We shall let Nelson know your thoughts on his abilities. It is good to hear the staff was helpful and they are also thankful for the tips. It is always good to learn that guests feel content with our service and team work.
We are also sorry for the inconveniences in the single room; we understand how bothersome it can be not to be able to have a proper shower. We have taken a deeper look into this and made necessary amends. We hope that the room change made you feel better during your stay.

Once again, thanks for staying at our hotel and taking that time to write a proper review. Your sincere opinion, it certainly helped us in improving our facilities.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Our family group of 7 stayed here over the recent Christmas-New Year's holiday week. The small 7-room hotel is relatively modest but pleasant, clean, modern, and comfortable, and well-located in the village a block off the main square (not on the water). Breakfast was included and is served in the homey "restaurant" (more like a residential kitchen) on the top (3rd) floor. Like all hotels we stayed at in Ecuador, they have free wifi. The rooms have no TVs, but one is available in a common area (we never watched it; we understand it received only 1 channel) - also there was no room safe. Each room has an A/C operated using a remote control. The staff at the front desk spoke English and were helpful and friendly. Guests need to know to take their keys when they go out at night because at night the desk is not staffed and the front door is locked, so you need your key to get in. If you don't take your key with you, you will be locked out. One comment: We stayed over New Year's Eve, and the proximity to the outdoor party in the village square meant a lot of noise all night long. We barely slept that night. We don't blame the hotel, but it's something travelers at that time of year might want to know.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

The hotel was nice, close, and had a decent breakfast. The rooms were what you would expect for $100 per night, not too elegant, but nice, clean, and friendly. BUT be prepared for trouble when booking & prepaying with the hotel's Agent: NG&E, San Vincente Group

We have booked and prepaid the speedboat transfers to and from Isabela as well as 3 Tours and also the Hotel. Following you'll find our very frustrating experience with this Tour Operatior & Agent (btw. San Vincente Group stands behind NG&E as well as the hotel La Laguna).

Speedboat to Isabella 29/12/2014

In Santa Cruz we were on none of the passenger lists of the speed boats, despite showing the voucher to the employes we were not allowed to board any of the boats. A very helpful employee of the Finch Bay Hotel even called the Tour Operator but didn't get any help. After running around for half an hour to help us he managed to get us on a privat Tourboat to transfer us to Isabella

Tintoreras Tour 29/12/2014

Once arrived at the La Laguna Hotel we were told that the confirmed Tintoreras Tour for the same day was oversold and that they moved us for the same tour 2 days later.

Hotel La Laguna 31/12/2014

When we returned to the Hotel at 2200h after dinner the front door was locked our keys did not work and no one was around. After 10 Minutes of unsuccessful knocking on the Hotel door we decided to ask the Police for help. Also they could not manage to open the door and took us to the owner of the Hotel, after the whole family was gathered together and 1.5 hours later they were able to open the front door of the hotel for us.

Speedboat to Santa Cruz 1/1/2015

Again the same story as we've had on the way to Isabella despite a reconfirmation of the boat the day before. The captain would not even talk to us after he heard, that the San Vincente Group was the Agent behind the Voucher (seemed like this was not the first time). After half an hour some representative of San Vincente Group arrived and started a huge argument with the captain, which obviously did not help us as confirmed and prepaid passengers. Only when (we guess it was the owner itself) a lady of San Vincente arrived and talked to the captain and paid him in cash. We were then allowed to access the boat which was way overload with passengers (all pressed in the boat like sardines).

For the price we have paid both for the hotel and the tours totalling around USD 1'000 this was an unbelievable frustrating and disheartening experience.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank travelintd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews