We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,972)
Filter reviews
1,972 results
Traveller rating
1,015
617
219
83
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,015
617
219
83
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar rum point east end of the island across the street stingray city fish liquor store time share seven mile beach deluxe studio white sands water sports grand cayman full kitchen rented a car captain chris all inclusive option all inclusive plan
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,972 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Absolutely, hands down, one of the BEST hotels I have ever stayed in. Not only were the rooms lovely, the staff was absolutely amazing. I honestly have to give a shout out to Archie, the concerige at the hotel for finding my husband and I rides the 4 magical days we were there and telling us the best places to eat. We came for my birthday and it was literally the best birthday ever! Thank you Wyndham Reef for making my transition into 33 the best birthday ever! We will for sure be coming back and booking again!!!

Room Tip: Choose the room with the Jacuzzi tub.. THE BEST!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izzy4585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle F, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Izzy4585,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Reef Resort for your vacation in Grand Cayman and for leaving a review about your stay with us.

We appreciate all of your comments and especially the compliments to our team members. We are pleased to read you found ‘the staff was absolutely amazing’ and that you enjoyed your birthday as well as the various activities that Grand Cayman has to offer.

We hope that you choose to visit our beautiful island again. In the meantime, we wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We brought our kids here on their first vacation. We also came with 2 other families. It was perfect!! Everyone is so nice and my kids loved it. Naz, Nish, and Sharon took great care of us each and everyday. We will definitely be back one day.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank _easter_kendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle F, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Kendra,

We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and as you put it "It was perfect!! ". The special mention of Naz, Nish and Sharon is also appreciated as well as the comments about the rest of the resort and our team.

We will be delighted to welcome you and your family on your next vacation in Grand Cayman. In the meantime, we wish you happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed June 6-13, 2018. We went with our 9 yr old and chose the Standard all-inclusive package.

Tips:
• Rent a car: this hotel is on the East End which is about 45 min from George Town, 1 hr from Turtle Bay, 20 min from Rum Point. The island is very easy to drive around and the drives are quite lovely. Have your phone to navigate you and you’ll be perfectly fine. Driving on the left is surprisingly easy to get used to. Rental cars are easily accessed from airport.
• We did lots of excursions (none booked through hotel) - do not miss the 7am Stingray City tour with White Sands Sports. You are the only boat on the water with the stingrays. After the second part of the tour (snorkeling) when we passed the stingray area there were already 7 boats there...and more come with cruise passenger arrival. It’s totally worth getting up early. Other excursions we did during our 7 days - Turtle Center, Dolphin Discovery, Atlantis Submarine, SweetSpot Bioluminescence Tour, Cayman Crystal Caves, and deep sea fishing with Captain Charlie.
• This hotel is very much a family hotel; if you’re looking for a singles bar do not stay here because you’ll be sorely disappointed.
• Take advantage of the public beaches on the island! They are everywhere and many have bathrooms! Great, free snorkeling to be found! Look up “best beaches in Grand Cayman” and there are some good lists.

Positives
• Food was great!! We didn’t have one bad meal anywhere on the island. When we ate at hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. We didn’t eat every meal here (even though we did have the meal package), though we could have; there was enough variety for non-picky eaters.
• Pool was good - it was a bit of a hike to get to the pool and food if you are staying at the far end of the resort, but the walk is along the beach so no complaints about that!
• Rooms were spacious and clean. We stayed in a one-bedroom villa. While all rooms have a beach view, ‘villa’ does not mean ground floor. Our room was on the second floor. Had a full kitchen (if you choose to buy groceries, buy them after you leave airport, before you leave George Town because grocery store by hotel is limited). My daughter like the Murphy bed.
• Hotel common areas were recently remodeled. It was very clean and nice.
• Hotel staff was helpful and nice. We absolutely loved the receptionists and bar and wait staff!! Everyone but the conceriege was awesome. The hotel makes you talk to the concierge during checking to “get your WiFi passwords”, and the minute we turned down the concierge’s offer to hear about a timeshare, he completely shut down and was curt. Also important to note - all food and beverage at the hotel adds in 15% gratuity to everything so you don’t have to tip - technically. But if you want your server to get a tip that isn’t shared, then you tip. We tipped every time because we felt guilty. And you see the same staff the whole week so it’s better to give them something!
• Beach swimming was good. While not as easy to swim in as some of the other public beaches we went to on the island (because of the seaweed and coral) you can just walk right into the water and snorkel. Kids can do this easily.

Negatives
• No organized activities. I’ve stayed at other resorts (not in Grand Cayman) that have lots of free guest activities, like a Kids Club, pool games, instructor lead classes...this hotel didn’t have any of that. Though at this price point, it’s not surprising. They did have movies to rent, lots of board games, and pool toys. But don’t go here expecting them to entertain your kids. :)
• The Freaking roosters. There are chickens all over the island (though we didn’t see any near Rum Point). I’m not sure about hotels on Seven Mile Beach, but the roosters start crowing at 4am. And I heard them...every morning. Again, not sure if this is every hotel on the island or unique to this one.
• it’s not really “all-inclusive”. The hotel calls it this, but it really is a “meal plan”. You get one breakfast, one lunch, one dinner (which includes an appetizer, an entre, and a dessert) per person. And you can’t carryover “missed” meals. So it’s not like a typical all-inclusive where you can eat as much as you want. It is unlimited drinks (not top shelf of course). While we weren’t charged any extra at the end of the stay, I really wasn’t sure if we were going to get a surprise bill when we checked out because it wasn’t made super clear when we checked in. But we didn’t. It was more than enough food for us. I’d recommend it because otherwise eating here is outrageously priced. (Though eating anywhere on the island is very expensive - be sure to budget for this. Average meal for the three of us was $70-90 USD.)

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and I’d recommend the hotel! Shout out to Destinations by Amy for helping us book it!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank pamstof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle F, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Pamstof,

We appreciate the length and depth of your review and you can be assured that all members of our Management team read every one of the reviews posted and we use them to help guide us as to where we can improve and to continue to enhance where we succeed.

The “seaweed” referred to is a phenomenon that goes in cycles and the entire Caribbean this year is experiencing an inordinate amount of it, not just our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you when you visit Grand Cayman again. In the meantime, we do wish you happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

First of all the check in process did almost take a complete hour! I travel all around the world and this was one of the longest checkins. Towel cards, pamphlets, directions, rate cards, wifi pass codes for all devices?? never seen this before, forms,time share soft sell.......holy Toledo all I wanted to do was get my room, this was not ready. Archie saved the day and brought us a fruit punch and we had lunch while waiting for our rooms(noon). Food was not bad and service was excellent.

Archie made our reservations to tour stingray city and set up a car for my wife to go to airport. He could not have been better, he makes this place.

The room was all the way down at the end of the complex. Very average old resort, obviously set up for time share. View was not bad but tons of seaweed and door was very hard to open. Super soft beds and an air conditioner that made the room so cold you could hang meat. Nothing says the island like waking up to roosters at 0400! It was still dark, they must have night vision goggles on.

Breakfast average and very expensive. Never ate dinner there but beers and mixed drinks were about 10 dollars apiece. Beer was amazing and the mixed drinks had almost no alcohol. Mixed drinks were among the worst of any of the island I have visited. Service was slow but very friendly staff. I did not come for the wifi, but it was was as slow as molasses. I could hardly send an email.

All in all not too bad but not worth coming to again. I would stay on 7 mile beach, where they actually had pretty water and nice sand. The photos of this place do not look like the real thing. Archie and the staff were very nice. Archie need to be working at the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Ritz Carlton are a must to avoid Roosters
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jeffff2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle F, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Jeffff2017,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. We apologize that we did not live up to our normal standards in the greeting you upon arrival and a seamless check-in process. However during peak arrival hours the process can seem slow.

We welcome feedback and we encourage our guests to share their comments and experiences whether they be good or bad during and after a stay, so that we can do a better job at providing the right experiences.

We wish you all the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Very nice facility. The location was absolutely beautiful. It was right on the ocean. The dock was very convenient for those who wanted to go diving or on a ride. The food was pricey. The hotel was very clean everywhere. The pools, side walks, rooms, stairwells, lobby and outside areas were all in excellent shape.

Room Tip: Use as a great home base for various island activities.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jhmoore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle F, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear jhmoore99,

Thank you taking the time to leave a review about your stay at the Wyndham Reef Resort!

The serenity of our location in East End coupled with our 1600 feet of beach makes for a very tranquil environment for enjoying vacation time.

We appreciate all of your comments. We hope that you choose to visit our beautiful island again. In the meantime, we wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews