We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State Govt Run Hotel - Slothful”
Review of Hotel Kingfisher

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kingfisher
Ranked #1 of 15 Ambala B&B and Inns
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“State Govt Run Hotel - Slothful”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Kingfisher is a Haryana State Govt Run Property and is credible to be called a Motel for being situated right on the highway - NH1. As the management of the motel gives you a first stint & thought of being a Govt run hotel, you can be well thought of your decision to stay in. Quite old property and certainly not maintained well. The staff is rude as they are typical govt employees and the service is uncalled for. Though the property is nice and the situation is awesome and so are the rates if you stay overnight but for the stop over purpose its a great refreshing joint if you wanna lounge over a beer or a coffee. Will not recommend for overnight stay as there are other better hotels in the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AjayBehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

The only thing good about this hotel is the way it looks from outside. once you enter in, it is full of disappointments believe me . Lobby of the hotel is tacky. Staff members are like they dont care at all whether you want to stay. The food provided by them is average.
I stayed in this hotel on my way to my trip to shimla and the only reason i could survive a night out there was that i had my friends. The room was average and could not sleep well on the bed, the staff was at times according to me rude.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amar282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The room was large, the bed large and comfy and mosquito screening OK with a reasonable (for India) ensuite. But it was fairly dingy, there was exposed wiring, holes in the walls and the hot water system was placed half through the ceiling. The hotel is right next to the highway and therefore very noisy with heavy trucks and horns blaring (all night), the staff don't make much effort to be helpful and the food in the restaurant was uninspiring. It just had a sad run-down feel to it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JClare62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2010

my family and i stayed over here on our way to shimla...we were going from delhi which is long trip and so we decided to stop over and stay in the kingfisher hotel for a night....and it was a fine stay....but fine for a night over stay like we had....its not exactly a leisure or luxury hotel where you can enjoy or anything....its a good place if you just wanna spend the night somewhere....the rooms are ok....like normal rooms....nothing amazing though....the service was good....and the food was quite nice....we ordered room service and our food came fast and hot....so i would recommend it if you need a hotel to 'stay' but not exactly a hotel to 'enjoy' at......

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rock_on20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The hotel is a good place for taking some time off to relax and enjoy swimming, club etc. It is a good place banquet hall and offers good food. And not to miss the spacious lawns .... ideal for holding small functions and get togethers!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyotsna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambala hotels
16.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Country Woods
7.9 km away
Space Hotel, Ambala
Space Hotel, Ambala
#10 of 14 in Ambala
25 reviews
2.7 km away
A.P. Residency
A.P. Residency
#1 of 14 in Ambala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.9 km away
MM Continental
MM Continental
#11 of 14 in Ambala
17 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Puran Palace
Hotel Puran Palace
#6 of 14 in Ambala
29 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Amar Palace
Hotel Amar Palace
#13 of 14 in Ambala
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kingfisher

Property: Hotel Kingfisher
Address: National Highway 1, Ambala 134003, India
Region: India > Haryana > Ambala District > Ambala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ambala
Also Known As:
Hotel Kingfisher Ambala, Haryana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing