We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing with the most lovely and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sematan Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sematan
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing with the most lovely and helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I stayed at this resort in august 2009 with my boyfriend. We chose this place because it was at the end of the road, quiet, secluded, relaxing but with the option of lots of activities to fill the days. I found all of these things to be true. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They went out of there way to do things for us such as giving us free use of mountain bikes after we had used them a number of times, free upgrade to a bungalow when there were few people at the resort and a cheap deal on beer (3 for 10 RM)! If that wasn't enough, they also let my boyfriend buy the beers in groups of 3 and put those he didnt want back in the fridge for later. No matter who was on shift they always knew how many beers he had left. The rooms were bright and clean and the food provided for breakfast and dinner was great. The resort is situated on the beach across from the Talong Talong islands where the snorkelling was amazing. From the resort you can also organise a boat trip to the Tanjung Datu national park or cycle through small towns surrounded by rice paddies. I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday with the option of seeing some beautiful scenery, culture and wildlife.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pokeythescientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    27
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We went to the resort with the idea of going to visit Talang – Talang Island ( a beautiful island nearby) based on the information given by the staff of the resort ( our initial booking) that the resort would provide transportation there.

We arrived kinda late after a long drive and checked in. The next day was when all the interesting things happened, and we were to really experience the best hospitality from this resort. We woke up early, had our breakfast and prepared to depart for Talang-Talang Island. When we approach the receptionist, she told us that there were no boats going to the island that day. She gave us all sorts of reasons, like the weather was bad, the driver for the boat wasn’t around etc etc.

We weren’t really sure how to define bad weather, as it was bright and sunny that day. There wasn’t even a dark let alone a gray cloud in sight. Of course we did not buy her story and demanded to see the manager. She directed us to the owner instead, who was at the café having his morning coffee. As we walked towards the café, we saw a man repairing a speedboat nearby.

We told the owner on how one of their staff promised to get us to Talang-Talang island in our initial booking. To our surprise, he told us off. He said he had no control of what his staff say and promise. He also told us that there was no contractual agreement of any sort when we checked in. At that point, we were still calm, so we asked him what were the actual difficulties in sending us over there at that point. Once again he used the same reason as the receptionist, the weather. We can see the beach from the café, the waves were less than a foot high, only to get a super ridiculous response from him that ‘no wave at the beach here, does not mean there is no wave at the beach on the other side’. Oh well, he must have some super power to see that far or maybe he was a descendant of Zhu GeLiang ( famous person in ancient China who can predict the weather).

To this point, we have had enough of this nonsense, we told him we will take our chances. He still refused to take us there with all sorts of funny excuses like there was no insurance, but we really made our stand point and wanted to go there. Finally he bucked and said that there was only one boat and the boat was under repair.

This was when we really could not take it anymore and demanded an apology from him to which not only he refused but he could not care less. We told him that this was really lousy service and we will tell all our friends about it.

Now here is the interesting part, he told us to broadcast it to everyone we know, including posting the events on the internet. He then boasted saying there are millions of people in Malaysia, and he just need everyone to visit his place once and he not only would have sustained his business but probably make a profit too.

So I’m granting his wish and posting the events here .

Here is also a quick summary of what you can do at the resort:

1) rent a kayak and paddle in the “dangerous sea” . Remember there is no insurance and this it the words of the owner
2) rent a bicycle to cycle in the carpark that parks 20 cars. Seriously, other than the car park there is no place to cycle
3) Rock climbing without any safety equipment, but then again the wall is only 1 ½ storey high, if you jump high enough u probably can reach the top already so why need safety equipment.
4) Stay in the room and watch TV. Mind you there is no cable. But you will be accompanied by sand flies and mosquitoes
5) Eat sub standard breakfast and dinner when you can easily get better food at the town nearby ( Sematan)


I strongly recommend this place to those who like to drive a long way out and just sit in their hotel room watch a small CRT TV. Or you can talk to the owner for live comedy. Or if you wish to see a small size tsunami of less than 1 foot high, you will probably catch it.

All comedy aside, it will be better for you to drive to the next sister town of Lundu. Stay in any accommodation there, there are nice beaches, natural park with waterfalls and definitely better service.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank Moe29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

wonderful resort, clean and no mosquito!!! Room rate is inclusive breakfast and dinner. Value for money. Internet access is available at the restaurant area only (^__^''')

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osano m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

This is a great place to stay, its not a 5 star hotel, but its clean, the prices is fair, the nature great etc. etc.

This is really a very nice and relaxing resort.

The manager have a boat and do trips to the small islands, and beaches around.

The beach is wide, and the water clean.

Great place to dive or snorkle.

  • Liked — The Surroundings and the view
  • Disliked — I wish it was a 5 star hotel
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank getsemane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sematan Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sematan Palm Beach Resort

Property: Sematan Palm Beach Resort
Address: Lot 295 Kpg Sungai Kilong, Jalan Seacom, Sematan 94100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Lundu > Sematan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sematan
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Sematan Palm Beach Hotel Sematan
Sematan Palm Beach Resort Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing