We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,932)
Filter reviews
1,932 results
Traveller rating
993
602
216
83
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
993
602
216
83
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum pointbeach bareast end of the islandacross the streetstingray cityfishliquor storetime shareseven mile beachdeluxe studiowhite sands water sportsgrand caymanrented a carfull kitchencaptain chrisall inclusive optionall inclusive plan
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 1,932 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Okay so everyone wants to stay near Seven Mile beach - I get it! If its your first time to the Grand Cayman Islands, then of course you want to stay there but if you're like me and you've been a couple of times, you are probably not too fond of 5 to 6 cruise ships that port near Seven Mile beach. THOUSANDS of people in the area that are just there for the day means EXTRA crowded Georgetown and Seven Mile beach.

I loved the quietness of the East End and the Wyndham is beautiful. Look, its not the Four Season BUT the view is amazing and the staff is just excellent. Each night is a theme night there and there are a few restaurants nearby that are delicious. My husband and I drove into down a few time and we did hang out near the touristy areas but it was nice to escape back to our quiet little escape in the East End.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Pandaparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle F, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you taking the time to leave a review about your stay at the Wyndham Reef Resort!

We appreciate all of your comments and compliments. We are definitely on the serene and peaceful side of Grand Cayman and even when we are absolutely full it will still seem as if there is plenty of space to spread out and enjoy your vacation.

We hope that you choose to visit our beautiful island again. In the meantime, we wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We had been looking at The Reef Resort for at least 4 or 5 years, well before the Wyndham affiliation which truthfully concerned me a little because Wyndham does have the highest standard at their brands in the US. But we were not disappointed. It is located a good 45 minutes from the airport so you need to rent a car which will serve you well because things are spread out on the East End. We like the East End because it is much more our style. We went to 7 Mile for 5 minutes, said "just what we thought" and left immediately. Check-in was friendly and prompt with almost no mention of the timeshare pitch. The room was nice but I made a mistake in the booking. I thought we were getting a one bedroom unit but instead we got the deluxe studio. We prefer a one bedroom because of the separate sitting area. We do not need a full kitchen because we do not cook meals. We do breakfast, snacks & drinks in the unit and eat all meals out. But the kitchenette in the studio was too small for even that. The mini-fridge was too small for all of our drinks and there was hardly any counter space at all. And to use the full size coffee maker, you have to take it off the counter because the lid hit the microwave shelf. So I would suggest a one bedroom but if you get a studio, don't get the deluxe unless you plan to use the jacuzzi. I thought we were getting more space but it was all taken up by the jacuzzi. The double vanity and walk-in shower were great. The bed & bedding were fresh & comfortable. The view is great. We prefer a second floor unit for the privacy. A little disappointed in the snorkeling. I thought from the reviews that they had their "own" reef closer in than the main reef which is too far out to swim to. They don't. We did snorkel a couple of times from the Moritz pier the the Reef pier and saw some fish particularly if you go out towards the mooring ball about halfway where there is some coral. The food at the restaurant was just ok. We ate most of our meals out. We rode bikes to Eagle Rays for the lion fish tacos which were great. We had dinner at Tukka which is excellent but not cheap. All of the food on the island is expensive after they add 25% to convert to USD and 15% gratuity. We had lunch at Kaibo after snorkeling which was great. And you have to have lunch (or dinner) at the Czech Inn. It's back in Boddentown but the food is amazing. Remember it's BYOB! We booked 2 snorkeling trips through Ocean Frontiers. Their Compass Point office offers some different trips than the branch on site at the Reef. Te recommend the Rays & Reef tour Friday at 9:30 am. But you have to drive to Rum Point which is worth the trip. We went back a second time to catch the sunset. We also drove to Spotts Beach to snorkel with the trtles. Only saw one but it was very cool. I guess I haven't said enough about The Reef Resort but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The beach is good size and you can get a good walk from one end to the other. A little tricky wading into the water but not bad. They do a good job of cleaning up the seaweed.The loungers were in good condition and always available. The pools and hot tub are both more than adequate. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Shout outs to Gemma at the front desk, Malik at the front door, Tony at the bar and even Archie at the concierge desk! We recommend the The Wyndham Reef Resort and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Parke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

First time in the Cayman Islands and we really enjoyed our trip, however ended up being hectic as we didn't feel compelled to hang at the Wyndham - strong winds, rough ocean (no one entered that we saw), seaweed ridden, garbage in spots on the beach (almost cut my foot on some sharp plastic next to other pieces of garbage), average facilities. Felt a bit misled - while Wyndham cannot control the weather/seaweed it is more unkempt vs. the pristine Seven Mile (if you want more luxury and beach time, then look there). We didn't see many out whenever we were around. We needed a kitchenette so that served our purpose very well.

PROS:
- Full kitchenette with a range of cook and table ware was great
- Beautiful ocean view - lovely to wake up to and listen to the waves
- Very quiet as far removed
- Short drive away from the North Side - Crystal Caves, Rum Point, Starfish Point
- A convenient strip mall across the road (groceries, italian restaurant, etc.)

CONS:
- Very small bathroom counter space
- Hot water would run out within minutes for showers
- Slow WIFI
- Took 1.5 hours and 3 calls to service a bath towels request
- Room service available but no in-room menu which required various calls to find out what's offered and suitable to any dietary needs
- A long haul to the West (downtown/hub - lots of great restaurants, Seven Mile beach etc.) so advise to plan accordingly if you will spend more time there

Room Tip: We stayed at 321A (west side complex, 3rd floor) - good height for ocean view, not a great suite for bathroom space for more than one person
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle F, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Monika S,

We want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at our resort.

We appreciate all of our guests who take the time to leave a review as each review lets us know where we can improve to meet our goal of exceeding guest expectations and where we are doing great so that we keep on doing that.

We wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The place is perfect for a relaxing get away and gorgeous ocean views. Food is good! Sand is great - and plenty of beach chairs for the size of resort, so never an issue there. The best part is "ARCHIE"! Archie is the BEST concierge I've come in contact with. He knows his stuff....has nearby suggestions, as well as suggestions all over the island. We truly enjoyed him. Also - walk just across the street to a wonderful Italian spot, great food & ambience there. Also really enjoyed dining at Tukka!

Stayed: January 2018
3  Thank PaulaGATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle F, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear PaulaGATX,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us, we really appreciate it.

Our associates work very hard to help our guests have a great vacation experience and we will be sure to pass your compliments on to Archie.

We hope that you choose to visit our beautiful island again, and that when you do, we will be your resort of choice. In the meantime, we wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

This was our first time in the Cayman Islands. Out of the 13 Islands we’ve visited, this was abdolutely at the top of the list. The resort is in a fantastic location and away from the busy area of 7 mile beach. We stayed in the last building away from lobby and it was so quiet. There’s a grocery store, liquor store and good restaurant right across the street. The staff was so attentive and happy hour was fun at the bar.
We highly recommend you rent a car if you love trying new beaches. Spotts Beach, Cemetary Beach and Rum Point are a must. Travel over to West End and make sure you stop at Heritage Kitchen. Literally a shack with best seafood ever! Bring cash.
There are so many fabulous restaurants near the hotel, but you need a car. Big Tree BBQ and Tukka’s are a must.
Make sure you rent snorkel gear and book an excursion with Capt Chris to Stingray City. We went at 7:00 am before the cruise ships. Amazing experience.
Loved this resort if you are truly looking for relaxation, but close enough to everything if you like to explore.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JodyPYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle F, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Jody,

Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Reef Resort for your vacation and for taking the time to leave a review.

We are pleased to read you found "the staff was so attentive" and that you enjoyed the many activities and excursions that Grand Cayman has to offer.

We hope that you choose to visit our beautiful island again. In the meantime, we wish you happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews