We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, robbery nearby, dark scary roads at night”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oyster Pond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Hubby and I stayed here for three nights in May 2009. On our last night, the Gendarme (local French police) knocked on our door and yelled something in French with huge sounding dogs breathing down the door. We didn't open, we were terrified! They came around and shone torches on the balcony and left. I called the owner on my cell phone (room doesn't have phones) and she said there was nothing to worry about!

The next day she happily informed us she was going to the police station to report as the neighbors were robbed and they were trying to catch a thief. We had heard something that sounded like a gun shot when we were parking our car and that made us run to the room (I was so scared!). She didn't offer to refund us given the fearful night we experienced. I do not think this is a safe hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cl10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was probably the best value place we stayed in during our entire trip - certainly if you are staying 5 days or more you can get a great deal, enabling us to rent one of the more spacious rooms (unit 18) complete with large balcony with fan, kitchenette, nice bathroom with good shower, big bed, air con. The only downside is that you have to remember it is not a hotel, so reception is not staffed all the time. Carine was very helpful and friendly when she was there, but frequently wasn't around - this is not criticism, just information so others know what to expect. So the pre-ordering of pastries for breakfast wasn't always possible for example. She did give us a telephone number for emergencies, but I didn't consider the fact that I needed beach towels an emergency - so plan ahead and ask while you can! Mind you we were not there in peak season so I imagine it is less of an issue when busy (I think there were only 2 or 3 other units occupied while we were there).

Weather was very hot and humid while we were there and lots of mosquitoes - insect repellent essential. Of all the places we visited in the Caribbean (Saba, Dominica, St Barths), St Martin was definitely the worst for this. But it's the Caribbean so you have to expect it.

Plenty of places to eat locally, though the buffet at Capt Oliver's was a bit overpriced unless you are the sort of person who has many helpings. Dinghy Dock Bar nice and laid back, food nothing special but reasonable and plentiful. Good pizza at Mama Pizza but don't try to eat an entire one yourself!

Recommend a day trip to St Barths direct from Capt Oliver's and the trip to Ile Pinet from Cul de Sac, both of which are really interesting places. Snorkelling is great, but watch out for the sea urchins, which although not toxic leave spines that don't come out for weeks!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We just got back from our annual two weeks in St Martin and had another great experience at Les Balcons. We have been staying there for several years and would highly recommend it. The place is in a beautiful location overlooking Oyster Pond and an easy drive to the beaches, restaurants and sights of both the Ducth and French sides.. Orient is only 10-15 minutes away. There are also several places nearby for good meals including Mama's Pizza just down the road a bit for an excellent cheap meal.
The best part of staying at Les Balcons is Carine and David who are very warm and welcoming hosts and have become good friends over the years.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toronto_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The bungalow we stayed in was roomy, quaint and cozy ; it and had a great balcony with an excellent view of Oyster Bay Harbor. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking meals-including a grill on the deck. Just a short walk away were restuarants and a small grocery with fresh pastries for breakfast. We highly recommend staying at Les Balcons - the owners are friendly and very accommodating. It's just a short drive to the beaches. If we come back we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hana2298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

One of the best small hotels in all of St Martin. Very laid back, peaceful, great views of Oyster Pond. Also one of the most affordable places you will find. We get an upper bungalow, with a great breeze. Fresh French Pastries delivered daily to the hotel. David and Carine, the managers do whatever they can to accomodate you. It is centrally located so you are not far from some of the most popular areas on the Island. Try it, you won't be disappointed. We are booked for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrucenSusanMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
1.1 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
7 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#1 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
10.5 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
5 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
8.9 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

Address: 15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range: ₹ 5,190 - ₹ 13,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual bungalows in Caribbean gardens with swimming pool. They are situated on beautiful Oyster Pond with a marvelous view of the marina and sail boats. You will be in a peaceful, quiet, familial and casual ambiance.Our bungalows can accommodate 2 to 5 people. Each unit has a private terrace with splendid view and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Balcons d`Oyster Pond Hotel Oyster Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing