We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“While we sit on the bbq terrace...”
other traveller has booked this property
Villa Vouno, or Mountain Villa, as the name suggests is set high on the side of Cape Drapanos
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Vouno, or Mountain Villa, as the name suggests is set high on the side of Cape Drapanos
Side terrace and covered veranda BBQ terrace and pool area with 360 degree views over Souda bay and the Aegean.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Villa Vouno, or Mountain Villa, as the name suggests is set high on the side of Cape Drapanos
Side terrace and covered veranda
BBQ terrace and pool area with 360 degree views over Souda bay and the Aegean.
BBQ terrace seen from the large pool....only the goats will see you skiny dip!
Cape Drapanos sits high above the pool and BBQ area.
Huge BBQ terrace, lit up at night, set further up mountainside.
Midnight swims under the shooting stars, lights from Souda in the background.
Looking down into Souda bay, from here you can watch the NATO vessels and ferries pass.
Side terrace and covered veranda, the sunsets from the front of the villa are unbelievable.
Luxury kitchen, well equipped with s.steel appliances
Master bedroom with en suite wet room, opens out onto huge veranda
French doors lead out to the breakfast terrace from the comfortable living area.
Open plan living/dinning and kitchen area with one bedroom and a shower room also on this floor.
COvered veranda with swing seat and bistro set lovely for enjoying a quiet coffee in the warm breeze
Covered Veranda.....or my coffee stop!
Top veranda with comfortable furniture has two bedrooms leading out from this. Fabulous views.
Arrow shows where Villa Vouno is on Cape Drapanos
Beautiful little cove in Kokkino Chorio
Chania old harbour with the white mountains or Lefka Orea in the background
Chania seafront, with shops, restaurants, museums etc  (25 - 30 mins away)
Sunset from the harbour in Chania.
local church and ancient Monastry, 2 min walk away
Loutro harbour, only accessible by boat taxi, No Roads
Agia Triada monastery on the Akrotiri peninsula...well worth a visit.
Agia Triada Monastery
Naval base on Akrotiri. Loutraki beach also worth a visit.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
parky1956
Holmfirth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“While we sit on the bbq terrace...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just contemplating the packing for our journey home tomorrow. We've had a fabulous time here and look forward to returning again in September. Great location. Fabulous views and an ideal base to explore from. Compare this to the best western in Kalives and appreciate the value. PS. also it's the perfect romantic place to get engaged. Thanks to the owner Catherine and Steeles mgt. Anne & Richard. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING YET AGAIN!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2014
Hi folks,

Many,Many congratulations on your engagement......hope you liked the champagne and flowers!! Glad that it turned out just the way you wanted and I hope that this is the beginning of a fabulous life-time journey for you both.

Now.....about the wedding!!!!! (Only kidding!)

Best Regards, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardony, Hungary
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, terraces, view and lot of other things.
Liked least: Wasps, mosquitos, scorpions
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2014
Hi Zoltan,

Glad you all enjoyed your holiday, it was my pleasure to help you organise everything and I really hope we do see you folk again as discussed!
Thanks again for reviewing the villa.

Best Regards,Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had everything we needed
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 May 2014
Hi Rachael,

Many thanks for your great review; it is a lovely time of year to visit (All the flowers being out as you say),I hope you get many months of benefit from your holiday and that we see you visit again soon.

Many thanks, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joe J
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing week in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Villa Vouno



Just returned to a very grey UK after a blissful three weeks in Greece. Our final week was unexpectedly spent in Villa Vouno after deciding to spend another week and fly to Crete from the mainland. One internet search and a quick phone-call to the owner later and we were off. Although the villa had been closed up for the Winter, Anne and Richard opened it up again for us and made us very welcome.

The area is a little more rural, but everything is merely a five minute drive away. There weren’t loads of places open, but I guess that is normal for November, however the restaurants that were open were fabulous and couldn’t do enough for two lonely travellers. The views from the villa are amazing and were a pleasure to get up for every morning. Our weather was also great for the time of year; the days being around 24 degrees and the nights dropping to about 14.

When we phoned Catherine, the owner, she did tell us that the house had been closed up and that she was about to have a few things taken away for repair, but was happy to let her villa if we were informed. The only thing that was noticeable was her sofa, which she had told us about and was well covered with throws. Anne and Richard informed us that it about to be re-upholstered in time for next year’s guests. The villa is stone inside and out with lots of places to star gaze from outside. There are three bedrooms and three bathrooms and a large open plan living kitchen. The whole place seems to have been well thought out and planned. Everything was clean and well maintained and just what was advertised. We even had an evening meal left for us in the fridge on our arrival along with a bottle of wine and some beers…great!

We did dip a toe into the beautiful pool, but didn’t go much further as the water was freezing. The beach was a little warmer, but not much.

Chania was a delight to visit and was visited on three separate occasions during our week. Although it wasn’t the tourist season there were many natives in the city, not too busy, just enough life to be interesting.



In conclusion we had a lovely relaxing week, after the chaos of Athens, spent day-tripping in the car and eating way too much Greek food. We would definitely recommend both the villa and the place to anyone and plan to return next year…….preferably in the Spring when it’s warmer at night!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Hi Folks,

Really glad you enjoyed your week in the Villa; I know you often travel to Greece for work, so I hope that you will feel the call of Villa Vouno on your next visit!! It was our pleasure to have you and many thanks for leaving a review.

Best Regards, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice view but villa needs updating.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Good location, stunning views but the villa is now not quite the same as the photos. After a number of years’ use it is showing signs of wear and tear and could do with some TLC.
For example, the chocolate “leather” sofa is worn out and covered with throws, the kitchen tap (faucet) is loose and needs fixing, the kettle drips more than it pours and the toaster is a non-earthed UK toaster which could give you a lethal shock. The downstairs shower room design means that the water doesn’t drain away from the floor leaving puddles all day long (suggest mopping it up if you don’t like wet feet). Upstairs the bedrooms are typically Greek, i.e. just enough room for the beds but not a lot else. You can’t open the windows properly and there’s no room for a suitcase. We were also surprised to find that there were no mattress or pillow protectors, neither were there any mosquito nets. On the veranda, most of the seat pads have disappeared from the chairs and considering the price of £1000+ per week in peak season we would have expected toilet roll to be provided for the second week!
Moving outside, there was only one sun umbrella (three pictured), the grating around the swimming pool is breaking down (so mind where you tread) and the lights on the steps down from the pool terrace are broken which makes things a bit tricky at night. Furthermore we were in for a bit of a disappointment as although the villa is described as having "fruit trees", the only sort we could find were two pomegranate trees. The description also states that the pool is "professionally cleaned and maintained” if it had then we wouldn’t have experienced a problem with the pool turning green over the course of five days. We could not rid the pool of any insects because there was no net so unfortunately we had to share the pool with several ants, drowned wasps and the occasional moth. When home and trying to contact the owner with our disappointment at the lack of pool for the first week we received a rather rude email.
Enjoy the view!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2013
Dear Ian,
Thank you for your review; I feel I must point out that with Tripadvisor, I have the option to confirm or deny this review, but have chosen to have it posted as I wish to address some of the points you have made FACTUALLY:

a) The sofa you were made aware of prior to booking as I have made all my other guests aware this summer, and is to be replaced in 3 weeks when I have no further guests, otherwise guests have nowhere to sit! I did discount summer weeks HEAVILY (By £260 after your story of being unable to afford it the previous year) for your party and responded in great detail to help you to print off your Ryanair boarding passes, as well as assist you with car hire and a number of other things.

b) Your highly misleading statement about the toaster is untrue.

c) There are three umbrellas; maybe you hadn't put the others up as they are taken down in high winds for obvious reasons, but they ARE there for guests to use.

d) I think you might be referring to solar lights I have in to make the garden pretty; these sometimes get blown over and are not used for anything other than decorative reasons. The main lights are working perfectly.

e) The pool is professionally maintained twice a week and you did acknowledge yourself that Richard came up in less than ten minutes of being informed that there was a problem. You told me you noticed the filter not working the day after your arrival; however you waited for five days (As you state in your email) before telling me that there was a problem. I do not understand this as the pool was made right a matter of hours after being informed. People do not like maintenance crews being up every day and usually choose a villa rather than a hotel so that they can have privacy; my instruction document clearly states that Richard and Anne are there to deal with any problems and will sort things as soon as they are told about them, as they did.

f) Truthfully, I have never had anyone complain about toilet rolls or fruit trees for that matter!!!!!!
The fruit trees are just part of the garden and fully visible in the pictures (Which were taken last year incidentally, by guests from Ohio as I am no good at photography!!). Neither have I ever had anyone complain about the showers or bedrooms, which are all done the same way in Greece!!

g) I have never had anyone tell me both by phone and Email, that they enjoyed their stay, then ask, some time after their return, for a refund.

In conclusion, I have many guests who return every year, where there is the odd problem it is sorted out as quickly as possible, and indeed the two reviews before yours are from guests who stayed following your return home, one of whom has re-booked for next year.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review,I hope that your next holiday proves more successful.
With regards, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing